Voodooman Supersonic July 31, 2021 Share July 31, 2021 37 minutes ago, serenade said: Brompton costs 3X the price. Besides, I don't even know whether this new hobby will be a fad for me and I end up using it 1X a month. Like my golf clubs. Brompton is likely to continue to sell out next year due to the long waitlist. It might cost you less to buy/ sell a Bromption vis-a-vis a 360 or Pikes if you decided this is not for you after 3 months. The issue is getting your hands on a reasonably priced Brompton. I picked up cycling 2-3 months ago. Loving it. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged July 31, 2021 Share July 31, 2021 4 minutes ago, Voodooman said: The issue is getting your hands on a reasonably priced Brompton. Basic USED model should be abt $2500 or so.. some are asking higher due to the limited color like desert sands/Sage Green (these 2 year ard 2013/2014).. of cos limited edition another story. Brand New "parallel import" S6L price hoover ard $3100.. Used 2019/2020 ard $3000.. standard edition lah.. Get 6 speed as easier to resell.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic July 31, 2021 Share July 31, 2021 36 minutes ago, inlinesix said: My fren bought used 3 spd Brompton. Rode a few mths. Sold it away and bought 6 spd Brompton. Did your fren share with you on the reason behind the switch? I'd go for more gear as well...recently sold one bike with 7 gears but 2 were noisy...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged July 31, 2021 Share July 31, 2021 2 hours ago, serenade said: I am thinking of getting a foldie with the Sturmey-Archer 6-speed gear system. Is it true that these gears are easier to maintain, and better when need to place bike flat in car boot after folding? My mileage will not be high. Just weekend rides of 20km - 30km along park connectors and the Green Corridor. No intention to go off-road at all. Advice appreciated. Curious why you fixated on getting a foldie with the internal gear system. If you not willing to splurge to get a Brompton but getting a Pikes or 3sixty, can always change to higher end Shimano groupset such as 105 or Tiagra for better performance. There is not much maintenance work except for occasional cleaning and greasing, a few times a year will do. It makes more sense considering that you are leisure cyclist. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 31, 2021 Share July 31, 2021 32 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Did your fren share with you on the reason behind the switch? I'd go for more gear as well...recently sold one bike with 7 gears but 2 were noisy...😁 Itchy backside. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic July 31, 2021 Share July 31, 2021 32 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: Basic USED model should be abt $2500 or so.. some are asking higher due to the limited color like desert sands/Sage Green (these 2 year ard 2013/2014).. of cos limited edition another story. Brand New "parallel import" S6L price hoover ard $3100.. Used 2019/2020 ard $3000.. standard edition lah.. Get 6 speed as easier to resell.. Yes, crazy 7 years old bike asking for $2k plus. I don't understand this phenomenon at all but i think it is like cars and properties now, the rich just have nowhere to spend. Already skipped 3-4 family holidays and saving $100-200k? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged July 31, 2021 Share July 31, 2021 5 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Yes, crazy 7 years old bike asking for $2k plus. I don't understand this phenomenon at all but i think it is like cars and properties now, the rich just have nowhere to spend. Yes a year ago I sold my 2014 desert sand for $3250 (sold in an hour). another 2015 P bar for $3000 (sold within 2 hours).. Recently sold a 2016 2 speed Black Edition for just $2700 just getting longer to sell.. a month after posting.. Brompton price had soften oredi.. with Pikes and 3Sixty filling the price gap.. Anyway many bought and then realize cycling not for them.. so alot of very good condition brompton are in the mkt. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 5, 2021 Share August 5, 2021 8.8 promotion. Cheapest ever I had seen for a 3sixty at $779! https://shopee.sg/3sixty-3-Speed-S-bar-Folding-Bike-(READY-STOCK)-i.238359698.8705562875?adsid=0&campaignid=0&position=18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 5, 2021 Share August 5, 2021 (edited) 33 minutes ago, Heartlander said: 8.8 promotion. Cheapest ever I had seen for a 3sixty at $779! https://shopee.sg/3sixty-3-Speed-S-bar-Folding-Bike-(READY-STOCK)-i.238359698.8705562875?adsid=0&campaignid=0&position=18 We spend $100k, $200k to buy car, yet we think so hard when buying a $1k bicycle , no need to wait for sales lah, some more $1k can bring a lot of happiness every time you bring it out for cycling. 😀😀 Edited August 5, 2021 by Ct3833 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 5, 2021 Share August 5, 2021 12 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: We spend $100k, $200k to buy car, yet we think so hard when buying a $1k bicycle , no need to wait for sales lah, some more $1k can give bring a lot of happiness every time you bring it out for cycling. 😀😀 This is about $200 saving leh. Peanuts for you but can get 20kg of MSW for nothing for some of us leh why not haha. The lobang is more for those sitting at the fence thinking when to plunge, more of a timing thing. I already got a cheapo foldie waiting to ship from Guangzhou to slap with Tiagra parts for now. Would have got it otherwise as still find Brompton too much to splurge on despite sure to put it to good use as cycle for many many years already. