Cashiertan Neutral Newbie April 21, 2004 Share April 21, 2004 Hi all, Anyone encounter problems with these 2 vehicle so far???? Heard Vios have lots of problem??Best if you avoid Toyota Vios at all cost. Even my Japan made Corolla got problems, let alone the Thai made Vios. IN 24 mths, my rear power broke down, all 4 rubber door seal warp, and auto gearbox kept jerking, which Borneo could not solve. This is confirmed my last Toyota. I thought BM "eaten" millions from the last last tax rebate to "upgrade" their facilities and services for the toyota owners? and they still cant solve ur auto gear problem? get them to change a new one lah!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie April 22, 2004 Share April 22, 2004 Ya, agree! Nowadays Jap cars are not like the older days, made to last and reliable. It is Jap trend to cut cost here and there but selling price about the same so Conti cars are much better or can get Korean cars which are valued for Money! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2004 Share April 23, 2004 ya, keep away from made-in-thailand japanese car. Wondering how many ALTIS buyers know they are buying a made-in-thailand low-cost and highly priced car ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 23, 2004 Share April 23, 2004 We should petition to Toyota to sell Altis under Daihatsu here . Price surely drop. It is not Toyota's fault but greedy BM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2004 Share April 23, 2004 (edited) A friend of mine went to test drive ALTIS ... guess what SE told her ? SE said if damaged the test drive model, will have to compensate. My friend scolded her that if BM cannot afford to buy insurance, they should not be selling cars .... In the end my friend refused to testdrive and bought a lancer instead. Too bad, BM ... you just lost a customer Edited April 23, 2004 by Cheekg99 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2004 Share April 23, 2004 ya, keep away from made-in-thailand japanese car. Wondering how many ALTIS buyers know they are buying a made-in-thailand low-cost and highly priced car ? Most of them will not bother so much as they only need a car to fetch them from point A to point B so they will not look at a point of view from mechanic or technical term unlike us who really know how to look at cars! I went to the Ubi new Toyota showroom to take a look at the Altis again, I look carefully at the engine bay, the plastics used are really fragile and cheapo, the way the finishing for the cabling really shock me, even the cabling in my Spectra is all nicely tied up but those in the Altis are like using simple wire to tie it. From the look of the engine bay already tell me that it really cut cost a lot, if you look at the interior, I think there are more things I can mention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2004 Share April 23, 2004 Ya, I guess the only thing they can compensate to "bluff" consumers is to give lots of assessories like leather seat and fog light to make this car look "better". [:)] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 Any one know, generally, how reliable is Vios auto trans (assuming it's atf is flushed at every 30k-40k?) I realised that BM's servicing is nothing buy normal engine oil change, oil filter, spark plug, etc...the rest are just checks. Tot of asking my mum to have a car serviec by 3rd party workshop to save $$$. Her vios is just under 30,000km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 In fact for the Altis, you can spot most of the tell-tale signs when it is new. For my colleague who has a 20 month old Altis, he has a shock when he saw the edges of the dashboard surrounding the passenger side air bag buldging after 16 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 I met one BM SE also. The guy wasn't very keen on selling me the car, cos' that time I didn't have my license and I was using my dad's name. Not surprise also cos' Toyota always in high demand. When I went to C&C, the SE gave me a good deal. Few days later went back to sign the papers and got my car a month later. One pal driving a vios kept saying that the vios pick up very louya as compared to mazda and honda cars. I'm very skeptical. My friend test drove one and its not that bad. The only thing I didn't like was the cramp seats for the back passengers. His comment was, car liability leh. There is only one way to see it. Buy car already, just enjoy and forget about the money part, cos' die die have to part with the money. I'm driving a lancer. FC got almost 15 km/l. Yea, I do drive without air-con in the morning and late evenings. Air con only used to cool off the heat or to keep out the dirt and dust from the heavy traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Petrewon Neutral Newbie April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 (edited) Most bro generalized too much tat vios got lots of problems. Sure