Overhaul or engine replacement

Ace_t

Hi all,

for those of you who have followed my saga, here's the latest news that'll be the final chapter of my car's fate.

Went to another mech to do a compression test on my car.

Found our that the first 2(from left to right) of the 4 cylinders are below specifications.. ie cylinder 1 & 3 are 150 (not sure if psi or BHP) while cylinder 2 & 4 are 170.

Mech says this is still ok, but only in the short term, as sooner or later, the parts will wear off and white smoke will appear.

So my choices available are:

1)Top overhaul - maybe the problem is just at the surface. ~ $500- 800

2)Complete overhaul - just in case more parts are worn and need replacement. ~ $1k-2k

3)Import new engine - heard in Nippon land that the engine's only 3 yrs or less. ~ TBD

4)Live with the problem - Hard start and really bad FC. spend more on petrol and get angry.

5)Sell the bluddy car. ~ sell and yet refund to finance company at least $4k.

bear in mind that the current market dun favour resell of a COE car, I still owe the finance company a 5 figure sum and that I am in danger of being part of umployment statistic.

So if the bros n sis out there have some good advice, I'd like to hear it out.

Thanx a million and happy lunar new year. laugh.gif

sad to hear your problem.

If I were in your shoes, I would do a complete overhaul. It's slightly more expensive but definitely more effective then option 1. I would also go to Malaysia to get it done.

Since your financial status not that stable, don't consider those options that are not viable right now.

wat's ur ride anyway? but looking @ the options u have in hand, selling it off will not be a good idea unless u r totally not going to drive, but if u think that even overhauling it will cause less than wat u have to pay to the finance if u sell, my bet is overhaul n use the car, anyways, after overhauling, it's like u r driving a new car already....am i correct to say that?

does it mean that I should just live wif the problem for now ?

forgot to say.. my car cannot go JB.. yet.

got blacklisted for almost 10 yr liao. Records still as fresh as the morning glory.mad.gif

what about a new engine drop-in ?..price n availability will be made known after CNY.

Since your financial status not that stable, don't consider those options that are not viable right now

91 sunny Auto.

true that a total overhaul is a better solution, but given the circumstance, just abit unsure right now.

many previous owners ago. unimpressed.gif

and I got his particulars too.... downloaded from a certain MY website...lipsrsealed.gif

technically speaking it's ok, but then I'd rather be safe than sorry than having to explain to the authorities at the polis station.

unsure...then best bet is to wait a while until something is sure. It's not too bad to live with it for a while, while u save a bit more. furthermore, u can still use the car for quite some yrs, so i think it's worth doing it up.sweatdrop.gif

for the blacklist, best is to sort it out with LTA/TP and JPJ/PTM. atleast u can have the freedom. it's nice to drive up to malaysia when u have a car. the tempt will be there....thumbsup.gif

Compression reading is in psi.11.7% difference in compression reading is acceptable. Get your mechanics to do a wet compression test to determine the compression leakage is via the rings or valves.

PS wet compression is carried out by pouring into the weak cylinder about a tablespoon of engine oil to improve ring sealing effect. If the reading is still the same then the valves are gone. If the reading goes up then the rings(and the piston cylinders ) are wear out.

Hope this helps

Thanx

will check wif him when I go do my next servicing.....

is there a benchmark as to what figures are acceptable or not .

might just do that... save for a better car.. hehehehe

of course it's my dream to travel up the northern roads to clear carbon and feel the breeze on my face sunny.gifrolleyes.gif

any idea if such issues can be handled at the MY high comm or LTA ?

must pay quite a sum to the finance people leh.... coz my resale value is not so good to my favour. Would be better if I broke even, but that is not likely for now. Maybe by June... See how.

or maybe miss a few payments and have them repossess the car .... hmm lipsrsealed.gifscholar.gif