Kyoto travel tips needed - baby in tow

therock

On 12/9/2024 at 9:32 AM, Spidey10 said:

-13 is no joke.....i was there a couple of yrs ago, it was 0 degrees and it was brutal....somehow, i find korea "cold" is colder than japan "cold"....ahha

but the Scandinavian artic cold is another level...:grin:

Was in Finland -20c. Balls freeze. 😝

On 12/9/2024 at 2:14 PM, Jman888 said:

this is the santa claus village at Rovaniemi (artic circle)  i download the photo from the video live stream as of now, -5 deg only, it has been 0 to -5 (max) for past few days, no heavy snow as you can see there is not much snow on  floor nor the rooftop. The truck in the video i think is unloading the 'snowman' which i think not enough snow to build one there [laugh]

WhatsApp Image 2024-12-09 at 2.04.12 PM.jpeg

Went there before my kid entered primary school.... Are those snowman stryofoam ones from China? 😉

PS heading to Kyoto first time after X'mas. Appreciate any tips here. 

Edited by Volvobrick

On 12/9/2024 at 2:14 PM, Jman888 said:

this is the santa claus village at Rovaniemi (artic circle)  i download the photo from the video live stream as of now, -5 deg only, it has been 0 to -5 (max) for past few days, no heavy snow as you can see there is not much snow on the floor nor the rooftop. The truck in the video i think is unloading the 'snowman' which i think not enough snow to build one there [laugh]

WhatsApp Image 2024-12-09 at 2.04.12 PM.jpeg

fren in Tepsa, Sirkka and Ivalo...saw the pictures, snow everywhere....they were at a ski resort as well....snowing and the night scene was nice, with the lights..and could see a faint aurora  

On 12/9/2024 at 2:16 PM, Volvobrick said:

Went there before my kid entered primary school.... Are those snowman stryofoam ones from China? 😉

kyoto should be ewasy to move about...since there, might as well visit Osaka, Kobe and Nara....

On 12/9/2024 at 2:28 PM, Spidey10 said:

kyoto should be ewasy to move about...since there, might as well visit Osaka, Kobe and Nara....

Yes half Kyoto half Osaka. Probably go Nara again.

On 12/9/2024 at 2:30 PM, Volvobrick said:

Yes half Kyoto half Osaka. Probably go Nara again.

and you see half the sporean population there too...:grin:...enjoy yr trip..

On 12/9/2024 at 3:16 PM, Volvobrick said:

Lots of Ang mo there now. Cause many YouTuber promote the place. 
I was there 10years ago and was slightly crowded. Then back in Dec2022 when the borders were just opened. Not so many tourist yet. Was rather pleasant at the bridge near the monkey park. But seeing the videos now. It a bloody zoo. I dare not go.  
so for sure you will shout KNN Siam la…..😝

jokes aside. It will be crowded and have to squeeze. As usual use Google maps and use the train and normal commuter buses to get around. I remembered I mixed train and bus and got around a bit faster and less crowded than taking the standard bus that looped around. But of course hopping on one bus and just following thru is easier. With Japan google maps are the way to go with bus schedules and all. also eat outside of the peaks. Maybe a brunch and an early dinner. Most places will have to wait like Siao. 

I also never bothered with move hotels and just plonked myself in Osaka. Kyoto is but just a 30min ride from Osaka main station. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 12/9/2024 at 2:55 PM, Mkl22 said:

I was there 10years ago and was slightly crowded. Then back in Dec2022 when the borders were just opened. Not so many tourist yet. Was rather pleasant at the bridge near the monkey park. But seeing the videos now. It a bloody zoo. I dare not go.  

jokes aside. It will be crowded and have to squeeze. As usual use Google maps and use the train and normal commuter buses to get around. I remembered I mixed train and bus and got around a bit faster and less crowded than taking the standard bus that looped around. But of course hopping on one bus and just following thru is easier. With Japan google maps are the way to go with bus schedules and all. also eat outside of the peaks. Maybe a brunch and an early dinner. Most places will have to wait like Siao. 

I also never bothered with move hotels and just plonked myself in Osaka. Kyoto is but just a 30min ride from Osaka main station. 

talking bout the crowd...wife was there mid of the year and didn't like it....full of China tourist and was very rude and loud.. says not going to Osaka.

Yes, it's pack...sea of pple. 

Don't expect to take nice shots at the bamboo garden..it's pack with pple and spoil your photos..:grin:

Edited by Spidey10

On 12/9/2024 at 3:18 PM, Spidey10 said:

talking bout the crowd...wife was there mid of the year and didn't like it....full of China tourist and was very rude and loud.. says not going to Osaka.

Don't expect to take nice shots at the bamboo garden..it's pack with pple and spoil your photos..:grin:

Osaka isn't that crowded compared to kyoto. Anyway that's relative to japan. 

Osaka is big enough to find more eating spots than kyoto. Kyoto really quite hard to find a restaurant at meal time especially around kyoto station. 

On 12/9/2024 at 2:51 PM, Spidey10 said:

and you see half the sporean population there too...:grin:...enjoy yr trip..

Singaporeans keep to themselves. We all recognise the accent and just at most smile or don't even acknowledge.

My wife got a mostly unused pack of deer crackers from a SG man at Nara. 

On 12/9/2024 at 1:28 PM, Zxcvb said:

Home to Toyota. Legoland Japan. Nagoya Aquarium with killer whales. WRC rally every November. The city, shopping and food very similar to what you'll find in Tokyo and Osaka. Just alot less crowded and bestest is you won't bump into any fellow Singaporeans here. 🤫

1 day I'll go just for the Orca. I just found out that day when my friend mentioned they going nagoya for 1-2 days.

On 12/9/2024 at 9:10 AM, Lala81 said:

Isn't it better to be warmer than colder lol. 

But you want a white winter... I mean for us tourists that's what we pay to see... for the locals, I think they prefer less snow but it also doesn't bode well cos the effects of climate change is very obvious...

On 12/9/2024 at 1:16 PM, Volvobrick said:

Won't snow much lar... don't worry... only north of Tokyo will snow like crazy... the cities will snow only for short periods and the next day, when the sun is up, it will usually all melt and leave the scum along the sides of the pavements... unless got cold snap... then you're on your own bro!

Edited by teomingern

On 12/9/2024 at 1:55 PM, Mkl22 said:

Totally agree... just bite the bullet and take day trips out... and suck up the crowds... I avoid having visited once... that's enough...

On 12/9/2024 at 2:18 PM, Spidey10 said:

You never see all the shots at the Arashimaya Bamboo Grove all point upwards one meh? Cos that cuts out the heaving sea of humans on the path... wah ha ha... same same for me last year... so many people taking multiple shots with multiple poses individually then switching over one by one in their groups just for posting on social media... I almost take their phones and throw into the bamboo forest... especially those with extra elaborate selfie sticks  sheesh...

On 12/9/2024 at 2:43 PM, Lala81 said:

Osaka isn't that crowded compared to kyoto. Anyway that's relative to japan. 

Osaka is big enough to find more eating spots than kyoto. Kyoto really quite hard to find a restaurant at meal time especially around kyoto station. 

Agree... Tokyo is another level crowded...

On 12/9/2024 at 2:45 PM, Lala81 said:

Singaporeans keep to themselves. We all recognise the accent and just at most smile or don't even acknowledge.

My wife got a mostly unused pack of deer crackers from a SG man at Nara. 

Yeah I wonder why eh? I will try to say hello and acknowledge at least lor...