Jamesgetz 4th Gear September 13, 2004 Share September 13, 2004 IMHO, aspecDB is overpriced for its performance (or lack of...). C.Drive is also quite pricey for the slight improvement in performance. ES100 is bit overkill unless u really drive ur car hard and it gets bloody noisy after about 10,000km... falken ZE512 comes at a lower price and offer much better dry & wet performance. it's only slightly noisier and less comfy than aspecDB. better still, it has a rim protector which will save ur rims from scratches. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 15, 2004 Share September 15, 2004 I once heard from a friend who is using the falken ZE512 on his car...no bad he said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivioman Neutral Newbie September 15, 2004 Share September 15, 2004 Falken 512 not bad, noisy but not bad. Surprisingly still grippy on wet roads. Dry quite ok too. I'm using it cnrrently. Was on ST115s before (those wear out fast!!)... Had tried Aspec Db too...glides and slides in the wet...really.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear September 16, 2004 Share September 16, 2004 yah, ST115 wears out pretty fast but dry and wet grip ST115 is quite quiet initially but after 10,000km, i find it noisier than ZE512. ZE512 also slightly more comfy than ST115 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biccat Neutral Newbie September 16, 2004 Share September 16, 2004 Agree. I have the same feeling with ST115. It was pretty good initially but the noise level increased substantially after the 1st 15Km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 (edited) din want to start a new thread, but also sorry to drag out an old topic but i really have to say that ASPECS DB really SUCKS man..... just got my ride last week...heavy bugger the Cerato HB (approx 1.3 tons) so i thought might have more pressure (thus more traction) to the ground.... but on sunday evening, went ot visit my mum-in-law at Pasir Ris, it was raining and when tried to negotiate up the MSCP...bloody hell...the wheels started spinning on the slope and the car started to slide backwards.... thankfully no car behind and din smash to wall...bo sian 1/2 OC panic, me kanchiong but managed to play half-clutch till went up....din dare to go up to next level liao I did tell the KIA se to try and swop for me but he insisted that the dealer only gave them Aspec DB and if want to get different one must pay close to full price of rubbers as theirs is some promo package.... tahan till yesterday morning and went to Toh Yi (you guys know who la... ) to change to falkens...feel so much safer now from now I would seriously DISCOURAGE anyone i care about from taking this stupid model of tyres... Edited May 3, 2005 by Slim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 mebbe the ramp got oil deposit flowing down with the rainwater? I ever kena one stretch of thomson road where my ride total slide, not skid forward for abt 20m, i panic button and could not do anything as it was sliding to the car in front, lucky for some god known reason, it stopped abt 1m fr tat car at the traffic junction. then, bang... car comes fr behind also same same, slide into me. luckily i pulled handbrake when stopped, too bad for the rear car. he hit mine. and tat was on Dunlop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 yupp could be a probable reason...but it had been raining pretty heavily for quite a while before i reached there and i had driven there many many times before in my previous ride using st115....never had such experience before lei....but then again maybe la still it scared the sxxt out of me man.... wohhh...yours experience scary man...me surly panic btn one lei.. ... in such situations ABS got help or not huh?.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Psfong Clutched May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 Speaking of which, I nearly into accident yesterday also. Was going at 120km/h (NS highway) at ard 10pm with a slight drizzle, when suddenly car in front of me braked while I was distracted. I applied ebrake also, but distance is like only 10m liao, and it looks like going to bang the car in front. I quickly do a quick swerve while still doing 80km/h to the second lane on the left (heng, no car then) and managed to brake before the rest of the cars. No sliding, no body roll, no items upturned, just hear my OC screaming. Michelin MVX8, boleh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 no help lah, machiam driving in snow. u can feel like a tempin bowl sliding to the pins. siaoz liaoz. only superman can save. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 Hi! Were you using Aspec DB or Aspec? I think KIA equiping their vehicles with Yokohama Aspec, not the Aspec DB, which had slightly different thread pattern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 good for ya....but all i can say is really Aspec DB TAK boleh kekekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 she....eet...that's really hairy man...hope you don't have to encounter that again....safe drive and god-speed dude.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 hey Octopus...hmmm i remember it was Aspec DB cos as soon as i was told from SE, alarm bells went ringing man had tried to insist se change for me but he wouldn't budge so bo bian go change on my own lor.... today just went to another MSCP, was raining too (west side, evening) but no problem to negotiate the slope upwards... . anyhow abt the aspec db it is just IMO, to each their own, i guess. me just wouldn't support any of my mates to it lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hihi Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 i'm using Yoko CDrive. Wet grips pretty good, but downside is it is a very noisy tyre!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 say b4 and say again es100, a539, aspec series as whole, cdrive are the worst tyres ever made might as well make that every yoko tyre in the past few yrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 was considering that, couldn't find much info on that rubber on sunday night (maybe late and frustrated so no heart to search hard enuf ) so just settled on tyres i am familiar with have you tried ST115 b4? is the CDrive nosier than that....actually my se quoted me $160 per tyre for the CDrive (15 inch) if i din want the aspec db how much you got yours? shouldn't be that much for 15" right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 $160 beri the exp leh.... I got ST115 for only $85 wor. for tat size, can get Pilot Preceda Sports liaoz. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...