Throttle2 Supersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 21 hours ago, Viceroymenthol said: LOL "true connoisseur watches" Wtf is that. We're talking about Tudor here. Please go back to your true connoisseur Rolex and Patek 😂 Perhaps our understanding of true connoisseur Is not aligned. as many times previously, we were almost always never aligned you are all about high dollar value, brands and trends and the whos who in your posts. While i am quite about the opposite. so your definition of true connoisseur is probably someone who buys the highest value most complete, scratchless, most minty, most talked about, photographed and perhaps even auctioned piece. To me, the true connoisseur is the one who understands the history and heritage of the watch and that it may run fast by 32 secs in 4 weeks,. Also how the dents and scratches resulted and remained and that it is more important for the watch sitting on the wrist than in a safe or showcase. so far, its the noobs and snobs and those who got all their knowledge from watching youtube or reading watchsites who think that they are a level higher by insisting on papers and documents. in the end , its this same crowd that gets duped by scammers who give them what they want. (Genuine papers and boxes, nevermind the watch) muayhahahahahahahahah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: in the end , its this same crowd that gets duped by scammers who give them what they want. (Genuine papers and boxes, nevermind the watch) hard truth ... saw youtube videos the so called "collectors" cum "speculators" were hang high and dry for buying rolex to fry then blame rolex because price cannot shoot up further ... Edited December 3, 2019 by Wt_know 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 9 hours ago, Viceroymenthol said: While we're still on the topic of vintages.... Make your own judgement.. Don't be another gongkia... There are enough gongkias around https://steemit.com/orchipalar/@exorchist/who-is-orchi-palar-and-what-does-he-want https://steemit.com/orchipalar/@exorchist/orchi-palar-aka-ngu-wei-sin-s-made-up-rolex-daytona-6264-with-serial-2425736-discovered-by-perezcope-aka-jose-pereztroika https://steemit.com/orchipalar/@exorchist/orchi-palar-and-the-forty-thieves these are only the tip of the iceberg, my friends Thats right, trust yourself only. thats the only reason why 150grms of steel can cost so easily $15k all the best. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jujitsuka 4th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 Wow... all the high SES towkays talking abt vintage Rolexes... my only vintage was a Seiko Bullhead which I bought for $800 n later sold for $1100. Guess nobody wanna scam poor chaps like me who buys old Seikos cos not worth the trouble... My burgundy tudor black bay was bought off an action at GPJW for $3300 and later I sold it for $3600... only my 2 cheese pie PAMs make me lose monies... never going back to PAM again unless got nice lelong pieces (I am a sucker for big watches) 😛 😛 😛 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 In more positive news..... 😜 https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/consumer/singaporean-ceo-to-lead-audemars-piguets-sea-business Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 3 hours ago, Jujitsuka said: Wow... all the high SES towkays talking abt vintage Rolexes... my only vintage was a Seiko Bullhead which I bought for $800 n later sold for $1100. Guess nobody wanna scam poor chaps like me who buys old Seikos cos not worth the trouble... My burgundy tudor black bay was bought off an action at GPJW for $3300 and later I sold it for $3600... only my 2 cheese pie PAMs make me lose monies... never going back to PAM again unless got nice lelong pieces (I am a sucker for big watches) 😛 😛 😛 I still love Pam. It's sort of a guilty luxury now, paying so much for a watch that has a low resale value. But still I buy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 4 hours ago, Throttle2 said: Thats right, trust yourself only. thats the only reason why 150grms of steel can cost so easily $15k all the best. You're lucky if it's only $15k. Some guys are paying $150k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 4 hours ago, Wt_know said: hard truth ... saw youtube videos the so called "collectors" cum "speculators" were hang high and dry for buying rolex to fry then blame rolex because price cannot shoot up further ... It's the same with every market what...winners and losers. You're a winner if you can buy from them at low price lor... Don't be like a certain Ho. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 3 minutes ago, Viceroymenthol said: It's the same with every market what...winners and losers. You're a winner if you can buy from them at low price lor... Don't be like a certain Ho. if no loser where got winner ... money dont grow on trees right ... