The Perfect Storm of the Stock Market III

On 10/25/2023 at 2:47 PM, Lala81 said:

Should there be a preference for the bank stocks instead of REITs? Though the bank share prices are much more resilient.
At least until the Fed really starts easing off.

The preference for bank stock instead of Reits is like mee rebus and mee siam.

bank stocks are not necessarily more resilient.  Whether or not the fed eases off.  Also to note that Reits are more income by nature as they must pay out 90%.  Banks dont hv to pay out a cent if they dont want to.  

Therefore the preference is really dependant on each individual’s view of the security versus thier needs.

So my take is why not hv both mee rebus and mee siam if you can

On 10/25/2023 at 12:40 PM, Throttle2 said:

As mentioned the market is sentimental and oversold.  
especially for the blue chip REITs, the playbook is different. 
shot down 2% is the tail end of the late comers. 
they sell i buy. 

i see the Dividend rate as firmly above 5.5%pa.  Moreover its paid on a qtrly basis, so MLT still represents good value. 

think of it this way, if you buy a 10yr bond giving you 5%++ ytm, you will have to commit $250k and only rec coupon semi annual.

you buy this, you can buy in various quantities and timing to build up to $250k. You can also sell in small quantities as you wish. 
Sure, divs are never guaranteed however if you look at this one, pretty rock solid lah.  Thats why blue chip REITs are ok to buy just like decent bonds, in a high rate environment.   As long as you are not seeking quick gains and borrowing to invest.  

No need to listen to simi youtube Guru, inside MCF already got many gurus (real millionaire type)  not the half past six types 

🤣😂😁😎👍👌💪👏🏻

Property sky high price everyone also buy buy buy. Blue chip REIT discounted price nobody dare to buy?? Sibey funny :D

On 10/25/2023 at 3:55 PM, Yeshe said:

Property sky high price everyone also buy buy buy. Blue chip REIT discounted price nobody dare to buy?? Sibey funny :D

Hard vs Soft asset ... people pay 2x premium for Hard ... 

kopitiam uncle says ... property cui ... still got the property to live ... can see, can touch, can sleep

reit cui ... you got nothing ... fugazi fugasee

There is an element of need in property purchases as buyers need them to live in versus Reit buying.

one thing for sure is that Markets are efficient enough to move in a manner that will reflect value given sufficient time.

as an investment, properties are simply becoming less meaningful versus blue chip reits in the current environment.  

There is an element of need in property purchases as buyers need them to live in versus Reit buying.

one thing for sure is that Markets are efficient enough to move in a manner that will reflect value given sufficient time.

as an investment, properties are simply becoming less meaningful versus blue chip reits in the current environment.  

On 10/25/2023 at 4:05 PM, Wt_know said:

Hard vs Soft asset ... people pay 2x premium for Hard ... 

kopitiam uncle says ... property cui ... still got the property to live ... can see, can touch, can sleep

reit cui ... you got nothing ... fugazi fugasee

If blue chip REIT cui until got nothing, what will happen to hard assets? :D

On 10/25/2023 at 7:26 PM, Yeshe said:

If blue chip REIT cui until got nothing, what will happen to hard assets? :D

Blue chip REITs are basically also hard asset at the end of the day , so cui until nothing means the hard assets are priced at nothing.   
if hard assets like property and land can priced at nothing, then i think its worth the while to take a bet on . 

On 10/26/2023 at 10:06 AM, Throttle2 said:

good mah, they sell, you can buy cheap

i'm on a slide ... keep buying, keep going down ... [bigcry] 

no brake, no ABS, nothing ... 

c09.jpg

On 10/26/2023 at 11:04 AM, Wt_know said:

i'm on a slide ... keep buying, keep going down ... [bigcry] 

no brake, no ABS, nothing ... 

c09.jpg

no such thing, just remember its greed versus fear.  we hv to manage both.  

But if you hv Singpost, then i feel sorry lah….

On 10/26/2023 at 11:14 AM, Throttle2 said:

Got scuba gear means confirm no problem

those swim naked ... nothing left ... everything drop ...

sifu suit up dive in and SAPU ALL ... don't play play

On 10/26/2023 at 11:14 AM, Throttle2 said:

Got scuba gear means confirm no problem

limited oxygen supply....in the end also die

😓

On 10/26/2023 at 11:24 AM, Enye said:

limited oxygen supply....in the end also die

😓

Get snorkel wont die lah, can breathe even with head submerged. 

win liao.  

On 10/26/2023 at 9:14 PM, Wt_know said:

wah ... SC jit dong jeng ... another CS in the making? [sly]  [sweatdrop] 

2023-10-26_211347.jpg

Hopefully chwui more. Never see SCB up before.

But chwui also impact Singaporeans, becos Temasek has major stake. Damn KNN.

Edited by Throttle2