Volvobrick Hypersonic September 6, 2024 Share September 6, 2024 (edited) On 9/6/2024 at 2:37 PM, Beehive3783 said: Ok, fair enough.. but what would you do if an ambulance with lights and sirens blaring pulls up behind you at the red light and you are the first vehicle? It would be very hard for me to decide what to do. Indirectly, a life might be at risk in the ambulance. Just move in front and to the side a bit into the pedestrian crossing lines to give some space without actually going into the middle of the junction. If traffic light cam flashes, it will show you are making way for the emergency vehicle and not actually running through the red light. And it will take a complete idiot at TP to issue you a summon. It's all commonsense lah, both for the driver and the TP. It's like asking the red man at the crossing is on but then there is a ferocious dog coming at you and should you jaywalk to try to escape or wait for the green man.... Edited September 6, 2024 by Volvobrick ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 6, 2024 Share September 6, 2024 On 9/6/2024 at 1:43 AM, Gnahp said: I am familiar with this junction I was there in the morning I'll drive pass this junction quite often also, I think not many will expect there will be people jaywalking at this stretch. At high speed and with a slight bend, I think can't even really see the person. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 6, 2024 Author Share September 6, 2024 (edited) On 9/6/2024 at 11:10 AM, Beehive3783 said: You mean SCDF? No proper guidance given by the authorities to motorists on how to give way to emergency vehicles at a traffic stop. Take the red light stop for example. What happens if the motorists have to run the red light in order to give way? Motorists are scared, it's $400 and 12 points. What if TP decide to fine the motorists anyway, even if they have valid reason to run the red light? LPPL situation. A proper and public directive has to be given on the matter. Also, I feel that emergency vehicle drivers here are too soft and scared to violate traffic laws to get to an emergency. Not sure if it's because of internal directives on proper driving behaviour on the roads or what, or if the drivers are afraid of backlash if some idiot decides to release a dashcam recording of them doing so. Another situation which applies for ambulances with lights on but no sirens. Patient condition has probably stabilised and they are already near the hospital, so no need to continue the 100% rush to hospital, maybe can dial down to 60 or 70% urgency. Lights on but no siren I understand is because when going through residential area and they don't want to create unnecessary noise. Siren here is equivalent to horn, telling people to get the f*ck out of the way urgently. Edited September 6, 2024 by Benarsenal 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 6, 2024 Author Share September 6, 2024 On 9/6/2024 at 2:37 PM, Beehive3783 said: Ok, fair enough.. but what would you do if an ambulance with lights and sirens blaring pulls up behind you at the red light and you are the first vehicle? It would be very hard for me to decide what to do. Indirectly, a life might be at risk in the ambulance. I know the politically correct answer is to stay there and don't move, but will it affect your conscience, knowing that those few seconds might be critical to the patient? Is there a better way to deal with the situation? Perhaps, cross the stop line and move to the side, but not driving across the junction? It seems the rule is quite explicit. Quote Do not break traffic rules (for example, drive through a red light) to give way to an emergency vehicle. In SG, the law > life. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic September 9, 2024 Share September 9, 2024 TP Jailed for 7 Months & Licence ''Guntong'' 8 Years. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 10, 2024 Share September 10, 2024 On 9/10/2024 at 7:05 AM, ER-3682 said: TP Jailed for 7 Months & Licence ''Guntong'' 8 Years. career also gone, this one will be ask to leave or sure to be sacked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 10, 2024 Share September 10, 2024 Going forward, we will see TP with siren riding at 50km/h 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic September 10, 2024 Share September 10, 2024 On 9/10/2024 at 9:15 AM, Dafansu said: career also gone, this one will be ask to leave or sure to be sacked. Comfirmed lah...if TP keep him...how to teach the Public Road Safety.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic September 10, 2024 Share September 10, 2024 On 9/10/2024 at 9:23 AM, inlinesix said: Going forward, we will see TP with siren riding at 50km/h 😂 Also those VVIP OutRiders...no more Zooming from 1 Junction to another Junction in Breakneck Speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 10, 2024 Share September 10, 2024 On 9/6/2024 at 2:59 PM, Volvobrick said: Just move in front and to the side a bit into the pedestrian crossing lines to give some space without actually going into the middle of the junction. If traffic light cam flashes, it will show you are making way for the emergency vehicle and not actually running through the red light. And it will take a complete idiot at TP to issue you a summon. It's all commonsense lah, both for the driver and the TP. It's like asking the red man at the crossing is on but then there is a ferocious dog coming at you and should you jaywalk to try to escape or wait for the green man.... Yes, the traffic cam actually takes 2 shots, one in the middle and one after the yellow box. So as long as the car is not in the middle of the junction, the photo shows empty junction. Regarding giving way at junction, I have done it before, not because I didn't give way, but I was already stopped at the junction turning right. AB came up behind me, lights on, so bright even a blind man can feel it. I signal left, drove up a little to the left, the car to the left actually reversed a little after he understood my intention. After that I kept my right signal on, and the AB actually squeezed up and put on siren. When the lights turned green, nobody on the opposite side moved, and AB with it's lights and siren on went on. After that I turned back, the car behind me didn't kpkb, the car behind the AB also let me back in. Another time I was on the left lane of PIE coming to the merge lane, AB came with lights on from behind. It was morning rush hour, and the road was totally packed, I put on hazard lights and moved to road shoulder to let AB past, everyone in front did the same, if I did not, I think AB likely going onto road shoulder liao. So I think not giving way are just excuses. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 10, 2024 Share September 10, 2024 On 9/7/2024 at 1:10 AM, Benarsenal said: It seems the rule is quite explicit. ADVERTISEMENT In SG, the law > life. I think by the book they have to state it clearly, but I personally believe if it is really the case, chances are likely a warning over an actual punishment. I speak for myself only, that if it was me, and I have to make a decision, with the lights and siren of the AB on, I choose to break the law under safe condition. Appeal later. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...