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 5 hours ago, Jujitsuka said: Wow... all the high SES towkays talking abt vintage Rolexes... my only vintage was a Seiko Bullhead which I bought for $800 n later sold for $1100. Guess nobody wanna scam poor chaps like me who buys old Seikos cos not worth the trouble... My burgundy tudor black bay was bought off an action at GPJW for $3300 and later I sold it for $3600... only my 2 cheese pie PAMs make me lose monies... never going back to PAM again unless got nice lelong pieces (I am a sucker for big watches) 😛 😛 😛 I also had, the bullhead, turtle, ufo, helmet etc..... sold all. Market price tripled for some of them 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 1 hour ago, Viceroymenthol said: You're lucky if it's only $15k. Some guys are paying $150k. I no money to play $150k watch. it’s stoooopid lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 (edited) 2 hours ago, Viceroymenthol said: I still love Pam. It's sort of a guilty luxury now, paying so much for a watch that has a low resale value. But still I buy. When i told my friends not to buy PAM for resale, they didnt believe. PAM was so crazily speculated upwards. Similar to those new Rolexes. Simi hulk batman etc, pwui! Those who buy for the look and other reasons will always enjoy. so no problem. Edited December 3, 2019 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 1 hour ago, Throttle2 said: I no money to play $150k watch. it’s stoooopid lor. Cannot say like that la... I am not in that league that's for sure, but I have no right to call a person who pays a high price for a rare red or white Sub or a 4D Daytona full set "stupid" lor. After all many HK and SG celebrities are buying these vintage pieces at sky high values also and they don't think they are stupid... ie Jay Chou's gold John Player Special that he had bought for the better part of US$1m. I am not in that league so no comment. I can only say I hope they got what they paid for. I am only concerned with the many con men auctioneers/collectors/dealers around, especially in Europe, hiding behind a veneer of respectability. Even the famous Eric Ku, who has a huge reputation in the US and European circles, also owns a workshop that does laser welding, restoration, refurbishment, etc. So who's to say what's legit or not? With regard to inflated market valuations, for example, no owner of a steel 5711 or 5712 will say their watches' market values in the six digits are "stupid" right now also tio bo. If there are willing buyers and willing sellers at that price, then that transacted price has set the precedent across the board lor. You can say it's stupid, I also might think it's stupid, but to someone who has a 50 million net worth, it's just another watch to him la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, Throttle2 said: When i told my friends not to buy PAM for resale, they didnt believe. PAM was so crazily speculated upwards. Similar to those new Rolexes. Simi hulk batman etc, pwui! Those who buy for the look and other reasons will always enjoy. so no problem. As always. Buying watches was never about investment. Not for me. I owned (and still own) APs, Vacherons and love them, people told me I stupid to buy them. Nobody will fry these watches and no investment value. Fine. But hell, life is short and I get a kick out of wearing them. Looking out for a good deal on an ultra thin Bvlgari Octo Finissimo now. I had always loved that watch. No investment value la. But happy leh. At this point I need to caveat also that I am no saint, before some people who know me in real life say that I am a hypocrite. This year had been a good year for flipping. Whatever I wanted to flip or sell, I had done so successfully and quickly. So I had also benefitted from the market in some ways. Edited December 3, 2019 by Viceroymenthol 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 1 hour ago, Throttle2 said: I also had, the bullhead, turtle, ufo, helmet etc..... sold all. Market price tripled for some of them In those days, long time ago, you didn't believe in vintage Rolexes, right? Aren't you glad your tastes had changed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 3 hours ago, Wt_know said: if no loser where got winner ... money dont grow on trees right ... lol If you're looking out for a market crash in GMT, Sub, SD43, DSSD, DS blue, etc... It won't happen bro. There will be a dip and in fact we're seeing a bit of a dip now. So if you find a good honest piece that's reasonably priced, don't miss the boat again... And if you think Rolex are gonna flood ADs with a ton of steel sports models...err... please... Don't listen to those hopefuls la...they're dreaming Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 2 hours ago, Viceroymenthol said: In those days, long time ago, you didn't believe in vintage Rolexes, right? Aren't you glad your tastes had changed. No, in those days, i didnt have money to dabble in vintage Rolex . 😩 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 3, 2019 Share December 3, 2019 2 hours ago, Viceroymenthol said: As always. Buying watches was never about investment. Not for me. I owned (and still own) APs, Vacherons and love them, people told me I stupid to buy them. Nobody will fry these watches and no investment value. Fine. But hell, life is short and I get a kick out of wearing them. Looking out for a good deal on an ultra thin Bvlgari Octo Finissimo now. I had always loved that watch. No investment value la. But happy leh. At this point I need to caveat also that I am no saint, before some people who know me in real life say that I am a hypocrite. This year had been a good year for flipping. Whatever I wanted to flip or sell, I had done so successfully and quickly. So I had also benefitted from the market in some ways. Thats good. That should be the way for me its always been, if i wont wear it i wont buy it. But i began buying so many until i have no wrist time so i slowly sell the ones which i dont wear as often. At one stage i had as many as up to 8 of the same reference. At my peak around 50 Rolexes with street value probably close to a million bucks. Now of course only left with about half that. have i benefitted? Oh of course, but looking back the collection would be worth close to double that today if i just left them alone. any regrets, you might ask? Nah... i didnt buy them for investment either. I was plain poisoned. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...