Zxcvb Turbocharged November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Off topic alittle. but just to share. Oct 19 2016 me and my coll got our coe successfully bidded. Mine by KM and his by TCM. (both AD) he collected his car on 29th Oct. I was surprised by the quick delivery. My unit is pending for collection only on the 11th Nov. Kudos to TCM for quick delivering. the only difference btwn our units were that his was a normal plate and mine was a red plate, which I feel still doesn't justify the difference in the waiting time This is Parallel Importer thread, why you ask question about Authorised Dealer? Car delivery depend on stock availability. Some need to wait 3 months for shipment. OPC plate easily done as black plate within date of registeration. Pls collect car as soon as car is registered. Your car COE starts when the car is registered. NOT when you successfully bidded for COE. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Another car firm leaves buyers high and dry TLC Cars is second parallel importer to do so in a month; police investigating ..... Mr Raymond Tang, first vice-president of the Singapore Vehicle Traders Association, said cases such as TLC's are "not new". Indeed, the industry sees similar cases almost yearly. The biggest in recent years involved Volks Auto, which misappropriated some $4.6 million in deposits in 2014. Mr Tang said consumers should patronise "respectable firms with long track records to be safe". Even better, go to CaseTrust-accredited dealers, he said. "Most times, they get into trouble because they go for the lowest prices," he said. ..... http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/another-car-firm-leaves-buyers-high-and-dry And ? Authority still sleeping ? Waiting for such news to hit international head line before something is done ? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 And ? Authority still sleeping ? Waiting for such news to hit international head line before something is done ? maybe insurance company can step in before the auth or govt ? for govt, to step in, they will make it very troublesome (and some fee) for the buyer and seller by making them deal through them as a escrow service... but it should be safer. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 maybe insurance company can step in before the auth or govt ? for govt, to step in, they will make it very troublesome (and some fee) for the buyer and seller by making them deal through them as a escrow service... but it should be safer. PI already want to make margin closely trailing behind ADwith escrow service .. no meat to eat liao might as well all buy from AD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sugimoto 6th Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 After reading the news report, the last sentence is the most redundant one. News reporter should do away with the interview & dun just find a person to do interview for the sake of a few sentences without finding the facts. The pricelist for the cars sold by this particular PI doesn't seem lower than those others too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Since average car price already cost more than 100k and maybe can engage a lawyer like buying a property ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 i read they buy vezzel at $38k from another PI. so less that dealer profit and add coe, it is actuslly less that 90k or lower Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Since average car price already cost more than 100k and maybe can engage a lawyer like buying a property ... better not lah, once lawyers come in car price will be increased by $3k. and also, we have had cases of lawyers run road with escrow money too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 better not lah, once lawyers come in car price will be increased by $3k. and also, we have had cases of lawyers run road with escrow money too. Only cashier order Ma ! Better go through lawyer as average car price easily can buy 2 rooms HDB Liao and only for 10 years ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Google 2nd Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 We bought our car from a PI few months back, only need deposit 10K for coe purpose. Then all balance before registration and viewing of the actual car. How come some robert until need to deposit 50-60K? The rule to buying PI car is to ensure ready stock with your choice of colour, once COE secured, you can immediately register. If have to wait 2-4months, might as well buy from AD. Because anytime such company can closed regardless of the reputation and history. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DioPian 3rd Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 We bought our car from a PI few months back, only need deposit 10K for coe purpose. Then all balance before registration and viewing of the actual car. How come some robert until need to deposit 50-60K? The rule to buying PI car is to ensure ready stock with your choice of colour, once COE secured, you can immediately register. If have to wait 2-4months, might as well buy from AD. Because anytime such company can closed regardless of the reputation and history. But AD might not have what u want 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Google 2nd Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 But AD might not have what u want Agreed. Then you need to look around for PI that carries such model and ready stock. Else do a self import on the model. Small player usually need to exhaust their current stock before any fresh order. And because they depend on overseas exporter for their requirement, the other side might not secure the required stock immediately. In June this year, there was a fire in Japan in one Toyota braking system factory. A few model production was stopped for a few months. So certain model, no new stock locally. I know for importer, they prefer to order bulk of same model in single B/L(Bill of Lading), this translate to single inspection cost compare to individual inspection. For example, for model A in 50unit in a single shipment, only 1 inspection cost of say, $1K is required. If 50 separate shipment, do the math. This was what I found out in self import procedure after speaking to the concern staff. I don't think with the low selling price(than AD), parallel will want to bring in single vehicle just for you. So look around first before committing your hard earn cash. No point being in the news for wrong reason and people laughing behind your back for penny wise pound foolish. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DioPian 3rd Gear November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Agreed. Then you need to look around for PI that carries such model and ready stock. Else do a self import on the model. Small player usually need to exhaust their current stock before any fresh order. And because they depend on overseas exporter for their requirement, the other side might not secure the required stock immediately. In June this year, there was a fire in Japan in one Toyota braking system factory. A few model production was stopped for a few months. So certain model, no new stock locally. I know for importer, they prefer to order bulk of same model in single B/L(Bill of Lading), this translate to single inspection cost compare to individual inspection. For example, for model A in 50unit in a single shipment, only 1 inspection cost of say, $1K is required. If 50 separate shipment, do the math. This was what I found out in self import procedure after speaking to the concern staff. I don't think with the low selling price(than AD), parallel will want to bring in single vehicle just for you. So look around first before committing your hard earn cash. No point being in the news for wrong reason and people laughing behind your back for penny wise pound foolish. Thanks for sharing your wise advice.I am with u on that, bro. I got my car from a PI, sold my old car, swap over my license plate all within 2 weeks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ConnyPhilip Neutral Newbie November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Looking to buy a PI Merc. Are any of these PI dealers good ? Thanks. BuyCar Pte Ltd 360 Changi Road http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_PIdealer.php?dcode=1303 Royal Automotive Pte Ltd 31 Woodlands Close #01-28 Woodlands Horizon http://royalauto.com.sg/ Zion Auto Gallery Pte Ltd 159 Sin Ming Road #01-01 Amtech Building http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_PIdealer.php?dcode=1220 I book my merc back in july, collection in 2 weeks time. Total waiting time abt 4 month have to agree that buying from PI is a scary game. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic November 4, 2016 Share November 4, 2016 Depending on which Merc, if it's a more basic model like the MFA based A, B, CLA or GLA models, where the savings is not a lot, it's probably better to get from C&C. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong1977 4th Gear November 5, 2016 Share November 5, 2016 (edited) And ? Authority still sleeping ? Waiting for such news to hit international head line before something is done ? Apparently the TLC owner set out to scam from day 1 when setting up the PI. Not only car buyers, crowd funding investors got burnt too. TTI: rented house, taking loans all over the place, non direct importers and relatively new company https://www.google.com.sg/amp/s/kopitiambot.com/2016/11/05/p2p-investors-in-a-fix-as-car-firm-director-disappears/amp/?client=ms-android-samsung Edited November 5, 2016 by Sotong1977 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic November 5, 2016 Share November 5, 2016 greed has no limit scammer want to cheat smart alec want to buy cheap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong1977 4th Gear November 5, 2016 Share November 5, 2016 greed has no limit scammer want to cheat smart alec want to buy cheap Looking at all the news report about scammer - cars and other consumer products - the common thing was the scammer will try to get good review for their company in the beginning by fulfilling their orders usually by rolling their cash with latter orders. So people looking for good reviews on PI here beware. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...