EHS Moment

Carbon82

I more interested to know for takata airbag, how many have successfully replace for those that are 6 to 10 year old cars

Seems like most of us would have forgotten the ill fated bags and the company’s apology for many deaths , I guess most of the cars would have been scrapped by now already , was there a recall ?? For the affected cars

I hope you understand and understood back then that reefer trucks cannot switch off their engines as the engines are needed to run the reefer unit :D

When I was at my work place, I would insist that all vehicles within the compound must have their engines turned off. SOs would do the job. I would approach some of the offending drivers personally. Once there was a delivery truck who refused to comply and purposely revved the engine before driving off, I reported him to him company! ( that was in 2001)

Pretty low mileage for a 6 year old car.

My previous car's mileage of 6 years also considered low to some, but double yours.

I used my Mazda 6 Start/Stop System to the Max,already clocked over 371 Hours of "Stopped" time...in 6 Years of use...mileage 78,500Km.

I hope you understand and understood back then that reefer trucks cannot switch off their engines as the engines are needed to run the reefer unit :D

Yes, I know. He has an option to park else where! [:)]

What about basic driving safety, such as switching on the headlights when raining heavily, at night, indoor car park, and turning on signal when turning and changing lane?

Topic for today:

Proper driving position reduce risk to the back, neck shoulders and legs.

SKODA-behind-the-wheel-1.png

• Praise 11

Topic for today:

The importance of buckling up - for all in the car.

logo-2013-web-900x606.jpg

Safety during a flash flood

flash-flood-be-alert-sign-k2-0029.png

- Pedestrians should be alert. Move immediately to higher ground and stay there till the flood subsides. Be aware of your surroundings, especially if there are open drains, and refrain from walking through flood waters.

- Motorists should avoid driving into flooded areas if possible, as low visibility can obscure the depth of floodwaters. If floodwaters rise around the vehicle, abandon the vehicle and move to higher ground.

- If you are already into the flood (water level <30cm), drive at not more than 5 Km/h to create a bow wave and to keep water out of the engine. Even if you’re driving into quite shallow puddles avoid going too fast as the car can start aquaplaning which means the front tires are no longer steering the car and you lose control.

- Stay in first gear and keep the revs up to avoid water entering the exhaust pipe. Don’t speed up, though, as this will push water into the engine. Once you are out of the water, dry the brakes by using them gently.

The public can access selected CCTV images of road conditions in low-lying areas and hotspots via PUB’s website or MyWaters mobile app, to aid in planning your trip during stormy weather.

- Click here for more information on Water Level Sensors and CCTV images.
- Click here to go to PUB’s Facebook page.
- Click here to go to PUB’s Twitter page.

The public can also subscribe to SMS alerts of data from a location of their choice. 

Click here for more information on subscribing to the free water level SMS alert service.

Driving while under influence of drugs

drugDrivingDummies.jpg

- Taking certain common over the counter flu / fever relief tablets can seriously affect a driver, in the same way alcohol does, and yet many drivers are unaware of the dangers of dosing up on these seemingly harmless treatments to ease their running noses or itchy eyes before taking to the wheel.

- Drowsiness, feeling lethargic, reduced concentration levels and blurry vision are some common side effects of consuming such medication, which could impair the driver's ability to gain proper control of his/her vehicle 

- Under Section 67 of the Road Traffic Act, it is an offence to drive or attempt to drive a motor vehicle on a road or other public place, under the influence of drink or of a drug or an intoxicating substance to such an extent as to be incapable of having proper control of such vehicle

- Person guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $5,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months and, in the case of a second or subsequent conviction, to a fine of not less than $3,000 and not more than $10,000 and to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months

- Under Section 68 of the Road Traffic Act, it is also an offence for being in charge of motor vehicle which is on a road or other public place but not driving the vehicle, when a person is unfit to drive in that he is under the influence of drink or of a drug or an intoxicating substance to such an extent as to be incapable of having proper control of a vehicle

- Person guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 3 months and, in the case of a second or subsequent conviction, to a fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $5,000 and to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months

I often see ppl in mscp... sleeping in the car with engine and aircon running...really knn....!

It ok. Radx not dream of them yet. So no carbon monoxide poisoning.

I heard there was a couple who did some hanky penky and died c@ckstand.

