Slim Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 ya la...that's what i thought...i guess maybe $160 then less so-called $80 trade-in for the stock tyres, pay "only" $80 for CDrive....hmmm either the se or HAHAHAHA ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 din want to start a new thread, but also sorry to drag out an old topic but i really have to say that ASPECS DB really SUCKS man..... just got my ride last week...heavy bugger the Cerato HB (approx 1.3 tons) so i thought might have more pressure (thus more traction) to the ground.... but on sunday evening, went ot visit my mum-in-law at Pasir Ris, it was raining and when tried to negotiate up the MSCP...bloody hell...the wheels started spinning on the slope and the car started to slide backwards.... thankfully no car behind and din smash to wall...bo sian 1/2 OC panic, me kanchiong but managed to play half-clutch till went up....din dare to go up to next level liao I did tell the KIA se to try and swop for me but he insisted that the dealer only gave them Aspec DB and if want to get different one must pay close to full price of rubbers as theirs is some promo package.... tahan till yesterday morning and went to Toh Yi (you guys know who la... ) to change to falkens...feel so much safer now from now I would seriously DISCOURAGE anyone i care about from taking this stupid model of tyres... ah siao?? haha u changed to which falken tyre? i'm looking to get rid of my aspec dbs too. wore them out last fri at PG liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 i got my precedas at only $110 for 195/55/15....think he wanna "chop chop" u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 me...ah siao? why....y??? ok i drift...anyway, i changed to zeix 512, not too bad now...not too noisy, wet drive is not HAIRY...and do go up MSCP when raining w/o any problems so i'm pretty contented. Previous ride was using ST115, not bad too but felt that it wore out rather fast so decided to try the 512s for a change Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 i suppose so, chop like a carrot head...but thankfully for the information highway and the good brudders of MCF, three cheers hip hip .... HOOOORAY din know where i read/heard it but i too feel that the stuff that se offers usually not worth paying for unless it is given as a FREEBIE....kekekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 yup u are rite bro..... that wat i'm doing here....to find all the lobangs.... ..but be prepared to be poisoned too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wendragon Clutched May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 i newbie to all the tyres stuff. got couple of questions here... I recently changed my tyres to michelin, this morning while travelling over puddles of water on the road, i can feel the car is like pulling back. Car speed at around 70kpm. Once over the puddles,everything is ok. Is that normal?? was told it was due to resistance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheeze Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 yar i had that feeling too....i tot it was due to aquapanning....using aspec DB...since it's so lousy in the wet...i assume those "pull-back" are aqua panning....anyone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 yup...i had the same encounters with my previous ST115...its pushing/draining the water through its treads to gain contact with the road... had no such experience yet with current precedas... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wendragon Clutched May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 if its pushing/draining the water through its treads to gain contact with the road, then it should be a good thing right...anyone? Shouldn't aquaplaning feel slippery/ skiddy rather than the "pull-back" feel? currently using michelin xh1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheeze Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 not sure leh...but i don't feel confident when the car pulls... n i encounted several puddles during yesteday's heavy downpour... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 yup u are rite...did u feel any torque steer?? some tyres gives this feedback when going thru pool of water.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 yup, aquaplaning is like total lost of wheel control. it is natural for pullback effect over puddle of water. since water is an incompressible matter. the energy is dispersed and come back acting pressure on the tyres in other areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheeze Neutral Newbie May 8, 2005 Share May 8, 2005 mmm ic ic...learnt something new today.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wendragon Clutched May 9, 2005 Share May 9, 2005 thnks guys... i do feel some torque steer while going some pools of water... Any comment on the michelin xh1 tyres? Does GR80 or MXV8 give the same "feel"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 9, 2005 Share May 9, 2005 (edited) both mvx8 and gr80 are quite similar design types, small blocks , small water channels water puddle wise stay below 80 and should be fine if u want to go ploughing thru puddles get those v groove like eagle f1, es100 , t1-r/s and so on alternatively get those which are asym design but have wider water channels, i mean wide till u can put whole finger inside water channel , not like those small aspec db type eg g3 , cpc ..etc yesterday morning very heavy rain, i was going 90 thru puddles of water all over pie, just cut thru like knife thru butter...using cpc see all the sunny and matrix on their hankook 406 and b391 all hogging at 40 to 50 Edited May 9, 2005 by Furrynadz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wendragon Clutched May 9, 2005 Share May 9, 2005 Does it means both GR80 and MXV8 will have the same "pull back" feel while going over water puddles? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 9, 2005 Share May 9, 2005 all tyre will have just matter how much ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...