Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie July 8, 2004 Share July 8, 2004 Land are 99, or 999 year LEASE. Even Freehold, there is such thing called "Land Acquisition Act"... LPPL... Even if you own freehold landed property, and fully payoff your mortage, it is yours to manage as long as you pay property tax... Cars belong to the bank/credit company until you fully pay up the instalments. After that, it belongs to you, as long as you pay road tax, and insurance faithfully. Until your COE ends.... Oh, I know, my computer belongs to me.. My handphone belongs to me... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 8, 2004 Share July 8, 2004 But they will not worth anything much in a while's time lehz!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear July 8, 2004 Share July 8, 2004 everything belongs to THE MAN and his GANG and yet we have to work so hard for THE MAN but on the other hand, we also need THE MAN and his GANG rite? without them, whose going to build us the road, hdb, mrt..etc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 9, 2004 Share July 9, 2004 For the selected few...yes. They own their cars...cos they have loads of marnee to pay up the amount in full. I knew a lady from a "health" spa who paid for her ride a spanking new Honda Prelude H22A 4th Gen with cash upfront....in full. Dun ask me how...maybe she got sugar daddy or what. Back to the majority.... Most motorist do not own the cars they drive, the finance company or bank owns it....we just "hire" the car from them. Some even lease the cars from leasing company. I did own my KE70 back then....I managed to redeem my loan after 3 years and had ownership for 2yrs. (I collected my little red book (back then call logbook...LTA cut cost now is just a card) Renting option if compared with HP is out. Say for example your Mazda 323. (Cos I just rented a Ford Laser for a week...so use it as comparision) Rental for a week cost me S$ 602.00 That works out to be around $86 for a day of usage. Throw in $10 petrol that would cost you $96 per day. Work that out 365 days with a 20% long term discount thrown in....$28,032 per year (this is inclusive of rental, petrol, road tax and insurance). So unless you are paying $1502.67 per installment (I throw in 10K for repair,petrol, road tax and insurance) I think even if you take full loan plus zero down payment also not so much rite ? Just for comparision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched July 9, 2004 Share July 9, 2004 we're all civil servants a vast majority of us are still paying for our HDB flats, and a long way to go even the car, more than half of what we pay are taxes, COE etc. A huge sum of our take-home pays goes either a flat, car or both. And where do these monies eventually go to ? almost all us us are working and/to repaying somekind of loan to the ______ directly or indirectly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 9, 2004 Share July 9, 2004 You're right there brudder have to look for other 'kang tao' liao, you know any for me to work at night, other than gigolo (too bad only aunties like me ) But I thought aunties are normally very rich one?? If lucky kena "bao" by one rich lady, can get your Alfa liaoz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 9, 2004 Share July 9, 2004 that's the problem, still cannot fine those very rich one lar! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 9, 2004 Share July 9, 2004 Sure ornot?? Advertise in newspaper or chatlines lahz!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milky33 Neutral Newbie July 9, 2004 Share July 9, 2004 ermz...its really a hard work to own a car of yourself,can imagine you have to pay for instalment and petrol and the servicing...wow...think already also feel like going to faintz man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 (edited) ----------------------- we're all civil servants a vast majority of us are still paying for our HDB flats, and a long way to go even the car, more than half of what we pay are taxes, COE etc. A huge sum of our take-home pays goes either a flat, car or both. And where do these monies eventually go to ? almost all us us are working and/to repaying somekind of loan to the ______ directly or indirectly. ----------------------- To put that way, we all work very hard for the gahment liao........ Edited July 10, 2004 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brianng Neutral Newbie July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Hi, I know some Singaporean buy car in Malaysia and drive in Singapore. Anyone knows how this system work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie July 10, 2004 Author Share July 10, 2004 No such system .... If you are a Singaporean ... it is illegal for you to drive a malaysian plated car in SINgapore. You can drive it in Malaysia but not into Singapore Even Malaysian citizens with Singapore PR cannot drive an MY car into Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie July 10, 2004 Author Share July 10, 2004 Rather .... we all work hard to keep giving away 80% of wat we earn back to the govt's coffers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie July 10, 2004 Author Share July 10, 2004 For the selected few...yes. They own their cars...cos they have loads of marnee to pay up the amount in full. I knew a lady from a "health" spa who paid for her ride a spanking new Honda Prelude H22A 4th Gen with cash upfront....in full. Dun ask me how...maybe she got sugar daddy or what. Back to the majority.... Most motorist do not own the cars they drive, the finance company or bank owns it....we just "hire" the car from them. Some even lease the cars from leasing company. I did own my KE70 back then....I managed to redeem my loan after 3 years and had ownership for 2yrs. (I collected my little red book (back then call logbook...LTA cut cost now is just a card) Renting option if compared with HP is out. Say for example your Mazda 323. (Cos I just rented a Ford Laser for a week...so use it as comparision) Rental for a week cost me S$ 602.00 That works out to be around $86 for a day of usage. Throw in $10 petrol that would cost you $96 per day. Work that out 365 days with a 20% long term discount thrown in....$28,032 per year (this is inclusive of rental, petrol, road tax and insurance). So unless you are paying $1502.67 per installment (I throw in 10K for repair,petrol, road tax and insurance) I think even if you take full loan plus zero down payment also not so much rite ? Just for comparision. So you would be in agreement then ... we dun own our so-called rides .... we are all just renting it Then after a certain number of years ... we so-call change to a new car and structure our new rents for that car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Sure ornot?? Advertise in newspaper or chatlines lahz!! cannot lar! not handsome enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 I dun think we ever own our car.... Cos end of the day, it will still end up in the scrapyard.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie July 12, 2004 Author Share July 12, 2004 Sad hor .... if only we could keep it after paying off finance for more than 3 - 4 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 I can keep mine for another 3 years after I paid off the Finance.. But then again, I doubt I'll keep my ride so long.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...