ahboy86 3rd Gear September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 Hmm...I did had my SE and the technician tried to do the reverse setting and they cant too. Anyway, will highlight to them again as need to go in and change a part too. BTW, yours diesel or petrol? 2 outta 3 days means something right? mai tu liao! Anyway, any other cars you are comparing to? haha bro. Yea, between XE 20d and XF 25t. Both cars have their merits. I like the torque and surge of the 20d; wife likes the smoother, quieter and gradual power of the 25t. haha. Of course, 20d much easier on the pocket to buy. Not comparing to any other cars le; i love jaguars. My concerns of 20d or rather diesel: 1. Clearly engine sound more evident than petrol; the car is still new, I wonder if the sound will get worse thru the years (then sound like taxi .. tak tak tak tak tak .. ) 2. Resale value - will it be much worse off compared to an equivalent petrol counterpart? Does a diesel depreciate much more than a petrol equivalent? 3. Wear and tear of parts like engine mounts / bushing - from experience of Jags, they are generally weaker when it comes to bushings / engine mount wear and I heard that diesel engine mounts wear faster. Any feedback of the above points, from XE 20d owners? Was offered: 1. 5 years 'free' servicing 2. $1000 insurance subsidy (was told XE / XF / XJ 2.0 premium all the same ... like huhhhhh) 3. $1000 'accessories' 4. About $4000 'Overtrade' for my car 5. Dunno any return customer discount not. XE - got my choice colour combi; but concerns of diesel and \wifey finds power delivery too harsh and a tad noisy. XF - not my first colour choice but wifey likes it more but my pocket suffer much more also. muah haha. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audi2016 5th Gear September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 What are the $1000 accessories? Just curious comparing with the one I got offered earlier this year. I didn't get this one but the rest largely the same. Returning customer for the brand, the most is $500-1000 depending on how you bargain. Free servicing is 15K/30K/45K only, I think? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahboy86 3rd Gear September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 What are the $1000 accessories? Just curious comparing with the one I got offered earlier this year. I didn't get this one but the rest largely the same. Returning customer for the brand, the most is $500-1000 depending on how you bargain. Free servicing is 15K/30K/45K only, I think? The $1000 accessories, just a quick word with my SE, says can use to get solar film and 'anything off the shelf in showroom like tee shirt etc'. Hmmm... I didnt ask more coz I also not sure if confirm buying. But when I go and sign, I will talk more business liao. haha. I figured '$1000' can buy you what? I think not even enough for aluminium paddle shifters and blacked out side vents. Free servicing is for 5 years -> in the case of the 20d, the service interval is 34,000km or 2 years whichever comes first. I asked my SE, so say 2 years, then u give up to 5 years so how? 2 and half servicing ar? she grinned, said no Dr, it's 3 free servicing in the case of the 20d. haha. 25t interval is 16,000km, nvr really ask how many YET thou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 Last weekend, after discount, service vouchers, etc net around 180k +- not exactly irresistible at the moment the golf R was lelong with 179K and thats with OMV at 40,242. Bidded at 62K. If jag wants a piece of the pie, they have to be aggressive ,, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ahboy86 3rd Gear September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 (edited) Latest news just released 20 hours ago that would be of significant interest, particularly for those sitting on the fence: No doubt various versions of the Ingenium Petrol will make it to the XE, XF, XJ, F-Pace, F-Type. http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/industry/jaguar-land-rover-announces-new-ingenium-four-cylinder-petrol-engines Edited September 13, 2016 by ahboy86 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 (edited) Maybe you have to save it to memory first. I did this back in Post #595 but cant remember if i save in memory. Will try again. "Yes, i tried the same method, put to R, tilt higher and put to P. But when put to R again, it tilt to the lowest and not my preferred tilt angle... Oh well, have to wait for AD to provide me an answer..." Turbo whistle. Seems to get louder. Or maybe I'm just noticing it more. I'm driving a diesel. yeah, that could be it. Just kinda funny that it gets so loud. Didnt even notice it on my previous 1.8T A4. Edited September 13, 2016 by Xoloto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 