inlinesix Hypersonic January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 26 minutes ago, Steptronic said: 2. Ez/TnGo card works very well on all Toll Plazas. At Custom, you need to touch like a sponge (really slow) - it works. Maybe he needs https://www.lazada.sg/catalog/?q=touch+n+go++stick&_keyori=ss&from=input&spm=a2o42.store_product.search.go.67e8115fT1Zsn0 ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 59 minutes ago, teomingern said: Just to update... I went into Malaysia a couple of days ago... same same... this time I was very conscious of placing my car at the right spot, and I even looked up and spotted the RFID reader. I enlisted the help of the Customs Officer as well... but no go... my VEP RFID could not be read. At the same time, I forgot to switch on Data Roaming on my phone, so there was no data connection with my mobile phone so that may have affected the deduction. After I cleared the Customs, I fixed my data connection and tried the MyRFID toll booth immediately after the Customs. I again was very careful in placing my car as close to the right as possible but still no go... this time the sign lit up saying 'tiada RFID' which I take to mean no RFID detected. So I reversed out and use the TnG booth... One other note, the EZ-Link X TnG card I bought didn't work with the Road Charge card reader at the Customs. The officer tried as well as it couldn't deduct... weird... so I use the usual Plus TnG card and the deduction was made instantly... too many NFC chips in one card? Next I tried paying for the toll using the same EZ-Link x TnG card and it was able to deduct the toll fare... Conclusion: 1. I need to go to a fitment centre to get my VEP RFID checked. 2. The EZ-Link X TnG card seems to be not so compatible from my experience. Not sure if you have the same experience. I was told by the Malaysian Customs Officer to buy the NFC TnG card on Lazada... I couldn't find it on my app... I suspect he was referring to the Malaysia edition? Anyone knows, cares to share? Thank you! Do they do temperature checks at the land border crossing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 12 minutes ago, Starry said: Do they do temperature checks at the land border crossing? Nope (driving in) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 1 hour ago, teomingern said: I was told by the Malaysian Customs Officer to buy the NFC TnG card on Lazada... I couldn't find it on my app... I suspect he was referring to the Malaysia edition? Anyone knows, cares to share? Thank you! Lazada Msia has an official TnG store. Rm10 + Rm5 delivery to Msian address only. But often quickly sold out when stock is released. Lazada SG has TNG resellers. Premium price Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 1 hour ago, teomingern said: Just to update... I went into Malaysia a couple of days ago... same same... this time I was very conscious of placing my car at the right spot, and I even looked up and spotted the RFID reader. I enlisted the help of the Customs Officer as well... but no go... my VEP RFID could not be read. At the same time, I forgot to switch on Data Roaming on my phone, so there was no data connection with my mobile phone so that may have affected the deduction. After I cleared the Customs, I fixed my data connection and tried the MyRFID toll booth immediately after the Customs. I again was very careful in placing my car as close to the right as possible but still no go... this time the sign lit up saying 'tiada RFID' which I take to mean no RFID detected. So I reversed out and use the TnG booth... One other note, the EZ-Link X TnG card I bought didn't work with the Road Charge card reader at the Customs. The officer tried as well as it couldn't deduct... weird... so I use the usual Plus TnG card and the deduction was made instantly... too many NFC chips in one card? Next I tried paying for the toll using the same EZ-Link x TnG card and it was able to deduct the toll fare... Conclusion: 1. I need to go to a fitment centre to get my VEP RFID checked. 2. The EZ-Link X TnG card seems to be not so compatible from my experience. Not sure if you have the same experience. I was told by the Malaysian Customs Officer to buy the NFC TnG card on Lazada... I couldn't find it on my app... I suspect he was referring to the Malaysia edition? Anyone knows, cares to share? Thank you! dont need any data connection, it's not linked directly to your phone. The EZlink TNG is quite problematic. Not sure about MY side, but I always experienced problem at SG side, out of 5 times maybe only 1 time can work. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 4 hours ago, Steptronic said: 2. Ez/TnGo card works very well on all Toll Plazas. At Custom, you need to touch like a sponge (really slow) - it works. 3. https://www.lazada.sg/catalog/?q=TnGo+card&_keyori=ss&from=input&spm=a2o42.home.search.go.654346b5mJrIbd Oh I see... I tried leh... the Customs Officer also tried... maybe have to approach very slowly... cos he put the card flat on the reader and slide around but still didn't work... so he asked me for another card... weird... and yes definitely works well at the Toll Plazas... that's totally no issue... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 4 hours ago, inlinesix said: Maybe he needs https://www.lazada.sg/catalog/?q=touch+n+go++stick&_keyori=ss&from=input&spm=a2o42.store_product.search.go.67e8115fT1Zsn0 I have no issue reaching the readers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 3 hours ago, Shibadog said: Lazada Msia has an official TnG store. Rm10 + Rm5 delivery to Msian address only. But often quickly sold out when stock is released. Lazada SG has TNG resellers. Premium price Yeah lor... S$26 is the cheapest... I also don't want to pay for that... I guess got to get my Malaysian relatives to help buy... the official store says can buy only 1 card within 6 months of purchasing 1... I wonder if they really enforce it... maybe they don't and that's why got so many scalpers selling on online platforms... otherwise how would these sellers obtain so many cards? