kobayashiGT Internal Moderator June 4 Share June 4 Source: https://www.tnp.sg/news/what-exactly-are-rest-us-paying-ex-restaurateur-questions-fairness-home-based-cafes A former restaurant and bar owner has sparked debate over the rise of unlicensed home-based cafés, calling out what he sees as double standards in Singapore's F&B industry. In a strongly worded LinkedIn post, Mr Ee Chien Chua, who said he ran a licensed eatery and bar for six years, detailed the costs and compliance burdens borne by legitimate food operators: from commercial rent to fire certifications, grease trap maintenance, pest control, and CPF contributions. Paid leave, inspections, food handler permits -- he said he had done it all by the book. "So you'll have to forgive me when I say: I don't think this new wave of 'home cafés or restaurants' is a fair game." His post was written in response to a recent The Straits Times article featuring young brewers operating cafés out of their homes, serving specialty coffee and matcha. While applauding their entrepreneurial spirit, he questioned the apparent regulatory gap surrounding such setups. "The rules exist for a reason - for hygiene, for safety, for accountability," he wrote. "When you invite the public into your home for a paid meal or drink, and you're not licensed or regulated like the rest of us… how is that fair to those trying to survive in the real F&B world?" He also expressed concern over the perceived lack of enforcement by government agencies, questioning whether authorities were overlooking residential units operating as cafés and bars. "Where's the consistency? Where's the enforcement?" he wrote, raising questions about liquor licensing, food safety, and whether live-in domestic helpers assisting with food preparation may breach employment regulations. "This is called: 1. Double standards. 2. Hypocrisy." He concluded with a pointed question: "If this is okay now… can anyone just turn their home into a restaurant? And if so, what exactly are the rest of us paying for?" https://www.linkedin.com/feed/?trk=public_post_embed_linkedin-logo-image His post struck a chord with many in the F&B industry. "Fairness and safety can't be optional. The system needs to work for everyone," one commenter wrote. Another added: "I feel you, brother. I used to run my own venues too. Crazy rent, staff costs, everything. Every month felt like a war." Some said it was only a matter of time before regulations caught up. "Likely a ban or a very heavy restriction," one predicted. Others, however, pushed back. One commenter argued that home cafés had clear limitations - lacking scale, street visibility, and walk-in traffic - and often relied on a fragile mix of Instagram orders and goodwill from neighbours. "It's not that they have an unfair advantage," the person wrote. "If anything, it shows how inaccessible the 'proper' route has become. Maybe the problem isn't the rules - it's that the rules don't leave room for anyone to start small anymore." Another called the situation "symptomatic of a broken system", pointing to labour shortages, soaring rent and tax hikes that have left traditional F&B operators struggling. "Focusing on HBBs [home-based businesses] as villains won't fix any of that," the commenter said. "What's needed is a serious policy-level rethink of how we support both new and established players." ↡ Advertisement 1 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 4 Share June 4 Don't complain about high inflation when we have this kind of ppl 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 4 Share June 4 (edited) Agreed. While I support small home businesses. They should only be a delivery based and cannot exceed certain revenue per year. Edited June 4 by Lala81 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 4 Share June 4 (edited) On 6/4/2025 at 11:37 AM, inlinesix said: Don't complain about high inflation when we have this kind of ppl It is unfair. There's so much regulation in running a brick and mortar business in sg. Running a private chef dining in your home shouldn't be allowed imo. You can be invited into other people's place on a per gig basis. But not use your home as a business. Otherwise u might as well rent a hdb and roast bak kwa and 烧猪 and see how long hdb comes down on you. Edited June 4 by Lala81 4 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 4 Share June 4 the house is only this small, at most 10 pax at any point of time, some time whole day no customer one, if the cafe/restaurant really think those are a threat to them? then they have to relook at their own business model and quality of what they sell. 4 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 (edited) On 6/4/2025 at 11:56 AM, Jman888 said: the house is only this small, at most 10 pax at any point of time, some time whole day no customer one, if the cafe/restaurant really think those are a threat to them? then they have to relook at their own business model and quality of what they sell. Landed property. Those old colonial building, marked as residential but use as school( yoga, music etc.), beverage outlet. Edited June 4 by Kopites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 12:53 PM, Kopites said: Landed property. Those old colonial building, marked as residential but use as school( yoga, music etc.), beverage outlet. These are NOT home based la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 11:17 AM, kobayashiGT said: Source: https://www.tnp.sg/news/what-exactly-are-rest-us-paying-ex-restaurateur-questions-fairness-home-based-cafes A former restaurant and bar owner has sparked debate over the rise of unlicensed home-based cafés, calling out what he sees as double standards in Singapore's F&B industry. In a strongly worded LinkedIn post, Mr Ee Chien Chua, who said he ran a licensed eatery and bar for six years, detailed the costs and compliance burdens borne by legitimate food operators: from commercial rent to fire certifications, grease trap maintenance, pest control, and CPF contributions. Paid leave, inspections, food handler permits -- he said he had done it all by the book. "So you'll have to forgive me when I say: I don't think this new wave of 'home cafés or restaurants' is a fair game." His post was written in response to a recent The Straits Times article featuring young brewers operating cafés out of their homes, serving specialty coffee and matcha. While applauding their entrepreneurial spirit, he questioned the apparent regulatory gap surrounding such setups. "The rules exist for a reason - for hygiene, for safety, for accountability," he wrote. "When you invite the public into your home for a paid meal or drink, and you're not licensed or regulated like the rest of us… how is that fair to those trying to survive in the real F&B world?" He also expressed concern over the perceived lack of enforcement by government agencies, questioning whether authorities were overlooking residential units operating as cafés and bars. "Where's the consistency? Where's the enforcement?" he wrote, raising questions about liquor licensing, food safety, and whether live-in domestic helpers assisting with food preparation may breach employment regulations. "This is called: 1. Double standards. 