Safety Moment is a tool, used by some companies, to maintain a high level of awareness towards Environmental, Health and Safety (EHS) issues, often in relation to the company operations.

It involve the sharing of an EHS topic, usually by safety representative within the team, prior to the start of a work shift and/or meeting. To make it effective, such briefing / discussion are kept short and sharp (typically lasting just 1 - 3 minutes), with the aim of recognizing hazards and risks, reinforcing the importance of health and safety, and get everyone gearing towards a positive safety culture.

I think it will be useful for MCF to have one, and let me start the ball rolling. Topic for today:

Do not leave the engine of your vehicle running when it is stationary

image.jpg

In accordance to section 21 of Environmental Protection and Management (Vehicular Emissions) Regulations, vehicle driver shall stop the engine, when the vehicle is stationary for reasons other than traffic conditions. Failing to do so shall constitute to an offence under the said regulations.

While it might look like the authority (NEA) is finding fault with motorist, but in reality, leaving the engine on for an extended period have the following impact:

1) Polluting the environment (running engine emit harmful pollutants such as Hydrocarbons, Carbon Monoxide, Nitrogen Oxides, as well as Particulate Matter)

2) Create health issue for other road users and general public in the vicinity (prolong inhaling of pollutants stated above may have adverse health effect over an extended period of time)

3) Depleting natural resources (continuous burning of fuel)

So please do our part, switch off the engine when waiting, to protect the environment and people around us.

thank-you-1400x800-c-default.gif

Yo, how about renaming this thread "ehs moment", though "laymen" might have not a clue about it, yet hopefully generate some curiosity

Topic for today:

Proper driving position reduce risk to the back, neck shoulders and legs.

SKODA-behind-the-wheel-1.png

Bro the angle between the forearm n upper arm should be some 120° rite

Yo, how about renaming this thread "ehs moment", though "laymen" might have not a clue about it, yet hopefully generate some curiosity

Bro the angle between the forearm n upper arm should be some 120° rite

Err good idea hor?  :D  :a-m1212: I will try, and see if more check out the thread. Now EHS really pai tan jiak...  [sweatdrop]

The angle you mentioned look more like 135° (probably 45° refer to external angle). How can one drive with just 45°, that is almost like chest / face is just a few inch away from steering wheel...

9-dsc_6662.jpg

This looks like more than 90 degree. If 45 degree will be very unergonomic to drive.

post-158018-0-34709200-1557398469.jpg

Just saw your post, pai seh. As above, more like 135°. Cannot be 90° too, as it will be quite close to the steering wheel.

car_seat_bad_posture.jpg

Err good idea hor?  :D  :a-m1212: I will try, and see if more check out the thread. Now EHS really pai tan jiak...  [sweatdrop]

The angle you mentioned look more like 135° (probably 45° refer to external angle). How can one drive with just 45°, that is almost like chest / face is just a few inch away from steering wheel...

Just saw your post, pai seh. As above, more like 135°. Cannot be 90° too, as it will be quite close to the steering wheel.

You are right. Thanks for starting this EHS Moment and creating the awareness.  [thumbsup]

I was electrocuted this morning, but thankfully, only my right arm went numb.

This is what happens when a combination of factors occur together

1. I just washed my hands, and I had wiped it dry with a disposable towel

2. The 3 pin socket I was using was those fancy, switchless type(ie. perpetually powered), with stainless case and a spring loaded cover

3. I was plugging in a 3-pin plug for my laptop charger, which has no ground pin at the transformer side.

4. Felt a buzz and was in daze for a while, while my hand felt numbing pain.

Took a little while to realise what happened, and luckily, the numbness subsided after 30 minutes.. it still feels weak as I type this.

- Always operate electrical sockets with a dry hand,

- Avoid those fancy switchless socket like plague, especially if it has some funny mechanism that makes the plugging/unplugging operation even more unnatural

Edited by Sturtles

Err good idea hor? :D:a-m1212: I will try, and see if more check out the thread. Now EHS really pai tan jiak... [sweatdrop]

9-dsc_6662.jpg

Just saw your post, pai seh. As above, more like 135°. Cannot be 90° too, as it will be quite close to the steering wheel.

car_seat_bad_posture.jpg

Yea bro. Paitan.. Need QEHS or more to sustain or maintain competitive.

Iirc angle should be 120 Dec. Need protractor to confirm