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 5, 2021 Share August 5, 2021 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Heartlander said: This is about $200 saving leh. Peanuts for you but can get 20kg of MSW for nothing for some of us leh why not haha. The lobang is more for those sitting at the fence thinking when to plunge, more of a timing thing. I already got a cheapo foldie waiting to ship from Guangzhou to slap with Tiagra parts for now. Would have got it otherwise as still find Brompton too much to splurge on despite sure to put it to good use as cycle for many many years already. haha mai angry lah, joking only. But seriously, $1k is monthly installment of many people, month in month out, $1k. every month can buy 1 new bicycle 😀 Edited August 5, 2021 by Ct3833 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 7, 2021 Share August 7, 2021 On 8/5/2021 at 10:17 PM, Ct3833 said: We spend $100k, $200k to buy car, yet we think so hard when buying a $1k bicycle , no need to wait for sales lah, some more $1k can bring a lot of happiness every time you bring it out for cycling. 😀😀 Below is what I could get for $100. $200 is two time the quantity haha. No extra effort required if timing is right. I am sure all of us experience some sort of good deal because of good timings before eg buy house buy car buy share etc when price is still low. The feeling is really good lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged August 8, 2021 Share August 8, 2021 I have been hearing that Brompton is good because it is relatively maintenance free due largely to its internal gear hub. But not really true. The local video make the maintenance part look more of a nightmare than traditional foldie or road bike or mtb due to its chainset design. And worst is the ancient v-brake/caliper brake instead of disc brakes which even most cheap bikes also come with nowadays that make it easy to remove the wheels for cleaning and what not beside the performance advantage.. I would think average Brompton owner would not bother to do it anyway. I would encourage Brompton bike owners to watch the whole video to understand more about their bikes anyway even if they are not going to get their hands dirty. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 8, 2021 Share August 8, 2021 51 minutes ago, Heartlander said: The local video make the maintenance part look more of a nightmare than traditional foldie or road bike or mtb due to its chainset design. Honestly I see that he is not a competent mechanic.. I din watch the full video but i see his bike not totally stock and the way he remove the chain n such wrong method.. I work with my brompton and the only part i cannot do is the SA internal hub.. the rest is just straight forward; of cos assuming one is capable.. if not let the bike mechanic earn his living.. As for brake i choose caliper brake over disc brake anytime.. caliper is easy to modulate when braking and tuning/adjusting is way easier than a disc brake bike.. just sharing my experience.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2021 Share August 8, 2021 1 hour ago, Heartlander said: I have been hearing that Brompton is good because it is relatively maintenance free due largely to its internal gear hub. But not really true. The local video make the maintenance part look more of a nightmare than traditional foldie or road bike or mtb due to its chainset design. And worst is the ancient v-brake/caliper brake instead of disc brakes which even most cheap bikes also come with nowadays that make it easy to remove the wheels for cleaning and what not beside the performance advantage.. I would think average Brompton owner would not bother to do it anyway. I would encourage Brompton bike owners to watch the whole video to understand more about their bikes anyway even if they are not going to get their hands dirty. Under the previous AD, there are about 4 bike maintenance classes a year. To clean chain, simi degreaser also no need la. Pour mama lemon on a wet cloth. Run chain over the wet cloth. After that, use a wet cloth to remove mama lemon. In terms of brake, cable-actuated disc brake is the worst in terms of brake modulation. It is either rim brake or hydraulic disc brake. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2021 Share August 8, 2021 22 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: Honestly I see that he is not a competent mechanic.. I din watch the full video but i see his bike not totally stock and the way he remove the chain n such wrong method.. I work with my brompton and the only part i cannot do is the SA internal hub.. the rest is just straight forward; of cos assuming one is capable.. if not let the bike mechanic earn his living.. As for brake i choose caliper brake over disc brake anytime.. caliper is easy to modulate when braking and tuning/adjusting is way easier than a disc brake bike.. just sharing my experience.. Nowadays, Brompton chain is using quick-link. For DIY, need another extra tool that is not used regularly. Might as well give it to a Bike shop to do it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 8, 2021 Share August 8, 2021 15 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Might as well give it to a Bike shop to do it. Ya loh.. some change tires oso need help.. some extreme de pump air oso need help.. That’s why i think brompton keep it simple using schrader valve as stock. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 8, 2021 Share August 8, 2021 18 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: Ya loh.. some change tires oso need help.. some extreme de pump air oso need help.. That’s why i think brompton keep it simple using schrader valve as stock. My friend bought a used Brompton. She called me as there is a problem with the tire pump. I was surprised that her bike tube is Presta. To remove Brompton rear tire is not that complicated except need to know how to remove the internal hub pin. For my road bike, I avoid ownself change tire or tube. Need to use hand power to remove tire from carbon rim ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...