2. Hypocrisy." He concluded with a pointed question: "If this is okay now… can anyone just turn their home into a restaurant? And if so, what exactly are the rest of us paying for?" https://www.linkedin.com/feed/?trk=public_post_embed_linkedin-logo-image His post struck a chord with many in the F&B industry. "Fairness and safety can't be optional. The system needs to work for everyone," one commenter wrote. Another added: "I feel you, brother. I used to run my own venues too. Crazy rent, staff costs, everything. Every month felt like a war." Some said it was only a matter of time before regulations caught up. "Likely a ban or a very heavy restriction," one predicted. Others, however, pushed back. One commenter argued that home cafés had clear limitations - lacking scale, street visibility, and walk-in traffic - and often relied on a fragile mix of Instagram orders and goodwill from neighbours. "It's not that they have an unfair advantage," the person wrote. "If anything, it shows how inaccessible the 'proper' route has become. Maybe the problem isn't the rules - it's that the rules don't leave room for anyone to start small anymore." Another called the situation "symptomatic of a broken system", pointing to labour shortages, soaring rent and tax hikes that have left traditional F&B operators struggling. "Focusing on HBBs [home-based businesses] as villains won't fix any of that," the commenter said. "What's needed is a serious policy-level rethink of how we support both new and established players." totally agree as i have also discussed among friends. In fact, i said the same for PHV. (also way back when it first started) a proper taxi company can should be providing that service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 11:44 AM, Lala81 said: It is unfair. There's so much regulation in running a brick and mortar business in sg. Running a private chef dining in your home shouldn't be allowed imo. You can be invited into other people's place on a per gig basis. But not use your home as a business. Otherwise u might as well rent a hdb and roast bak kwa and 烧猪 and see how long hdb comes down on you. Agreed. Many thinking of apartment. There are those landed resdiental currently uses as article mentioned. Wifey attended one such cooking class. They said mere sharing of culinary skills but ended up got to pay. 200,300 plus per head for materials and preparation. I didn't get to take any cake that night. I told her likely got con. Scam. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 12:53 PM, Kopites said: Landed property. Those old colonial building, marked as residential but use as school( yoga, music etc.), beverage outlet. Some Chinese immigrants lagi better turning GCB into club house! But strangely that is not allowed by home kopithiam is OK (so far). 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 (edited) On 6/4/2025 at 12:59 PM, inlinesix said: These are NOT home based la Tiong bahru got a few. Better keep mum...shsssss.... https://www.straitstimes.com/life/food/craving-a-speciality-latte-hop-over-to-your-neighbour-s-home-based-cafe According to Singapore Food Agency guidelines, residents living in HDB and private residential premises are permitted to operate home-based businesses given the small quantities of food they sell. They do not need to apply for a licence, but operators should adhere to the agency’s guidelines for food hygiene practices. Edited June 4 by Kopites 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 11:56 AM, Jman888 said: the house is only this small, at most 10 pax at any point of time, some time whole day no customer one, if the cafe/restaurant really think those are a threat to them? then they have to relook at their own business model and quality of what they sell. Thats the wrong way to look at it. Eg. If you play soccer and your opponent's goal post is 1 meter narrower and lower than yours, even if it is for 1 game per season, how would you like it. And then the ref tells you "oh you gotta relook at your play formation and quality of your players and the strategy you employ" No lah.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 I am thinking, can I then use my landed house and get people to come and have a cigar smoking experience with whiskey and wine, and then start charging $500 per head. Maybe later i incorporate my tzechar skills to dish out fine dining tzechar for $100 per head. after all I am an unemployed , no salary bum. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 11:44 AM, Lala81 said: It is unfair. There's so much regulation in running a brick and mortar business in sg. Running a private chef dining in your home shouldn't be allowed imo. You can be invited into other people's place on a per gig basis. But not use your home as a business. Otherwise u might as well rent a hdb and roast bak kwa and 烧猪 and see how long hdb comes down on you. well said! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 4 Share June 4 Lust time in jam pack hatchderbee so many units have the sewing machine in operations but no one was bothered...seamstresses were powering their craft day and night...nowadays karaoke a bit loud niah niah mata lai liao...😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 1:20 PM, mersaylee said: Lust time in jam pack hatchderbee so many units have the sewing machine in operations but no one was bothered...seamstresses were powering their craft day and night...nowadays karaoke a bit loud niah niah mata lai liao...😂 Now it's the sound of pickleball! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 On 6/4/2025 at 1:09 PM, Throttle2 said: I am thinking, can I then use my landed house and get people to come and have a cigar smoking experience with whiskey and wine, and then start charging $500 per head. Maybe later i incorporate my tzechar skills to dish out fine dining tzechar for $100 per head. after all I am an unemployed , no salary bum. Why not? Except the cigar part - tobacco licensing is separate. You can give out for free though! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 4 Share June 4 (edited) On 6/4/2025 at 1:26 PM, Volvobrick said: Why not? Except the cigar part - tobacco licensing is separate. You can give out for free though! Its easy to give out free cigar and whiskey, but then a glass of water at my place cost $500. It's about having a level playing field and abiding by the basic regulations, thats why not for me Otherwise all hell breaks loose, literally like back in our grandfathers days 1930s 40s 50s. Edited June 4 by Throttle2 ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...