I did this back in Post #595 but cant remember if i save in memory. Will try again. "Yes, i tried the same method, put to R, tilt higher and put to P. But when put to R again, it tilt to the lowest and not my preferred tilt angle... Oh well, have to wait for AD to provide me an answer..." Well, mine is not a Jaguar, but I have to separately save the dipped mirror position to memory. i.e. I need to go in to reverse, dip a mirror to intended position, then hold a memory bank button to save it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 (edited) haha bro. Yea, between XE 20d and XF 25t. Both cars have their merits. I like the torque and surge of the 20d; wife likes the smoother, quieter and gradual power of the 25t. haha. 1 $50 tank gets u 800km ++ vs 1 $120 tank maybe 400 Km ++? Just a guess on the petrol mileage thou. The torque does suddenly come thou when i accidentally step too hard... Of course, 20d much easier on the pocket to buy. Haha, definitely. Diff of 10 to 15K? Not comparing to any other cars le; i love jaguars. My concerns of 20d or rather diesel: 1. Clearly engine sound more evident than petrol; the car is still new, I wonder if the sound will get worse thru the years (then sound like taxi .. tak tak tak tak tak .. ) The tak tak clatter is there even when new. Got a fren with 3 yrs + volvo D2 and he says it gets louder with age. 2. Resale value - will it be much worse off compared to an equivalent petrol counterpart? Does a diesel depreciate much more than a petrol equivalent? Might not even have a resale value for a jag lar. Masses are still going for MB, BM, Audi. Diesel sales seems to be picking up, but I guess most still couldn't accept the diesel clatter. Well, to me...its enjoying the ride for 5 yrs first than see how is the resale value. If too low than LL drive 10 yrs lor. 3. Wear and tear of parts like engine mounts / bushing - from experience of Jags, they are generally weaker when it comes to bushings / engine mount wear and I heard that diesel engine mounts wear faster. Any feedback of the above points, from XE 20d owners? Was offered: 1. 5 years 'free' servicing 2. $1000 insurance subsidy (was told XE / XF / XJ 2.0 premium all the same ... like huhhhhh) Hmm..I didnt get this 3. $1000 'accessories' Hmm..I didnt get this 4. About $4000 'Overtrade' for my car. 5. Dunno any return customer discount not. U on a jag currently? 6. Got the in-house front back cam. 7. Free jag brolly. 8. Solar film. XE - got my choice colour combi; but concerns of diesel and \wifey finds power delivery too harsh and a tad noisy. XF - not my first colour choice but wifey likes it more but my pocket suffer much more also. muah haha. Didnt cosider the petrol as fuel saving cost overwrites any tak clatter or sizes for the matter. Edited September 13, 2016 by Xoloto 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear September 13, 2016 Share September 13, 2016 The $1000 accessories, just a quick word with my SE, says can use to get solar film and 'anything off the shelf in showroom like tee shirt etc'. Hmmm... I didnt ask more coz I also not sure if confirm buying. But when I go and sign, I will talk more business liao. haha. I figured '$1000' can buy you what? I think not even enough for aluminium paddle shifters and blacked out side vents. Free servicing is for 5 years -> in the case of the 20d, the service interval is 34,000km or 2 years whichever comes first. I asked my SE, so say 2 years, then u give up to 5 years so how? 2 and half servicing ar? she grinned, said no Dr, it's 3 free servicing in the case of the 20d. haha. 25t interval is 16,000km, nvr really ask how many YET thou. The black pack (blacked vents, front grill, window sills) cost a few K's. Did anyone paid for the black pack? Can PM me the price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ninerzero 1st Gear September 14, 2016 Share September 14, 2016 I did this back in Post #595 but cant remember if i save in memory. Will try again. "Yes, i tried the same method, put to R, tilt higher and put to P. But when put to R again, it tilt to the lowest and not my preferred tilt angle... Oh well, have to wait for AD to provide me an answer..." yeah, that could be it. Just kinda funny that it gets so loud. Didnt even notice it on my previous 1.8T A4. Yeah.. ppl are worried about the clatter. I think the whistle is more annoying. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
