Watch Part V

Carbon82

Happy CNY.

Wify comments that watch seems to be too thick.. but I prefer a mechanical watch.

IMG20260218125153.jpg

On 2/21/2026 at 7:15 PM, Weez911 said:

四季民福 duck and squirrel fish are nicer in China but this is a first world problem.

20260221_184636.jpg

Enjoy 

Jin Hor Miah

😁

On 2/21/2026 at 8:30 PM, Credor said:

Happy CNY.

Wify comments that watch seems to be too thick.. but I prefer a mechanical watch.

IMG20260218125153.jpg

Cool GS GMT

On 2/23/2026 at 6:15 PM, ER-3682 said:

Today bring out my Zeith,this Watch most problematic..always spoil.

17718416324088579111352201030104.jpg

Who did the repair for you. Let me know, i will avoid them.

The El primero has been around for a long time so although it isnt as simple as current Chronos, it is a pretty sound movement which shouldnt break down easily .

This is the base movement which Rolex simplified to build its own 4030 used in the Daytona from late 80s onwards to 2000.

The Rolex 4030 had less parts and no date withh lower BPH and is a very reliable movement.

If you want something less of a hassle, pick a Chrono without a date and with lower BPH

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/23/2026 at 6:30 PM, Throttle2 said:

The El primero has been around for a long time so although it isnt as simple as current Chronos, it is a pretty sound movement which shouldnt break down easily .

This is the base movement which Rolex simplified to build its own 4030 used in the Daytona from late 80s onwards to 2000.

The Rolex 4030 had less parts and no date withh lower BPH and is a very reliable movement.

If you want something less of a hassle, pick a Chrono without a date and with lower BPH

Repair by Agent[I think is LVMH],still need to send back to Swiss,they said i ''over-wounded'' it..Spring broke inside,1st Time Free,2nd Time $700.00.

On 2/23/2026 at 6:41 PM, ER-3682 said:

Repair by Agent[I think is LVMH],still need to send back to Swiss,they said i ''over-wounded'' it..Spring broke inside,1st Time Free,2nd Time $700.00.

Aiyoh. 
No such thing as overwind becos it is an automatic with a slip spring.

if spring broken and it stops running means the main spring.  Easily replaced for under a $100 with swiss made comparable spring. 
if main spring breaks so easily after a replacement, i would 100% fault the watch tech. 

maybe becos yours is quite an old model using the older el primero.  Still doesnt make sense at all to me

• Sad 1

On 2/23/2026 at 6:30 PM, Throttle2 said:

my zenith el primero chronometro cp-2.

never serviced since bought in 2017.

S5.jpg

On 2/23/2026 at 9:23 PM, flat6 said:

my zenith el primero chronometro cp-2.

never serviced since bought in 2017.

S5.jpg

Simpler one with 2 subdials and no date.   No headache

My fave Seiko.  Black Series Limited Edition SPB257.  Tuned it to -1/+1 sec per day.  More accurate than my Rolexes now.  See how long the accuracy can be sustained.  

image.jpg

image.jpg

The El Primero is the pride of the House of Zenith.  
Over the years, they have improved the El Primero and they have also create so many versions of it just like how Omega has sucked the life out of the Speedmaster with its 7,926 variations.😆😂

without the birth of the El Primero Movement in the late 60s, i think Zenith would have been dead long ago.
 Its not doing super fantastic today but at least the House of Zenith still stands. 😅😁

the current ones are actually pretty good looking, some with skeleton dials even.  
Get a new one lah. 

On 2/24/2026 at 12:10 AM, Throttle2 said:

Simpler one with 2 subdials and no date.   No headache

Agreed,buy Watches with no Chronograph & no Full Calender.

On 2/24/2026 at 2:25 PM, ER-3682 said:

Agreed,buy Watches with no Chronograph & no Full Calender.

Just buy a Rolex from me......heh he

On 2/24/2026 at 4:21 PM, ER-3682 said:

I very Poor,ask @Gnahp buy from you.

I am not a rolex guy lah

hunting for this in reasonable good condition now

when it was new, I couldn't afford it, it cost 1.5 months of my salary then 😅

PA030018.jpg

On 2/24/2026 at 4:34 PM, Gnahp said:

I am not a rolex guy lah