OFFICIAL: Tesla Singapore Discussion

dudez7

On 1/25/2024 at 10:48 PM, hansmith said:

EV manufacturers are running up into the wall of less and less buyers left who wants to buy an EV.

The fact is that most people are not keen on EVs (yet?) and will stick to their ICE cars for whatever reason it is. Charging time, infrastructure, high road taxes (in SG) etc.

I do wish Singapore would not force hybrids and EVs on car buyers in Singapore (2040) and let them make their own decision freely.

Maybe u turn? EU can also u turn and Singapore has no choice to follow suit. 

On 1/26/2024 at 2:27 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

this is the pre-facelift model.. or the current Model Y.

the Highland Model 3's interior is somewhat the same, but is a tad nicer.

Steering wheel is nicer, got mood light strips, and *gasp* no signal stalks.

the front lamps are less frog like; in fact it looks sleek and very nice.

rear look is also nicer.

The biggest draw for me will be the price/performance ratio.

Overall i quite like the Highland, but not the pre-facelift and the current Model Y.

But I dun like it (or any EV at this point of time) enough to want to buy it.

Highland turn signals buttons on the wheel. Looks like will be like bmw drivers and hardly use the signal. 
don’t know if I would get used to this. 

On 1/23/2024 at 8:32 PM, Sturtles said:

Let me give this a shot.

Buying direct from the manufacturers, eg. Tesla, there is $0 profit margin.

Buying from AD, eg. Sime Darby for BYD, there is ~60-80% of OMV as margin

In UK, the base Tesla 3 and BYD Seal costs about the same.

Locally,

Base Tesla 3 OMV - $64k/$210k w COE,

Base BYD Seal OMV - $41k/$213k w COE

Bro, a bit wrong liao if you are talking about Tesla Model 3 RWD's OMV. The latest facelifted basic Model 3's OMV is only about $47k, not $64k. 

On 1/26/2024 at 8:19 PM, Mkl22 said:

Highland turn signals buttons on the wheel. Looks like will be like bmw drivers and hardly use the signal. 

This one actually acceptable to me. In fact I find it quite nice to have a signal button instead of the stick, you know like motorbike push button left/right for signalling.

I am more concern of the changing gear in the touchscreen thing. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/26/2024 at 7:40 PM, Tianmo said:

Tesla got door step servicing service? At a extra cost I suppose, I don't think Tesla will provide such service FOB, Tesla is like a you want you pay kind of company to me. 

But how you know your friend model 3 until now zero problem? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

we discuss alot about cars😂

On 1/26/2024 at 8:26 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Bro, a bit wrong liao if you are talking about Tesla Model 3 RWD's OMV. The latest facelifted basic Model 3's OMV is only about $47k, not $64k. 

Sure…

I just did a quick estimate for the post.. could have missed out the 20% customs duty

Did a reverse search and it’s about 59k in 2022

IMG_2732.jpeg

IMG_2733.jpeg

On 1/26/2024 at 8:30 PM, Tianmo said:

This one actually acceptable to me. In fact I find it quite nice to have a signal button instead of the stick, you know like motorbike push button left/right for signalling.

I am more concern of the changing gear in the touchscreen thing. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I thought you can use the bypass on the roof?

On 1/26/2024 at 8:42 PM, Mkl22 said:

I thought you can use the bypass on the roof?

I am not too sure about it, if I read or understand correctly, the bypass on the roof will only appear when the touchscreen fail. But I also read somewhere that when you double press something they will light up for use, otherwise they are hidden. 

KNN, why can't they just have the buttons instead. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/26/2024 at 8:39 PM, Sturtles said:

Sure…

I just did a quick estimate for the post.. could have missed out the 20% customs duty

Did a reverse search and it’s about 59k in 2022

IMG_2732.jpeg

IMG_2733.jpeg

$59k is the pre-facelift's OMV. See below, there's 2 used facelifted Model 3s on sgcarmart already. 

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1266492&DL=4463

image.thumb.png.38ef147a14e42dd0edb19e4ca89b6f28.png

On 1/26/2024 at 9:04 PM, Lethalstrike said:

$59k is the pre-facelift's OMV. See below, there's 2 used facelifted Model 3s on sgcarmart already. 

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1266492&DL=4463

image.thumb.png.38ef147a14e42dd0edb19e4ca89b6f28.png

Dang… this guy lost like 45k in just a month due to the COE drop.

That said, the Vehicle subtotal on Tesla’s site seem to suggest they baked in a profit Margin, maybe ard 10k

On 1/26/2024 at 8:19 PM, Mkl22 said:

Actually I find it quite ok, can get used to it very fast. Quite intuitive to use.

in my current car, many also complain the column mounted paddle shifters are very “zhor deng” in the way and blocking the signal stalks, but with my short fingers I still can signal 😝

On 1/26/2024 at 9:22 PM, Sturtles said:

That said, the Vehicle subtotal on Tesla’s site seem to suggest they baked in a profit Margin, maybe ard 10k

If the mileage is to be believed, its almost like after taking delivery immediately dump it to used car dealer liao 🤣

On 1/26/2024 at 8:30 PM, Tianmo said:

There’s a failsafe button at the cabin lights there, in case the screen blanks out. The SA will show u one 🤓

On 1/26/2024 at 9:00 PM, Tianmo said:

I am not too sure about it, if I read or understand correctly, the bypass on the roof will only appear when the touchscreen fail. But I also read somewhere that when you double press something they will light up for use, otherwise they are hidden. 

KNN, why can't they just have the buttons instead. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

It’s avail all the time. Just touch or wave there.

use KY to make it more smooth and the car will let out a fart sound. 🤪

On 1/26/2024 at 9:22 PM, Sturtles said:

Dang… did Tesla take its buyers on a ride!?!?! 😳😮😧😵💫🤭

On 1/26/2024 at 9:58 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Actually I find it quite ok, can get used to it very fast. Quite intuitive to use.

in my current car, many also complain the column mounted paddle shifters are very “zhor deng” in the way and blocking the signal stalks, but with my short fingers I still can signal 😝

Problem is when steering wheel is 180 degree (roundabout, half full lock etc), the signal buttons changed from left to right side, your hand used to signal changed from left to right, and buttons orientation becomes upside down. I will need to think and look down for a sec if I just want to signal while the wheel is turned in such a state. 🤣

I've asked Tesla's SA during the test drive and she mentioned "Oh, you will get used to it...." Inside I'm thinking like Elon Musk playing the cost cutting game too far liao lah. 

On 1/26/2024 at 10:03 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Problem is when steering wheel is 180 degree (roundabout, half full lock etc), the signal buttons changed from left to right side, your hand used to signal changed from left to right, and buttons orientation becomes upside down. I will need to think and look down for a sec if I just want to signal while the wheel is turned in such a state. 🤣

I've asked Tesla's SA during the test drive and she mentioned "Oh, you will get used to it...." Inside I'm thinking like Elon Musk playing the cost cutting game too far liao lah. 

Hmm I didn’t think of that.

i don’t really recall a situation where I had to signal when the steering is 180 or even 90 degree 🫣

but for changing gear while steering is turned, it is possible.. that’s why a fixed column paddle shifter is better so that drivers always know where the - and + is. 

On 1/26/2024 at 10:03 PM, Lethalstrike said:

Ferrari has removed stalks long ago.

Maybe ask Ferrari owner