there are minor QC problems here and there, but it doesnt happen to every vios. Read www.vogs.net if u want to find out more about vios. I decide to go for vios over city because of this forum. Got many friendly peeps to help u out, even things that BM cant solve. Of coz there is the mod virus floating around in the forum. For me, i got no complains for my beloved vios man. But dun tell my gf lol. It is a very moddable car. The thing about imperfect car is that u get to make it better and can customised it. Vios engine reliability is of coz superb, plus FC is good and good power over weight ratio. Pick up can win many makes esp MT vios. Edited April 21, 2006 by Petrewon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 The thing about imperfect car is that u get to make it better and can customised it no offense...but why wont u pay more money for a better car then pour hard earned money into a car u noe has problems Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 BM SEs rely on the Toyota brand to sell cars one. I think many people who buy a Toyota actually just buy the car from BM and then go elsewhere for all their servicing needs. Either that or they go for PI Toyotas where you can get much better models anyway like the Mark X. The Vios pick-up is actually pretty ok for the AT version. The MT version of the Vios, due to its lightweight (it's actually about 40kg heavier than an Elise only...), loses out in pickup only to one other car in this price range and that was the old Ignis Sport. Even then, it's a marginal difference of like 0.1s. Actually, even the AT version shouldn't be losing out in pickup to Mazda cars unless you're comparing it to the RX-8 or MX-5. As for reliability and QC issues, the thing about Thai-made cars for Toyota is that their QC seems to be quite random. While my Vios has had no problems so far and it's a 2 year old car already, I also know many others who've had weird issues with it. My Altis is only about a year old and I can see the rubber door seals are warping and as a result, above 120km/h, I can hear the wind noise. But the seals on my Vios are still intact. The interior does feel a bit cheap though, but you get what you pay for. The prices of the Altis and Vios are just inflated by BM to keep their profit margins big and fat. I mean, look at the OMV of the 2 cars... Sheesh. Plus, they couldn't even be bothered to bring in the G-specced versions of the 2 cars, and they actually stripped off the default 15 inch rims and replaced them with crappy heavy 14 inchers. FC-wise, the MT Vios is capable of doing 16-18km/l average if you aren't a HRF driver. I change gears at 2-2.5k rpm and used to get about 17-18km/l on the average with 70% highway driving. Even when whacked occassionally, as in redlining every gear, it still did quite a decent 13-14km/l. The AT version, I heard it does on the average 14-16km/l. Pretty good for a 1.5l car I think. I'm more wary of Honda's FC claims ever since they kept saying that the FD Civic has a the FC of a 1.5l car and the power of a 2.0l car because when I test drove it, it didn't feel as powerful as it should've been, and FC-wise, I've been hearing that it does more like 11-13km/l. Maybe they're comparing it to the old Korean 1.5l cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Petrewon Neutral Newbie April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 Lol, dunno, i find it fun although i dun haf much problems with my vios. I just like to make it perform better. Different ppl different needs. I just need a good platform (vios) to take me from pt A to B while giving a choice how to make it even better. Stock vios is quite good for its price range. Maybe if i buy a city which cost 5k more (higher insurance too), i cant mod as much as i like in vios. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 well said... at least u worked out ur finances and put some thought b4 buying and it seems like u haf done quite a number of mods ... so how bout me go tell ur lady bout it let her pull ur ear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 Actually, except for the price and exterior, the City is an out-an-out better car than the Vios. Just that the price and exterior matters the most to people who buy 1.5l cars, so the City isn't really that great value for money. It costs more than some 1.6l cars and it still looks fugly. As for moddability, usually whatever you can do to a Vios, you can also do it to a City... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fourth 2nd Gear April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 Most of the Vios I see on road are pretty fast on pick up. They are definitely not slow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Petrewon Neutral Newbie April 21, 2006 Share April 21, 2006 Lol Actually she koes abt how i love my car man. She always suan me. haha. Time to save up too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...