FGY7022 Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 (edited) ask you all for some opinion..... the usage of my car is quite low one. for the weekday, i use it to send my kid to in-law's house in the morning, then fetch him back in the night. to and fro, 1 day less than 30km a day. weekend, maybe bring my family out on saturday, church and a little shopping (window ) that's all. say for the whole weekend, depending where i go in the weekends but approx, my milage in a month is approx 990km only. come next year, my son's nursery school will be walking distance from my house, so not driving in the weekday, only weekends. my current tyres (ST115) is about 2yrs (not exceeding 2yrs)... so normally people would change their tryes rite? for my case since next year not driving much, should i change? cos thought of changing next month if i get some bouns. or can hold for a while say like maybe next year march? oh please dun ask me to jus sell away the car, cos due to some reason... i cant... Edited November 25, 2006 by FGY7022 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imaginary 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 I read that tyres will harden after a period of time, so even though the threads are still there, it might be advisable to change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 Rubber will harden when exposed to the sun...the UV will cause the rubber to oxidise. Using those Amorall tyre dressing will slow down the process only. Do a simple test. Use your fingernails to press against the sidewall. IF the dent made by your fingers pops up immediately once you release it...the tyre is still ok. But if the indent stays for a while...your tyre has likely harden liao. Harden tyres are not safe for the road as they dun "mould" to the road...they tend to bounch around a lot more which min contact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 2 type of answer: - 1) it's advisable to change when it reach the safety mark or 2 years, whichever is earlier but the 2 year is just a guide, can stretch a bit... so it lead to (2) 2) if you drive short distance and is not much of a chiong driver and you intent to delay the change (but not too long), I would say you can hold on to it. Tyre compound may harden but it does not totally reduces the grip. It just that it deteriorates over time. And don't delay for too long coz harded tyres are more prone to blow-out when u go highspeed or sidewall is weaken. others might have better advise. Cheers BTW, why cannot sell car? or why buy car in the 1st place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 yah lor, that's what i understand too, so thought i should change liao... but if can hold till after CNY then will be better lor... tight leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 ohh... no. i am not a chiong driver, slow and easy one (but not hogging lor) so i guess no harm to hold the change till say mid april lah hor... cos by jan 07, my usage will be very much lower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 can't really decide for you but take note of the condition as time goes by and adjust your driving.. it's risk but we wouldn't know unless we see your tyres and how it perform when driven. If you are slow and steady.. shd be worth the risk.. no one mandate that you need to change by 2yrs.. it's just a rule of thumb. tyres have a shelf life of 4 yrs if I'm not wrong, but that's shelf life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keavze 1st Gear November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 tyres are the only contact point between yr car and the road, not worth the risk imho... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex7764 Neutral Newbie November 25, 2006 Share November 25, 2006 I am on GR80 19/60/15. Bought from PH (J__tin) about 6 months ago. Got a good bargain ($100 per pc ). I was previously using Yoko Aspec DB. I must say that GR80 is as quiet as the Aspec if not better. Only thing is that I find GR80 doesn't give as crisp a turn/feedback through steering as the Aspec. Visually GR80 looks "fatter" from the side walls whilst Aspec DB has firmer edges. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bionix77 Neutral Newbie November 28, 2006 Share November 28, 2006 was offered $220 per piece of 215/45/r17 GR80 tyres. Is the price worth it or is the shop trying to me? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Psfong Clutched January 5, 2007 Share January 5, 2007 u got your GR80 already? I installed mine (215/55R17) for $195 ea. Got kenna ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie January 5, 2007 Share January 5, 2007 way way way over price bro for $220, you can get R-S2 or even V8RS with spare change in your pocket. Both beat GR-80 in terms of grip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sklwn Neutral Newbie February 2, 2007 Share February 2, 2007 I'm thinking of changing my tyres to bridgestone gr80 195/60/r15. anyone has lobang ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 bro, u using same size tyre as me leh.. .this size not very common... i'm going to change soon. Got quote from PH $185... Separately, one thing i noticed is that my left front tyre wears out much faster on the outer edges. I suspect it's becos i go round and round clockwise my MSCP everyday. nowadays so many cars, have to park up to level 3 or even 4... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear February 3, 2007 Share February 3, 2007 Cheapest quote tend to be from Justin... someone posted his mobile no. somewhere here.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noentry Neutral Newbie February 22, 2007 Share February 22, 2007 (edited) I am on GR80 19/60/15. Bought from PH (J__tin) about 6 months ago. Got a good bargain ($100 per pc ). I was previously using Yoko Aspec DB. I must say that GR80 is as quiet as the Aspec if not better. Only thing is that I find GR80 doesn't give as crisp a turn/feedback through steering as the Aspec. Visually GR80 looks "fatter" from the side walls whilst Aspec DB has firmer edges. Hi, do they have GR80 for Vios Stock Rim 14"? Thanks Edited February 22, 2007 by Noentry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xcstacy Neutral Newbie February 23, 2007 Share February 23, 2007 My car is on GR80 now... FC no diff from previous Falken tires. Thus, still believe that FC is how you drive that matters. I abit doubtful of the "green" tires for their FC saving capability. Maybe should try one day to clarify this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear February 23, 2007 Share February 23, 2007 I changed the tires from stock to GR80 recently. My FC has worsen by 1km/l. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...