SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

On 11/25/2025 at 8:05 PM, Jamesc said:

So many people now on 8 and so congested.

More people go on Singtel/M1 better.

Thank you.

Mai ani leh... my family of 4, 3 on eight. :D 

On 11/25/2025 at 10:59 PM, Jamesc said:

I support. 

Was going to say the exact same thing. 

USA use esim and so many fraud cases.

Hack a phone and all the bank 6 digit verification goes to them.

The real owner don't even know their phones got hacked and bank accounts emptied.

This is why they need to have safety nets in place, as soon as someone tries to swap your eSIM, notification need to be sent.

Anyway Eight decided to do phone verification which they initially indicated. Probably my email to IMDA helped pushed them. All sorted now until the next phone swap :D 

After switching to zero1 on singtel network, the circle line between Serangoon and Tai Seng still don't have that good reception. But better than Eight.

Can stream spotify if u were already on, but watching videos and some stuff can't load at all.

@Lala81 

On 12/1/2025 at 12:37 PM, Lala81 said:

After switching to zero1 on singtel network, the circle line between Serangoon and Tai Seng still don't have that good reception. But better than Eight.

Can stream spotify if u were already on, but watching videos and some stuff can't load at all.

Where are the black spots on the MRT line for Eight?

On 12/1/2025 at 9:55 AM, Beanoyip said:

@Lala81 

Where are the black spots on the MRT line for Eight?

I just take this route often so i notice it lor. I don't take much MRT otherwise.

But sometimes along NS Line the underground part, it's also bit slow.

On 12/1/2025 at 9:37 AM, Lala81 said:

@Lala81 Just switched out of Orange to SingTel. First day travelling on MRT without data constipation. Maybe less crowd due skool holidays. 

On 12/1/2025 at 11:02 AM, Kangadrool said:

@Lala81 Just switched out of Orange to SingTel. First day travelling on MRT without data constipation. Maybe less crowd due skool holidays. 

err orange switch out to even green, sure feel better. 

On 12/5/2025 at 11:13 AM, Voodooman said:

End of an era of cheap mobile plan?

Think Simba will start raising price soon. No more $8 or $10 plan soon. Grab soon while it lasts. 

Can Telco revise sim only plan unilaterally given no contract? 

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/mobile-resellers-face-cost-hikes-telco-consolidation-cuts-bargaining-power

Kinda expecting this, how much money can telco or mvno make with plan as low as $5?

It happened because the proliferation of mvno and the intense pricing cutting to grab market share.

But then the market is only so big and basically is a zero-sum game.

Enjoy it while it lasts.. :D

There is a place for SQ and Skoot.

There is a place for M1 and Lion King and Green and 8 and Hi and Red.

Please don't raise prices.

Edited by Jamesc

On 12/5/2025 at 11:55 AM, Jamesc said:

There is a place for SQ and Skoot.

There is a place for M1 and Lion King and Green and 8 and Hi and Red.

Please don't raise prices.

Since you, and everyone, always skip over Z1, please let that forever be the case for those of us on the dark side 😏😏

On 12/5/2025 at 11:37 AM, Ahwhye said:

Kinda expecting this, how much money can telco or mvno make with plan as low as $5?

It happened because the proliferation of mvno and the intense pricing cutting to grab market share.

But then the market is only so big and basically is a zero-sum game.

Enjoy it while it lasts.. :D

Sad if no more cheap mobile plan below $10.