car50 Twincharged September 14, 2016 Share September 14, 2016 Newer resale diesel can still find buyers in market Older ones more difficult overall, much fewer buyers for diesel cars If sound is already a concern at buy of buying, better take the petrol bec psychologically the clatter sound will appear louder with age haha bro. Yea, between XE 20d and XF 25t. Both cars have their merits. I like the torque and surge of the 20d; wife likes the smoother, quieter and gradual power of the 25t. haha. Of course, 20d much easier on the pocket to buy. Not comparing to any other cars le; i love jaguars. My concerns of 20d or rather diesel: 1. Clearly engine sound more evident than petrol; the car is still new, I wonder if the sound will get worse thru the years (then sound like taxi .. tak tak tak tak tak .. ) 2. Resale value - will it be much worse off compared to an equivalent petrol counterpart? Does a diesel depreciate much more than a petrol equivalent? 3. Wear and tear of parts like engine mounts / bushing - from experience of Jags, they are generally weaker when it comes to bushings / engine mount wear and I heard that diesel engine mounts wear faster. Any feedback of the above points, from XE 20d owners? Was offered: 1. 5 years 'free' servicing 2. $1000 insurance subsidy (was told XE / XF / XJ 2.0 premium all the same ... like huhhhhh) 3. $1000 'accessories' 4. About $4000 'Overtrade' for my car 5. Dunno any return customer discount not. XE - got my choice colour combi; but concerns of diesel and \wifey finds power delivery too harsh and a tad noisy. XF - not my first colour choice but wifey likes it more but my pocket suffer much more also. muah haha. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged September 14, 2016 Share September 14, 2016 From a $$$ point of view, diesel XE is much better than petrol XE. Diesel XE is 12k cheaper than petrol XE. Diesel road tax is extra $800 x 10 = 8k only. Plus you get to pay this slowly over 10 years. Add in savings on petrol and diesel XE will save more money in the long run, even with average mileage (15-20k/year) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic September 16, 2016 Share September 16, 2016 I am owning a s60 T5, my 2nd car . and 1st conti if you may call it. Was naive, same like you, went ahead to aim 316i, c180 , a4 .. etc etc. ended up picking the Volvo becuase of the 245hp and good specs compared to other peers with same / slightly higher price. Now 21 months into ownership, i feel the heat, when the free servicing (I am high milage user), and the warranty is about to end, hearing and finding out about the servicing and maintaince from dealer / (limited volvo only workshops outside), my cold sweat starts coming out, the price is simply CRAZY. (i dont own the car, my dad bought it for me and he pays for everything, but afterall its family money, i dont wish to waste). On the other hand, the german rival parts readily available and many speicalised workshop to modify it and at the same time to maintain it. Its cheaper and also there are many choices to choose from. Last but not least, had been testing market to sell off the car, you know what? dealer is giving me PAPER VALUE, i lose almost half when i asked during my 16th month of ownership, trust me bro in time to come, when you sell, it goes the sames for your jag. now i know why people stick to the top 3 brands esp merc even if they are stripped off by the dealer, the price are there and the market is always there to sell, in addition to the easy maintaince... Nonetheless, i love my ride in terms of the ride quality and the power, did polestar tune and klear karbon new treatment, i'm getting around 13 and reaching 14km/l on my T5, power and efficiency coming together... you need to join the volvo group chat. there are many options out there. don't get tied down by the AD workshop. Volvo parts are readily available too, unless you are talking about aftermarket mods. It doesn't mean Merc, BMW or Audi gets you higher resale. In the first place, the owner already paid a higher price. All dealers want to buy low sell high. Therefore, it doesn't matter what car you drive. You will still get lowballed by a dealer. Btw, my friend got offered paper for his C180 coupe as well. your T5 is a great sleeper car. So much power, such great FC. where to find? don't be sheep like many common folks out there. enjoy ur Volvo. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear September 17, 2016 Share September 17, 2016 you need to join the volvo group chat. there are many options out there. don't get tied down by the AD workshop. Volvo parts are readily available too, unless you are talking about aftermarket mods. It doesn't mean Merc, BMW or Audi gets you higher resale. In the first place, the owner already paid a higher price. All dealers want to buy low sell high. Therefore, it doesn't matter what car you drive. You will still get lowballed by a dealer. Btw, my friend got offered paper for his C180 coupe as well. your T5 is a great sleeper car. So much power, such great FC. where to find? don't be sheep like many common folks out there. enjoy ur Volvo. Your friend can probably get a higher