xul 1st Gear May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 How is the quota for taxis currently determined? I only saw in the article that their premiums are based on PQP. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 14, 2019 Author Share May 14, 2019 I thought the same author was asking car buyers not to rush in for COE just 1 week+ ago The review is more likely to address the loss of government revenue from the pegging the taxis' COE to price of Cat A instead of Cat B as both categories are now more than $10k apart. Don't rush to push COE prices higher Resist the temptation to buy a car now - doing so would cause certificate of entitlement prices to rise further https://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/motoring/dont-rush-to-push-coe-prices-higher Last time he kenna exposed for always interviewing Ashley Wu... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 He pointed out that there are about 130,000 taxi and private-hire vocational licence holders, and too many drivers vying for commuters Really meh? I still find it so difficult to get a teksi/grab when I need one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twich 3rd Gear May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 if only that was true. Scale back on COE and the COE will shoot up. Common demand and supply. Win Win situation. If the demand drop and the supply to cut, the prices should hold. The other win is the traffic condition also improves. Plus the car lite takes this closer. If there is a plan to reduce vehicle population, the government better come a plan to train hundred of thousand of workers working in our so called automotive industry. Such as new or used car dealers, workshops, car paint shops, petrol stations, tyre shops, leather seat shops, car coating shops and etc.Look at the trade War between America and China. Singapore G better know the negative impact... Really meh? I still find it so difficult to get a teksi/grab when I need one.60,000 PHV vehicle + 20,000 cab Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Why am I not surprise with this piece of news? https://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2714322-coe-bidding-2nd-round-of-february-2019/page-3?do=findComment&comment=6627878 There are so many wild card on their hand... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Binatan Clutched May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Is it fair for ordinary folks to compete with Taxi & PHV companies for the coe? How can the ordinary folks out bid them? They are big monster company in their own right flushed with cash. A separate category should be created for public transport company to bid, or least put them into commercial vehicle cat if no other better option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mann123 4th Gear May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Is it fair for ordinary folks to compete with Taxi & PHV companies for the coe? How can the ordinary folks out bid them? They are big monster company in their own right flushed with cash. A separate category should be created for public transport company to bid, or least put them into commercial vehicle cat if no other better option. In Singapore everything garment decide is fair. Public can only kpkb in forums but finally accept and move on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Binatan Clutched May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 In Singapore everything garment decide is fair. Public can only kpkb in forums but finally accept and move on. if big enough number of ppl kpkb, the govt. might backtrack. I remember when Uber was bidding aggressively for the coes when they were expanding their fleets a few yrs back, the coe price were crazy, even the second hand car price also went up accordingly. So the negative impact on car buyer like us are quite pronounced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 If even LTA says this is market speculation...how is this article different from spreading unconfirmed fake news? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 CCB PAPAnd all the IB clone trolls. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 (edited) Is it fair for ordinary folks to compete with Taxi & PHV companies for the coe? How can the ordinary folks out bid them? They are big monster company in their own right flushed with cash. A separate category should be created for public transport company to bid, or least put them into commercial vehicle cat if no other better option. Ding ding ding!!! Now u know, gahmen don't want ordinary folk have car. They want ordinary folk to be fashionably car lite and ride escooter. Edited May 14, 2019 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 14, 2019 Author Share May 14, 2019 In Singapore everything garment decide is fair. Public can only kpkb in forums but finally accept and move on. not exactly true, we will get our chance to exercise our voting rights once every few years. If PAP still gets 70% or more, means most sinkies still can accept govt's policies such as POFMA, CPF etc etc... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Im almost done with the Singapore car dream. Lately i tried car renting by the hour. Not flexible in the sense that most of the time you cannot extend past your contracted hours...but may have to settle for these if coe price goes back to 90K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twich 3rd Gear May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Im almost done with the Singapore car dream. Lately i tried car renting by the hour. Not flexible in the sense that most of the time you cannot extend past your contracted hours...but may have to settle for these if coe price goes back to 90K ðWorry our jobs first. High economy growth is history. if big enough number of ppl kpkb, the govt. might backtrack. I remember when Uber was bidding aggressively for the coes when they were expanding their fleets a few yrs back, the coe price were crazy, even the second hand car price also went up accordingly. So the negative impact on car buyer like us are quite pronounced. Worry our jobs first. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr 6th Gear May 14, 2019 Author Share May 14, 2019 How is the quota for taxis currently determined? I only saw in the article that their premiums are based on PQP. Iirc, it is one to one replacement. I might be wrong though. But if I am right, that means taxi coys cannot increase their fleet size while PHVs can. if big enough number of ppl kpkb, the govt. might backtrack. I remember when Uber was bidding aggressively for the coes when they were expanding their fleets a few yrs back, the coe price were crazy, even the second hand car price also went up accordingly. So the negative impact on car buyer like us are quite pronounced. Where to sign up to kpkb such that govt. might backtrack? Can go MPS to kpkb? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Start to miss Liew tuck yew.. Its in his term as transport minister that see the change to separate taxi from coe bidding. He seems to listen to ground concern. Now like going to u turn back.. Haiz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Why am I not surprise with this piece of news? https://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2714322-coe-bidding-2nd-round-of-february-2019/page-3?do=findComment&comment=6627878 There are so many wild card on their hand... Wow you are a pro.. Like that you can also sort of guessed it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...