smoky vehicles...

Wind30

am I the only one ecnountering vehicles spewing insane amount of smoke on the roads? No right? Maybe I am the only boliao enough the pull the footage of the car cam...

Why isn't the gov doing something about this? Isn't it like a simple fix? The first traffic police vehicle should pull this guy off the road and give him a fine/warning. How can this guy drive around with no penalty? To me it is a simple fix and yet this problem has been around for many years...

Or is that amount of smoke within regulation?

Edited by Wind30

Since u hv the video clip on hand already, just take one more step

NEA go to [Feedback: Online feedback form]

Report an incident

Members of the public who spot smoky vehicles or idling engines are encouraged to report them to NEA, providing details such as the vehicle registration number, location, date and time of the incident via the channels listed below.

• MyENV Mobile App: iPhone/Android

Download the following brochures for more details:

Brochure for smoky vehicle [PDF, 3MB]     

Brochure for idling engine pamphlet [PDF, 1MB]          

On 11/9/2023 at 12:46 PM, Wind30 said:

am I the only one ecnountering vehicles spewing insane amount of smoke on the roads? No right? Maybe I am the only boliao enough the pull the footage of the car cam...

Why isn't the gov doing something about this? Isn't it like a simple fix? The first traffic police vehicle should pull this guy off the road and give him a fine/warning. How can this guy drive around with no penalty? To me it is a simple fix and yet this problem has been around for many years...

Or is that amount of smoke within regulation?

white smoke is usually due to engine blown gasket, those are steam.

sooner or later, the engine will overheat and stall when all the water in the radiator is gone.

Edited by Kb27

On 11/9/2023 at 1:08 PM, Kb27 said:

white smoke is usually engine blown gasket.

sooner or later, the engine will overheat and stall when all the water in the radiator is gone.

Does that mean it is non pollutant? I don't know the difference between white and black smoke.

It smelled bad when some of it got into my car though the air con....

On 11/9/2023 at 1:05 PM, Mits_jc said:

Since u hv the video clip on hand already, just take one more step

NEA go to [Feedback: Online feedback form]

Report an incident

Members of the public who spot smoky vehicles or idling engines are encouraged to report them to NEA, providing details such as the vehicle registration number, location, date and time of the incident via the channels listed below.

• MyENV Mobile App: iPhone/Android

Download the following brochures for more details:

Brochure for smoky vehicle [PDF, 3MB]     

Brochure for idling engine pamphlet [PDF, 1MB]          

"Smoky vehicles

Under the Environmental Protection and Management (Vehicular Emissions) Regulations, it is an offence for any vehicle to emit smoke while on the road. Owners of smoky vehicles can be fined up to $2,000 for the first offence and $5,000 for subsequent offences, if convicted in court. 

NEA takes stringent enforcement action against smoky vehicles on the roads. Owners of smoky vehicles will be required to send their vehicles for smoke emission inspection at the authorised vehicle inspection centres and the owners will be fined if the vehicle fails the inspection. In addition, the owners will be required to rectify and send their vehicles for a re-inspection which they must pass before the vehicle will be allowed on the road."

Does it mean if I complain, NEA ask the owner to send the vehicle down for inspection and the owners only get fined if it fails inspection??? where is the deterrent? I mean the owner obviously will fix the vehicle before inspection... Maybe that is why these smoky vehicles are so blatant.... no need to fix until inspection time. why must wait for public complain before you pull the car off the road?

I mean that car is not hiding its smoke or anything, you can see it from a mile away. 

Edited by Wind30

On 11/9/2023 at 1:15 PM, Wind30 said:

"Smoky vehicles

Under the Environmental Protection and Management (Vehicular Emissions) Regulations, it is an offence for any vehicle to emit smoke while on the road. Owners of smoky vehicles can be fined up to $2,000 for the first offence and $5,000 for subsequent offences, if convicted in court. 

NEA takes stringent enforcement action against smoky vehicles on the roads. Owners of smoky vehicles will be required to send their vehicles for smoke emission inspection at the authorised vehicle inspection centres and the owners will be fined if the vehicle fails the inspection. In addition, the owners will be required to rectify and send their vehicles for a re-inspection which they must pass before the vehicle will be allowed on the road."

Does it mean if I complain, NEA ask the owner to send the vehicle down for inspection and the owners only get fined if it fails inspection??? where is the deterrent? I mean the owner obviously will fix the vehicle before inspection... Maybe that is why these smoky vehicles are so blatant.... no need to fix until inspection time. why must wait for public complain before you pull the car off the road?

I mean that car is not hiding its smoke or anything, you can see it from a mile away. 

If it's fixed then what's the problem? Do you think they are emitting smoke on purpose? (Like change exhaust?)

On 11/9/2023 at 1:19 PM, Benarsenal said:

If it's fixed then what's the problem? Do you think they are emitting smoke on purpose? (Like change exhaust?)

?? I mean the vehicles owners are NOT fixing it until people complain or inspection time. Do u think that vehicle just started emitting smoke today? Of course, I don't know when the vehicle had smoke issues but if I want to bet, it is not today, or yesterday or the day before yesterday.

There must be laws and enforcement to make sure owners fix/maintain their vehicles properly and promptly. 

Edited by Wind30

On 11/9/2023 at 1:12 PM, Wind30 said:

Does that mean it is non pollutant? I don't know the difference between white and black smoke.

Last time my van started to emit white smoke, I had to top up the radiator water regularly.

It's expensive to do a "top overhaul", aka replace the head gasket. So I use those magic liquid to seal the head gasket. https://barsleaks.com/product/head-gasket-sealant-1100/

That stop the water leakage, and white smoke, until I scrapped it.

https://rislone.com/blog/engine-oil/how-to-diagnose-and-stop-smoke-in-your-exhaust/#:~:text=This generally happens because of,serious damage to your engine.

On 11/9/2023 at 1:23 PM, Wind30 said:

?? I mean the vehicles owners are NOT fixing it until people complain or inspection time. Do u think that vehicle just started emitting smoke today? Of course, I don't know when the vehicle had smoke issues but if I want to bet, it is not today, or yesterday or the day before yesterday.

There must be laws and enforcement to make sure owners fix/maintain their vehicles properly and promptly. 

I'd give them benefit of the doubt, but you already have the evidence so you can do something about it (report to the authorities).

You can't expect police/LTA to be around all the time everywhere.

If you see a crime committed, do you complain how come no police around? Just report to the police lah.

On 11/9/2023 at 12:46 PM, Wind30 said:

On 11/9/2023 at 1:12 PM, Wind30 said:

If it had not enter via your aircon, would you be this enthusiastic now I wonder? 🤔

On 11/9/2023 at 1:11 PM, Tohto said:

All our garmen sector nowadays is no complaints no action. 

err...u sure complaint alr will hav action?

Still monitoring....

Edited by zipping

Once upon a time have mobile police. Now they only do escort service. Nobody land, free play till vehicle inspection then service it. 😭

TS, you down here talk so much got what use?

If buay song email LTA and ask them your questions instead. MCF here got what authority? Dont waste your time here.

Just send the video and bao toh the mini bus.

Dont know what the big deal is?

Go to Marina South Pier, look at the ships and boats spewing out black diesel exhaust, they will make this mini bus looks like child's play.

You take planes frequently? Never notice the big airline passenger airplanes' engine spew out exhaust too? The engines are much larger than this minibus. Why you never comprain?

On 11/9/2023 at 1:11 PM, Tohto said:

All our garmen sector nowadays is no complaints no action. 

All our garmen sector nowadays the only they do is closely monitoring and will take action when it is necessary. 😂