value if his is a saloon c class. Ultimately, base on my experience, the depreciation of a car brand like say Jaguar XF @ 220k is same as the depreciation in terms of average dealer offered price of an e class @ 260k. Its a different story if you sell it yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear September 17, 2016 Share September 17, 2016 any rims guru here? XE stock rim is 6.5j x 17 ET 49 using 205/55R17 and recommanded 18" is 7.5j x 18 ET46 using 225/45ZR18 http://www.wheel-size.com/size/jaguar/xe/2016/ Have been to some shops and most just mentioned 5 x 108 and this or that rim will be able to fit. But non of the sales actually mention anything about offsets. If intend to up to 18", will it possible to use a 5 x 108 ET40? how much difference is it between ET 46 and ET40? Thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 17, 2016 Share September 17, 2016 The $1000 accessories, just a quick word with my SE, says can use to get solar film and 'anything off the shelf in showroom like tee shirt etc'. Hmmm... I didnt ask more coz I also not sure if confirm buying. But when I go and sign, I will talk more business liao. haha. I figured '$1000' can buy you what? I think not even enough for aluminium paddle shifters and blacked out side vents. Free servicing is for 5 years -> in the case of the 20d, the service interval is 34,000km or 2 years whichever comes first. I asked my SE, so say 2 years, then u give up to 5 years so how? 2 and half servicing ar? she grinned, said no Dr, it's 3 free servicing in the case of the 20d. haha. 25t interval is 16,000km, nvr really ask how many YET thou. 34k km service intervals are crazy. Prepare for sludging. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xoloto 2nd Gear September 18, 2016 Share September 18, 2016 34k km service intervals are crazy. Prepare for sludging. Yea...reaching 15k soon and intend to change oil outside. Any bro did outside? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X09a_justice 1st Gear September 19, 2016 Share September 19, 2016 (edited) So far I know there are only 3 workshops that are specialized in Volvos, and one of them is pretty F up(integrity and boss attitude), the name starting with M. Like what i mentioned, i'm a car guy, i like to *zheng* my car, be it comestic and performance (A little), Volvo has let me down, the original parts (Spoiler / Cat back muffler / diffuser etc etc) for change are so bloody expensive, while aftermarket parts are SLIGHTLY better, but the price are still crazy with LIMITED choices. Big brands mods? Tom dick and harry workshops are doing it everywhere in sg with more affordable pricings. When you buy the Volvo/ jag / less popular conti brands, its easier as the prices are lower (lower instalments and lower downpay), the depre is lower than the big brands and more worthwhile provided you drive 10 years finish and the car can ORD. However, in reality, most of us here will change cars every few years, maybe average 5 years? When you sell it, even in the open market yourself, you suffer a depre loss that is MUCH higher than the big brands because there is much lesser demand for such brands. You are right dealer buy low sell high, but when you sell it yourself, the direct buyers arent stupid, they know the market *asking* price of your Volvo, so the price is still like hell. My question is, why make your life so stress at the time when you wanna sell your Volvo? My uncle in law took almost 10 months to sell off his 3 years old V60, with a heavy loss in depre, while his previous 2 year old c180 sold in DAYS with miniumum loss in depre (almost straight line). To sum up, the merc cost even less on depre than the v60. Its not about being sheep among the common folks, its about financial management of your wealth afterall, with other factors to consider. I can safely say this will be our first and LAST volvo. Dont get me wrong, I love the car, powerful efficient responsibe AD with good after sales service, but financial wise it does not make sense at least for myself. My 2 cents. you need to join the volvo group chat. there are many options out there. don't get tied down by the AD workshop. Volvo parts are readily available too, unless you are talking about aftermarket mods. It doesn't mean Merc, BMW or Audi gets you higher resale. In the first place, the owner already paid a higher price. All dealers want to buy low sell high. Therefore, it doesn't matter what car you drive. You will still get lowballed by a dealer. Btw, my friend got offered paper for his C180 coupe as well. your T5 is a great sleeper car. So much power, such great FC. where to find? don't be sheep like many common folks out there. enjoy ur Volvo. Edited September 19, 2016 by X09a_justice ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...