MOH to add restrictions on issuing MCs after feedback on doctors giving them excessively

kobayashiGT

On 5/14/2024 at 10:47 PM, 13177 said:

Ya, loyalty and the length in a company does not equal to promotion. So if you tell your boss that you deserve a promotion because you stay in company for very long liao, or 10 years no promotion, it doesn't work anymore.

If 10 yrs no promotion, is either the company fark up, or you fark up, both also means you sld leave and go somewhere else. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/15/2024 at 8:03 AM, Sosaria said:

But still the common factor is that must be able to perform your assigned role at work. Whether a pet or a disliked person. Obviously must be able to do work well otherwise how to become favourite? [laugh]

Promotion numbers are often decided by HR or top management. If the quota is filled, even if all your staff are good, someone has to take the short straw. This is common in large organisations. The immediate boss has little control over the eventual promotions once things go beyond his level.

To become boss favourite/pet, sometimes not mainly due to the performance of the person. But surely that person's performance cannot be too bad la. Even average or slightly average, if the boss like that person face means like that person liao.

I don't know if promotion numbers are determined by certain quota set. But sometimes big boss and top management can decide if that person can promote or not, even his/her immediate boss recommended for the promotion. If the big boss don't agreed, the immediate boss also cannot do anything.

Edited by 13177

On 5/15/2024 at 2:57 PM, Tianmo said:

If 10 yrs no promotion, is either the company fark up, or you fark up, both also means you sld leave and go somewhere else. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Like that what should be the norm of getting promotion in a company? Every 3-4 years ah? But some position maybe already reached max, or next level is some manager post, so the person cannot promote liao unless something is change.

Promotion not always a good thing ah. Just means got more shit to handle.

Best is just pay rise and bonus. Take money can liao.

Fark up still able to find something better? Lucky to be able to stay and being fark up 😆 unfortunately, many fark up still survive, maybe skillful in other ways. 

This is my fav quote!

Ppl are promoted to their highest level of INCOMPETENCE!

IMG_3725.jpeg

On 5/15/2024 at 3:09 PM, 13177 said:

Like that what should be the norm of getting promotion in a company? Every 3-4 years ah? But some position maybe already reached max, or next level is some manager post, so the person cannot promote liao unless something is change.

As a base line, one sld aim to take on new responsibility every 5-6 years, not necessarily by means of a direct vertical promotion. It could be a matrix reporting, lead a new project, internal transfer, etc. 

If die die must be a vertical up then consider promotion, you will either have to wait all your life, or kill your boss. Of course the easiest is to kpkb lor. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

On 5/15/2024 at 4:53 PM, Victor68 said:

Fark up still able to find something better? Lucky to be able to stay and being fark up 😆 unfortunately, many fark up still survive, maybe skillful in other ways. 

Sometimes being fark up at one place is actually just a mismatch, the same fark up fellow may become a star performer in a different sector or department. Not all fark ups fark up everywhere, and of course there are fark ups whom are basically fark ups. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/15/2024 at 4:57 PM, RadX said:

This is my fav quote!

Ppl are promoted to their highest level of INCOMPETENCE!

IMG_3725.jpeg

Yes, this I agree. 

Ppl don't understand that the theory of " the coach must be able to play, but the best player may not be a coach" apply everywhere. 

The best performer may not always be the correct choice as a manager. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 5/15/2024 at 5:08 PM, Tianmo said:

Sometimes being fark up at one place is actually just a mismatch, the same fark up fellow may become a star performer in a different sector or department. Not all fark ups fark up everywhere, and of course there are fark ups whom are basically fark ups. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Yes this can happen. Sometimes it is also people using the wrong tool to do the same job.

On 5/15/2024 at 3:55 PM, Benarsenal said:

Promotion not always a good thing ah. Just means got more shit to handle.

Best is just pay rise and bonus. Take money can liao.

But if only pay rise, then your salary increase quite slow. Unless your pay rise is 10% every year then maybe no need promotion. 😅 But only that pathetic 2-3% increment, work for 20 years salary still very low.

Promotion indeed means handle more 💩 cause need to justify the reason of getting promotion. If no handle more 💩 then what for promote you?! 

No need to see a doctor for MC!

https://mothership.sg/2024/12/dr-kart-vending-machine-doctor-singapore/

Vending machine in Tampines offers 24-hour doctor consultation, MC & medicine dispensation........

Moreover, the consultation is touted as free of charge, but other rates apply.

According to its website, Dr Kart offers expert consultations for a wide range of health concerns, from common flu symptoms to chronic conditions, such as diabetes.

On 12/11/2024 at 7:20 AM, Kopites said:

No need to see a doctor for MC!

https://mothership.sg/2024/12/dr-kart-vending-machine-doctor-singapore/

Vending machine in Tampines offers 24-hour doctor consultation, MC & medicine dispensation........

Moreover, the consultation is touted as free of charge, but other rates apply.

According to its website, Dr Kart offers expert consultations for a wide range of health concerns, from common flu symptoms to chronic conditions, such as diabetes.

More apt to place here

since u boomer I forgive u😂😂 but not too often k?

On 5/15/2024 at 9:18 PM, 13177 said:

But if only pay rise, then your salary increase quite slow. Unless your pay rise is 10% every year then maybe no need promotion. 😅 But only that pathetic 2-3% increment, work for 20 years salary still very low.

Promotion indeed means handle more 💩 cause need to justify the reason of getting promotion. If no handle more 💩 then what for promote you?! 

That is loyalty 😆 jump ship smelly you get 20-30%. Company willing to pay that for someone probably doing less than existing staff. But the hiring officer will try to justify lah. 

If sick just stay home.

Companies shouldn't need MC.

If a staff always keng MC then it's an integrity issue.

Why keep this kind of staff?

I an honestly say I have never taken MC

on a Tues, Wed or Thurs.

I always only take on a Mon and Fri.

Why waste MC mid week when can have long weekends?

Please work smart.

Edited by Jamesc

Coming to 27 years never taken a day mc.. hosp leave no pain😂

at most will be death leaveimage.png.defd013cfa9e5e9723cc14aed30594f0.pngimage.png.c34465edf15b096c6ae56db2d2941455.png