Watch Part V

Carbon82

2 hours ago, Viceroymenthol said:

If you're looking out for a market crash in GMT, Sub, SD43, DSSD, DS blue, etc... It won't happen bro. 

There will be a dip and in fact we're seeing a bit of a dip now. So if you find a good honest piece that's reasonably priced, don't miss the boat again...

And if you think Rolex are gonna flood ADs with a ton of steel sports models...err... please... Don't listen to those hopefuls la...they're dreaming

Crash, not yet. But we will eventually see more at the ADs. I have been through that cycle before.  Many AD had Daytonas Subs GMTs on display. A few pieces no doubt but they were on display and a small discount could be negotiated for some models. 

solid gold models regardless of size were standard 10-15% off retail

rolex doesnt flood the markets. Its just that the demand didnt keep pace with the production at one period. 

Edited by Throttle2

4 hours ago, Viceroymenthol said:

Cannot say like that la...

I am not in that league that's for sure, but I have no right to call a person who pays a high price for a rare red or white Sub or a 4D Daytona full set "stupid" lor. After all many HK and SG celebrities are buying these vintage pieces at sky high values also and they don't think they are stupid... ie Jay Chou's gold John Player Special that he had bought for the better part of US$1m. I am not in that league so no comment.

I can only say I hope they got what they paid for.

I am only concerned with the many con men auctioneers/collectors/dealers around, especially in Europe, hiding behind a veneer of respectability. Even the famous Eric Ku, who has a huge reputation in the US and European circles, also owns a workshop that does laser welding, restoration, refurbishment, etc. So who's to say what's legit or not?

With regard to inflated market valuations, for example, no owner of a steel 5711 or 5712 will say their watches' market values in the six digits are "stupid" right now also tio bo. If there are willing buyers and willing sellers at that price, then that transacted price has set the precedent across the board lor.

You can say it's stupid, I also might think it's stupid, but to someone who has a 50 million net worth, it's just another watch to him la.

Agree to disagree on the stupidity part.

as with laser welding and refurbishment etc... my view is simple.

a vintage watch is a vintage watch becos it tells the time it has been through. (Punt intended)  And each vintage watch will look different becos each one has gone through a different passage in time.

once we start refurbishing it to “NEW” condition, then to me it loses its true appeal. I am always looking for the perfection in the imperfection.   None of my vintage Rolexes is perfect but i can tell them apart from another person’s from a mile away 😄

But becos there are so many rich stupids (call them what you wish) out there, the big money will lead the industry in trying to pass off refurbished pieces as NOS barn finds

A perfect NOS vintage watch (especially sports rolex) is a true rare find and by now, i dont quite believe  there are any.   Those who like to refurbish their vintage watch to look new should just buy a new watch. Or perhaps a Tudor.    Post 2000 Tudor has been very successful leading the market in reissueing vintage looking watches. Even to the extend of creating fake patina.  But they have got the formula right, which is why Tudor has managed to grab back a good piece of the market.

That said, if people choose to refurbish, laser weld, relume , recolor etc to make watch look new again, it IS perfectly fine.

As long as they dont pass it off as NOS unpolished untouched becos that would be cheating and misrepresentation.

At the end of the day, the watch on your wrist is for you only. It is about self actualization,  And for people who wear fakes to impress others. I always say one thing, “you can lie to others, but you can never lie to yourself”  

11 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

At the end of the day, the watch on your wrist is for you only. It is about self actualization,  And for people who wear fakes to impress others. I always say one thing, “you can lie to others, but you can never lie to yourself”  

Fully agreed ! Not just watches, but also any luxury brand products. 

1 hour ago, Ash2017 said:

what happened so cold all hair dropped

wah ... smooth hand ... in the good old days it's considered no work and no touch cold water ... 

:grin:

19 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

wah ... smooth hand ... in the good old days it's considered no work and no touch cold water ... 

I cho chor kang type as you know

On 12/3/2019 at 10:30 PM, RH1667 said:

Fully agreed ! Not just watches, but also any luxury brand products. 

The actualisation people dont realised is that everyone will actually turn into dust 

26 minutes ago, Angcheek said:

The actualisation people dont realised is that everyone will actually turn into dust 

Thats why must pass it on before time is up

10 minutes ago, sake said:

old watch on Rubber B

5513RubberB.jpg

Nice 5513 but the RubberB spoiled the look totally. 
almost like installing rubber seats in a 964. 
muayhahaha

change to vintage strap lah please 

Edited by Throttle2

6 hours ago, sake said:

just trying out .

looks like old man trying to look like teenager.....

Other than the awful rubberB, that is a very cool 5513mf with long 5 insert. Let me guess the serial, 1.69mil?