Mai Tu Liao - Visit a Tu Lou and Have Plenty of Food along the way - 土楼,龙岩 (Long Yan) Fujian, China

therock

This place has many green places, and a marker in the communist party history too where Chairman Mao had his HQ...

But given the lack of time, I'll focus on the Tu Lou

On 11/22/2024 at 8:43 PM, therock said:

So I did ask them about Yong Tau Foo, and they smiled... it's an Nanyang thing... just like chicken rice, it's not from Hainan.. so don't expect Niang Tou Foo over there :D

Niang you foo, you have to go ask in 梅州, cfm have, but of course is not exactly the same as the YTF we have in the coffee shops here. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Tea is also very nice here, but ask the locals for help... prices can vary and you may not know what value to pay...

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_26505.thumb.jpg.be47a29171b2a13b075820817606af10.jpg

Another interesting thing is this car... 

It's a subsidary of SAIC, and has stage 4 autonomous driving..

We were hurtling down the expressway at 120kph, changing lanes by itself...

Premium finish, excellent NVH, road holding and also ride

The law requires you to keep one hand on the wheel, but you can take your hands off for 12secs or so...

My driver was also super chio... looks better than Fan Bing Bing... but won't anyhow post her pic la...

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_26524.thumb.jpg.61a2ad1b34ae21fb1210331d0dbd9ffe.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2651c.thumb.jpg.f65451df42d4533aee30138ab9b8a315.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2651e.thumb.jpg.ddac9f540ecb61de6d09e4883d7358c1.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2651f.thumb.jpg.6399ccb127867036430e78c23ea1dc71.jpg

Edited by therock

A rush to the train station, for the early morning train, then long journey ... 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2658f.thumb.jpg.756059de1039f1c0d031cb1fce55d849.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2658b.thumb.jpg.3265dcfe1d6652dc070c38c01b4cd5f0.jpg

Probably the saddest breakfast thus far..

S$10... on the train

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2658c.thumb.jpg.9cb170eb287c52d40ab8b83e85169804.jpgUNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_26585.thumb.jpg.2524538b941eaa1245bc6d8247ec8944.jpgOYQ8BLpHQw259M03qrJw_thumb_26586.thumb.jpg.3f6d267217af2e9249ec018be9942957.jpg

Edited by therock

Long train ride, and a short plane ride home..

Some thoughts
- I found a ton of new food that I never thought was Hakka in origin, and some of them were stuff I ate in my childhood

- Apart from the Tu Lou, there are many other attractions, green stuff, Long Yan is a place with a lot of greens and not as crowded as some other places

- fly to Xiamen, unless you need or want to go via Beijing / Shanghai or HKG

If you're there on business, don't volunteer that you can drink or you may end up getting very very drunk... I just tell them I can't and I'm working..

EVs there are in a high state of development, and the longer distances don't deter them if there are stops - but YMMV as some places are quite far apart and charging can be tricky

Their trains are impressive, just look out for squatters..

Cash is not king, so be prepared to install some software or bring someone who has WePay or the like... 

Changi has an app that can link up too

On 11/23/2024 at 6:59 PM, Tianmo said:

Niang you foo, you have to go ask in 梅州, cfm have, but of course is not exactly the same as the YTF we have in the coffee shops here. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Could well be sg Hakka came from Guangdong province mostly. At least my grandparents were, hence the food also not sama sama.

And being a Hakka myself,I also don't like to eat thunder tea.😄

@therock

I am so envious of the trip you are on. 

It has always been a dream of mine to travel to various parts of China, away from the main cities. I have gone to the big cities of Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou for work. I wish I will be able to have the chance to explore, like you.
These type of travel make me realise that life is not all about the rat race. As we age and are more financially comfortable, we realise that money does not buy  happiness but of course it may be able to facilitate that. Really feel like getting out of the rat race, to smell life's roses.

I am envious.

On 11/26/2024 at 7:51 AM, TangoCharlie said:

Could well be sg Hakka came from Guangdong province mostly. At least my grandparents were, hence the food also not sama sama.

And being a Hakka myself,I also don't like to eat thunder tea.😄

Yah, I also think so. The Hakka in long yan likely are the same as those in Taiwan, whom are quite different from those of Guangdong. 

I remember you not 河婆 right? You are more of the abacus seed Hakka. 

And yes, your OC make superb abacus seed, got chance sure want to have it again. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

On a side note, do you know that in SG there is no Hakka sai gong? I was told none in SG, can only bring over from JB.