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 (edited) 59 minutes ago, teomingern said: Yeah lor... S$26 is the cheapest... I also don't want to pay for that... I guess got to get my Malaysian relatives to help buy... the official store says can buy only 1 card within 6 months of purchasing 1... I wonder if they really enforce it... maybe they don't and that's why got so many scalpers selling on online platforms... otherwise how would these sellers obtain so many cards? Sometime back in Dec 2022, it was shared on another thread, sinopec petrol station in sg sells e new version tng cards (nfc), dunno now still hav stock bo.... Edited January 6, 2023 by zipping 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 1 hour ago, zipping said: Sometime back in Dec 2022, it was shared on another thread, sinopec petrol station in sg sells e new version tng cards (nfc), dunno now still hav stock bo.... Will check out... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 6, 2023 Share January 6, 2023 10 hours ago, zipping said: Sometime back in Dec 2022, it was shared on another thread, sinopec petrol station in sg sells e new version tng cards (nfc), dunno now still hav stock bo.... No more stock. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eternise Neutral Newbie January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 I tried to enter Malaysia today via Woodlands checkpoint to test out a self-affixed VEP tag (on the left headlamp). After passport clearance, I moved the car forward a little (until I am beside the TnG reader) but the gantry did not detect the VEP tag / open by itself so I had to tap my TnG card on the reader. I was wondering if I did not move close enough to the gantry. May I confirm that the car has to move forward quite close to the gantry before the VEP tag can be detected? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 4 hours ago, Eternise said: I tried to enter Malaysia today via Woodlands checkpoint to test out a self-affixed VEP tag (on the left headlamp). After passport clearance, I moved the car forward a little (until I am beside the TnG reader) but the gantry did not detect the VEP tag / open by itself so I had to tap my TnG card on the reader. I was wondering if I did not move close enough to the gantry. May I confirm that the car has to move forward quite close to the gantry before the VEP tag can be detected? The reader is above you... and if your headlights are right under the gantry, it means the VEP RFID tag is beyond the reader already... I also have problem... looks like it's a common problem... yours is brand new but mine is 2019 vintage... same result... sian... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 4 hours ago, Eternise said: I tried to enter Malaysia today via Woodlands checkpoint to test out a self-affixed VEP tag (on the left headlamp). After passport clearance, I moved the car forward a little (until I am beside the TnG reader) but the gantry did not detect the VEP tag / open by itself so I had to tap my TnG card on the reader. I was wondering if I did not move close enough to the gantry. May I confirm that the car has to move forward quite close to the gantry before the VEP tag can be detected? It works for me when i stopped my car right in front of the gantry (reader right on top) where the driver and front seat passenger have access to the card reader. Usually there is a lag of a few seconds before the gantry is lifted. Works most of the time but not all the time. I know one of the RFID readers at Causeway is faulty as the display asked me to tap my TnG card. The last booth on the far right. Did you paste your VEP RFID at least 5cm from any metal parts? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 On 1/6/2023 at 5:51 PM, Dafansu said: dont need any data connection, it's not linked directly to your phone. The EZlink TNG is quite problematic. Not sure about MY side, but I always experienced problem at SG side, out of 5 times maybe only 1 time can work. Time to overhaul the system and call for another tender! 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 4 hours ago, Eternise said: I tried to enter Malaysia today via Woodlands checkpoint to test out a self-affixed VEP tag (on the left headlamp). After passport clearance, I moved the car forward a little (until I am beside the TnG reader) but the gantry did not detect the VEP tag / open by itself so I had to tap my TnG card on the reader. I was wondering if I did not move close enough to the gantry. May I confirm that the car has to move forward quite close to the gantry before the VEP tag can be detected? U received the VEP tag via mail? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eternise Neutral Newbie January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 @Dafansu 5 minutes ago, Dafansu said: U received the VEP tag via mail? Yes I chose the option to have the VEP tag sent to my address in Singapore via mail. And I followed the instructions to affix to the car's left headlamp. Seems like affixing on windscreen is no longer an option now as they want photo evidence of the tag on the left headlamp before they will activate it at the backend system. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 13, 2023 Share January 13, 2023 1 hour ago, Eternise said: @Dafansu Yes I chose the option to have the VEP tag sent to my address in Singapore via mail. And I followed the instructions to affix to the car's left headlamp. Seems like affixing on windscreen is no longer an option now as they want photo evidence of the tag on the left headlamp before they will activate it at the backend system. the photo evidence is standard since they started sending the tag. Make sure your tag is active in your ewallet app also, if not likely detection issue ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...