yosyos77 Clutched May 5, 2025 Share May 5, 2025 If one likes the car, is one not going to get it jus becuz agent earn lots...its a win-win. u get the car and agent gets the margin; dun expect exceptional bargain jus becuz u know the numbers well, its not going to happen. How much are all the ingredients and overhead for a plate of DTF's fried rice, is one not willing to go for it just becuz the margin they r making is ridiculous? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMlycan 1st Gear May 5, 2025 Share May 5, 2025 @Blee75 I am getting the blue. Which color did you picked? What freebies did your SE gave you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 5, 2025 Share May 5, 2025 (edited) It's waste time to analyse margin of a sole distributor here in SG to that degree. Analyse until like that for what? There's no competition here in terms of multiple agents across the country. Either it's a seller's market or a buyer's market. For 2nd hand car, it's more of a buyer's market. And it's between a very small company where 1-2 people make the decision vs you and their current finances determine everything. For a big company which sells maybe minimum at least 40-50 vehicles a month, then you see if they heu lan you... For new car, it's completely a seller's market. Ultimately it's just selling price and your bargaining power. Zero people in showroom, low volume vehicle, then you go bargain until your face and the SE face green green lor. For a less established or new brand, you want to go bargain hard when they aren't selling any cars? Then you are penny wise and pound foolish. You go talk to a BYD SE and give them your theory of car prices, and see if they just ghost you... Even want to talk any discount, they just can't be bothered to waste their time on you. You want to buy a car that's your 2nd or 3rd choice just so that you feel happy they don't earn their margin as much? LOL. Edited May 5, 2025 by Lala81 6 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 3rd Gear May 5, 2025 Author Share May 5, 2025 (edited) Found out the ground clearance on Aion V to be 180mm in a post here: https://autonews.gasgoo.com/m/70034088.html Couldn't find anything on Aion V's water submergence level or even if there is anything rated for it. @Jmontfort or @125Pegasus would know what level of water the Aion V can withstand in case there's a flash flood incident like what happened in Bukit Timah or over the causeway in JB? Would like to know if the Aion V gets caught in the flash flood incident and water level goes above the ground clearance level, the manufacturer's warranty is void.? Thanks. Edited May 5, 2025 by steveting99 additional text Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blee75 Neutral Newbie May 5, 2025 Share May 5, 2025 @SGCMlycan higher overtrade for my old car 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMlycan 1st Gear May 5, 2025 Share May 5, 2025 @Blee75 I see. When is your car collection? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blee75 Neutral Newbie May 5, 2025 Share May 5, 2025 @SGCMlycan Not sure yet, need to see if COE is secured this round. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 6, 2025 Share May 6, 2025 On 5/5/2025 at 11:53 AM, Lala81 said: It's waste time to analyse margin of a sole distributor here in SG to that degree. Analyse until like that for what? There's no competition here in terms of multiple agents across the country. Either it's a seller's market or a buyer's market. For 2nd hand car, it's more of a buyer's market. And it's between a very small company where 1-2 people make the decision vs you and their current finances determine everything. For a big company which sells maybe minimum at least 40-50 vehicles a month, then you see if they heu lan you... For new car, it's completely a seller's market. Ultimately it's just selling price and your bargaining power. Zero people in showroom, low volume vehicle, then you go bargain until your face and the SE face green green lor. For a less established or new brand, you want to go bargain hard when they aren't selling any cars? Then you are penny wise and pound foolish. You go talk to a BYD SE and give them your theory of car prices, and see if they just ghost you... Even want to talk any discount, they just can't be bothered to waste their time on you. You want to buy a car that's your 2nd or 3rd choice just so that you feel happy they don't earn their margin as much? LOL. kudos that you actually explain so much. however the stubborn ones still feel that they are justified it paying only acceptable margins according to their calculations. these people typically are not in sales related operations or have owned any businesses before. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
125Pegasus 1st Gear May 7, 2025 Share May 7, 2025 @steveting99 On 5/5/2025 at 12:10 PM, steveting99 said: Found out the ground clearance on Aion V to be 180mm in a post here: https://autonews.gasgoo.com/m/70034088.html Couldn't find anything on Aion V's water submergence level or even if there is anything rated for it. @Jmontfort or @125Pegasus would know what level of water the Aion V can withstand in case there's a flash flood incident like what happened in Bukit Timah or over the causeway in JB? Would like to know if the Aion V gets caught in the flash flood incident and water level goes above the ground clearance level, the manufacturer's warranty is void.? Thanks. Did u ask the SE about warrenty? I know that legacy brands once water damage likely claim insurance already. Dont know of any manufacturers that covers water damage. Anw, i dont think cars are water tested offically unless its specifically designed for offroad. Clearly the V w frontwheel drive is not designed for such purpose. U need a Yangwang U9 or Defender for