Watch Part V

Carbon82

Why in Singapore seldom see people support A. Lange, Vacheron Constantin and JLC?

Pateks business quite good compared to the above three.

Is it just purely resale value? 

Edited by Atachi

rolex is every grab driver, used phone seller, hawker, property agent, insurance agent, chinatown aunties and uncles chit chatting watch ... [thumbsup]

800,000 watches added to the market every year

huat ah!

The phone seller near my place wore AP .  [lipsrsealed]  So beh wo lwee 

800,000 not enough lel ........ SS all no stock . They should increase production to 8M per year 

The phone seller near my place wore AP .  [lipsrsealed]  So beh wo lwee 

800,000 not enough lel ........ SS all no stock . They should increase production to 8M per year 

This is call hunger marketing. Having the watch sells off and no stocks shows they are valuable. 

Now people are selling them at premium prices which will then increase its seales volume for new ones at higher prices

This is call hunger marketing. Having the watch sells off and no stocks shows they are valuable. 

Now people are selling them at premium prices which will then increase its seales volume for new ones at higher prices

local here call it "Hang up and sell"   [laugh]  吊起来卖

Satki-ness is about wearing as many as those mentioned brands on ones arm...

Where’s THAT picture when you need it?

local here call it "Hang up and sell"   [laugh]  吊起来卖

But they are really good, off all the sales they have, they say no stocks. I end up with my Chopard Super Fast Power control liao. But they don't have rose gold one. Ended up with the SS one. 

My plan is to have one SS Rolex sports model to swop around in China [laugh]

Maybe one ay find Bro T2 to get one vintage [:p]

Bro, 

We only got one arm and swopping around is shiok enough liao lah

Found it...post #149

courtesy of resident lolec king T2

Thanos also soosay...

post-163127-0-59360500-1562136715.jpeg

I won't read too much into Theo & Harris's articles if I were you. I think they have not done much fact-checking before they publish their videos or articles. In some videos, they can't even get the basic watch models and their movement references right. However, that Christian kid has a good presentation style, and that's about it. A good click-bait at best.

It's hard to categorise "mainstream" brand because everyone has his own opinion/definition. Just buy the watch we like and enjoy wearing. 

Edited by Weez911
  • Praise 10

But they are really good, off all the sales they have, they say no stocks. I end up with my Chopard Super Fast Power control liao. But they don't have rose gold one. Ended up with the SS one.

My plan is to have one SS Rolex sports model to swop around in China [laugh]

Maybe one ay find Bro T2 to get one vintage [:p]

Bro,

We only got one arm and swopping around is shiok enough liao lah

Dont one day lah.

Today lah, bro!

Found it...post #149

courtesy of resident lolec king T2

Thanos also soosay...

Chey only 11 SS Rolexes, street value only barely $250k

No big deal lah.

People one watch already $300k

Why in Singapore seldom see people support A. Lange, Vacheron Constantin and JLC?

wife loves Lange

post-168945-0-00833400-1562144108_thumb.jpg

I won't read too much into Theo & Harris's articles if I were you. I think they have not done much fact-checking before they publish their videos or articles. In some videos, they can't even get the basic watch models and their movement references right. However, that Christian kid has a good presentation style, and that's about it. A good click-bait at best.

It's hard to categorise "mainstream" brand because everyone has his own opinion/definition. Just buy the watch we like and enjoy wearing. 

Agree.

Mainstream, Independent or China made, just buy what we like and enjoy wearing.

post-168945-0-97557000-1562144272_thumb.jpg

• Praise 10

Wah!! Jin satki man!

Rolex is for blue collar types

Chor lang type like me

PP Lange VC Bregeut etc for white collar types

SzeBoon lang like you.

My Tag Heuer Automatic watch stopped working few days back... the same also happened around 4 to 5 yrs back which I brought down to the authorised service center & they did a servicing which cost $400+. I supposed I'll need to bring the watch down again for another servicing to bring it back to life.

Is this normal for an automatic watch? Meaning just like our car, automatic watches needs to go for servicing at some regular interval? For my case, is it worthwhile to spend another 500 bucks (assuming some increased in price over these few yrs) meaning the 2 servicing would cost almost 50% of the cost of my watch?

For the more higher end watches like Omega & Rolex, also need the regular servicing?

Pardon my noob question & TIA  [:)]

Why in Singapore seldom see people support A. Lange, Vacheron Constantin and JLC?

got a VC before then when I sell it to dealer

Lost 60 over percent

Patek lost 30%

Guess VC like turdor not much demand

My Tag Heuer Automatic watch stopped working few days back... the same also happened around 4 to 5 yrs back which I brought down to the authorised service center & they did a servicing which cost $400+. I supposed I'll need to bring the watch down again for another servicing to bring it back to life.

Is this normal for an automatic watch? Meaning just like our car, automatic watches needs to go for servicing at some regular interval? For my case, is it worthwhile to spend another 500 bucks (assuming some increased in price over these few yrs) meaning the 2 servicing would cost almost 50% of the cost of my watch?

For the more higher end watches like Omega & Rolex, also need the regular servicing?

Pardon my noob question & TIA [:)]

More likely breakdown and hence need for repair than servicing.

Tbh, i never service my watches!

Edited by sake

More likely breakdown and hence need for repair than servicing.

But on both occasions the watch just didn't move after i've winded them on Mon morning before going off to work... I didn't dropped the watch or overwind it etc.. If i recalled, the feedback for the last "repair" was that the watch need to be service like in applying lubricant to the parts... so really like our car need go change engine oil  [laugh]

Or using a watch winder would help as it would keep the watch moving without the need to do a weekly rewind? I don't wear the watch from Fri to Sun & the power reserve normally don't last more than 2 days.