that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 3rd Gear May 8, 2025 Author Share May 8, 2025 (edited) @125Pegasus The reason I ask is that in last year's FB post by a GAC Aion Malaysian dealer, mentioned the magazine battery 2.0 is flood resistant. It can also withstand flood and water - see post below (with yellow highlights). GAC Aion V uses the same version 2.0 of the magazine battery pack (with LFP chemistry) and looks to be sealed unit to prevent dust and water from entering in. See the cut away section in the picture below of the magazine battery pack from Thailand motorshow. The Battery Management System (BMS) is at the front of the pack with the coolant connections. The question is how much water pressure can the magazine battery pack 2.0 withstand and prevent water intrusion? It cannot be zero. Hence the question of water submergence level. The Geely E5 / Proton eMas7 (due to be released in August 2025 by VinCar and Kinetic Auto) has a ground clearance of 180mm and rated for water depth of 400mm according to engear article here: https://en.engear.tv/news/2024/10/26/proton-e-mas-7-official-specifications-revealed-rm120k-est-price/517732/ Geely's E5 battery pack was taken apart in PC Auto's article after traveling 300,000 kms. The Aegis blade battery pack is sealed to prevent dust and water from getting in. Will start to poke around a bit and see what I can find out. Edited May 8, 2025 by steveting99 typo and additional text Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
125Pegasus 1st Gear May 9, 2025 Share May 9, 2025 On 5/8/2025 at 8:02 PM, steveting99 said: @125Pegasus The reason I ask is that in last year's FB post by a GAC Aion Malaysian dealer, mentioned the magazine battery 2.0 is flood resistant. It can also withstand flood and water - see post below (with yellow highlights). GAC Aion V uses the same version 2.0 of the magazine battery pack (with LFP chemistry) and looks to be sealed unit to prevent dust and water from entering in. See the cut away section in the picture below of the magazine battery pack from Thailand motorshow. The Battery Management System (BMS) is at the front of the pack with the coolant connections. The question is how much water pressure can the magazine battery pack 2.0 withstand and prevent water intrusion? It cannot be zero. Hence the question of water submergence level. The Geely E5 / Proton eMas7 (due to be released in August 2025 by VinCar and Kinetic Auto) has a ground clearance of 180mm and rated for water depth of 400mm according to engear article here: https://en.engear.tv/news/2024/10/26/proton-e-mas-7-official-specifications-revealed-rm120k-est-price/517732/ Geely's E5 battery pack was taken apart in PC Auto's article after traveling 300,000 kms. The Aegis blade battery pack is sealed to prevent dust and water from getting in. Will start to poke around a bit and see what I can find out. Social media post by some unknown malaysian SE. Non-offical sources, i will take it as pinch of salt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 3rd Gear May 10, 2025 Author Share May 10, 2025 On 5/6/2025 at 3:22 PM, Mkl22 said: kudos that you actually explain so much. however the stubborn ones still feel that they are justified it paying only acceptable margins according to their calculations. these people typically are not in sales related operations or have owned any businesses before. Thanks for the pushback on doing the cost breakdown on getting an Aion V ride here in Singapore. Surprised on some of the sentiment when objective facts and figures are given. Dug into the GAC’s 2024 annual results and pulled out the following table on their margins. Can see that China market is ultra competitive. Much better for GAC to export out of China, so use GAC’s oversea’s margin of about 15% when Aion V is sold at OMV price ($31.8k) to VinCar + EV Direct here in Singapore. Forgive me of my ignorance on the business model of getting a new ride in Singapore. But, believe it’s a trading arbitrage game of getting money upfront from the customer with no capital/inventory risk to VinCar + EV Direct (a subsidiary of VinCar and 60% majority owned). It’ll be the same for all other Aion models as there is not physical ready stock available in Singapore. There is no carpark full of VAC ready Aions that one can go up to and choose from. VAC ready means the vehicle has gone through all the needed paperwork and checks by LTA. All that is left is the CoE and the registration of the vehicle, which can be registered online and can be on-the-road immediately. The new ride business is quite lucrative, because unlike the fruits and vegetables business that have limited shelf life or clothing retail business that will eventually go out of fashion. All of these businesses type will require a sale and subsequent risks of a write down/losses. The new ride business avoids these risks because of the zero inventory business model. So the new ride trading arbitrage game in Singapore goes something like this. Take money up front from customer in Singapore via deposit (approximately 20% of OMV + $10k for CoE bid deposit) + finance loan —-> place order with Thailand factory and bid for CoE via the deposits—-> If CoE is unsuccessful, ask customer to top up or risk loosing the ride. Customer is emotionally attached to the purchase and willing tops up - CoE bid is successful. Upon securing CoE, have 6 months register the ride. Check with Thailand factory that delivery can be made on time and meet customer’s preferences. Fill out the paperwork and pay related fees, duties and taxes based on the OMV of the Aion V from the upfront money. Once the ride arrives in Singapore and as the Aion V has been previously type tested (there is only one model available for sale and it’s already been through homologation to meet Singapore standards), it’ll be a formality on getting it passed through customs and LTA inspections. Fill out the remaining paperwork, ask customer to come over and pick up the shinny new ride. With the trade in deal, put customer’s ride on the resale market for a profitable and hopefully quick sale. Collect commission from finance company (for the initial loan) and insurance company on dealer incentives. Pocket the difference between what the customer paid upfront + resale of customer's trade in + commissions and minus outgoing expenses. Viola, just made a successful arbitrage trade and made some money with no risk. Aion V margin will range from the top end of 348% ($110.8k) if list price ($254k) is paid on an all cash deal down to 100% ($31.8k) with trade in, dealer finance and insurance. This is based on OMV of $31.8k which is the cost of sales of the Aion V. Wash, rinse and repeat above for another 310 times - that’s how many Aion’s were sold in 2024. So the question is VinCar + EV Direct is the only game in town and the only way to get an Aion ride? I.e. it’s VinCar + EV Direct way or the highway? Asked this question to think outside the box and come up with alternatives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blee75 Neutral Newbie May 12, 2025 Share May 12, 2025 Is the infotainment system able to add esim so that data and app can be used across the causeway? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 3rd Gear May 14, 2025 Author Share May 14, 2025 Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limited (CATL) and GAC (as well other Chinese EV manufacturers) are getting together and bringing out battery swap versions of their models. For GAC this includes the Aion V. With the high voltage battery pack making up around 40% of the cost of an EV B&B vehicle, having the ability to rent and swap out the battery pack on a day to day use makes a lot of sense. If and when the Aion V gets the high voltage battery pack swap option, the OMV will drop substantially when importing into Singapore. This will subsequently lower the fees, duties and taxes that need to be paid out. Resulting in a much lower basis of cost before CoE. Range anxiety will go away as re-charging is not longer an issue. It would like take a few minutes to swap out a depleted battery pack for a new one. CATL calls it Choco-Swap ecosystem - kinda funny sounding and only CATL knows why it's called like this. Currently CATL has battery swap stations in 16 cities across China with plans to expand to 30 cities and 1,000 battery swap stations by end of 2025. GAC will ensure that there is always the back up of charging through the AC and DC ports - if one still wants it. Having more options is a good thing to have. Can have the regular battery pack for running around town. A larger battery pack for road trips across the causeway. Foresee a monthly payment for rental of the battery pack + each battery swap fee (depending on the size of the battery pack). This is going to be a big win-win situation for all. If and when it comes together. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged May 28, 2025 Share May 28, 2025 On 5/14/2025 at 3:05 PM, steveting99 said: Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limited (CATL) and GAC (as well other Chinese EV manufacturers) are getting together and bringing out battery swap versions of their models. For GAC this includes the Aion V. With the high voltage battery pack making up around 40% of the cost of an EV B&B vehicle, having the ability to rent and swap out the battery pack on a day to day use makes a lot of sense. If and when the Aion V gets the high voltage battery pack swap option, the OMV will drop substantially when importing into Singapore. This will subsequently lower the fees, duties and taxes that need to be paid out. Resulting in a much lower basis of cost before CoE. Range anxiety will go away as re-charging is not longer an issue. It would like take a few minutes to swap out a depleted battery pack for a new one. CATL calls it Choco-Swap ecosystem - kinda funny sounding and only CATL knows why it's called like this. Currently CATL has battery swap stations in 16 cities across China with plans to expand to 30 cities and 1,000 battery swap stations by end of 2025. GAC will ensure that there is always the back up of charging through the AC and DC ports - if one still wants it. Having more options is a good thing to have. Can have the regular battery pack for running around town. A larger battery pack for road trips across the causeway. Foresee a monthly payment for rental of the battery pack + each battery swap fee (depending on the size of the battery pack). This is going to be a big win-win situation for all. If and when it comes together. But sure to be some battery tax or charges to make sure you dont get cheap cars here. COE increase 50k 60k+ but car price increase 100k. Hmmm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 29, 2025 Share May 29, 2025 On 5/28/2025 at 11:58 PM, Xers007 said: But sure to be some battery tax or charges to make sure you dont get cheap cars here. COE increase 50k 60k+ but car price increase 100k. Hmmm... Car will be bought without battery. Lower OMV. Need to buy battery subscription. This model will not work in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator May 29, 2025 Share May 29, 2025 On 5/12/2025 at 1:56 PM, Blee75 said: Is the infotainment system able to add esim so that data and app can be used across the causeway? hahaha, why you need to pay extra sim card for your car? just apple carplay or android auto lah. hahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blee75 Neutral Newbie May 29, 2025 Share May 29, 2025 @kobayashiGT oh it’s for remote access when in say Malaysia since currently they don’t have network outside of Sg. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...