Sabian Turbocharged April 6, 2008 Share April 6, 2008 I will be gg to AS for 50k onwards. My 40k was at BM. Asked to rectify cosmetic stuff. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 6, 2008 Share April 6, 2008 Orite bro. Do feedback on AS service. Bobby is a nice guy too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 6, 2008 Share April 6, 2008 As you said, if RV is treating you well, stick with them. But I do find their pricing creeping up vs other places (as one posting highlighted above but higher than Tan Chong is news to me) with a lot of "cross selling" emphasis. And they have been "discouraging" those who bring their own engine oil with an extra charge if you bring your own oil, very unlike their earlier days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 6, 2008 Share April 6, 2008 Yep, I am sticking with RV. Had bad experience with AS too but Bobby did tried to rectify it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laoahpeck Neutral Newbie April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 Well bro, here's my breakdown. Maybe you can tell me if I really kena carrot head as you said... 1) 4 ltrs OWS Ecolight 5W30 Engine Oil $80 2) Oil Filter $10.50 3) Drain Plug Gasket $1.60 4) 4 ltrs pack ATF $29 5) Power steering Oil $20 6) Simota Drop in Stainless Steel Air Filter $70 7) 1 set Denso Iridium Spark Plugs $72 8) 1 pc Fuel Filter $55 9) 1 bottle Brake Fluid (DOT 4) $22 10 4 ltrs pacl Toyota Pre-mixed Coolant $23 11) OWS Ultra Flush $60 12) Skimmed both front Disc Rotors $70 (discount of $20) 13) Labor Charge $130 (discount of $14) 14) Plus some other checks and ratifications without charges + car wash Total: $643.10 I can understand that there may be cheaper alternatives out there. This is my 1st time there. As mentioned, I left the spare parts to them although I understand that they allow me to bring in my own parts. I was simply too lazy and busy to go buy them myself. So, I was prepared to be charged extra for the parts. I have no affiliation to them, so I'm open to suggestions. I find that the boss, Vincent, is a nice chap and the workshop supervisor is knowledgeable and bothered to explain things to me which I didn't know. Overall, I'm happy with the work done. My only gripe is that they couldn't help me with a rattling sound from my car doors. Well, maybe that's NOT their expertise. They DID take out the door panels and check for any loose wires though. Maybe itz just an old ride. Mr Goh did give me a rough estimate after before they started work on my car and the final bill is very close to the estimate. Cross selling? Didn't experience that. They did what I asked them to do and that's it. If you can provide me with a major servicing package that offers me a substantial savings like $100, then I'll buy you lunch as well as coffee/tea/coke (the drink)... I've been around to many workshops and have both good and bad experiences with them. It all depends on what you are looking for, bro. For me, I love it that they have clean hands when they handle the interior of my car. I hate the grimy feeling on my steering wheel when I pick up my car after a servicing! So bro, you think you can offer me something much better? Lets agree to disagree...this is a forum where we help one another look out for good deals and offer advice and help. No need to be so worked up, yah? I may be have been carrot headed according to you but I'm open to learning... Cheers mate...have a great week ahead and have a good and safe ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 That is good to hear. At the end of the day, all we want is good service, our $$$ well spent and not treated like suckers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb1623m Clutched April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 (edited) From the breakdown you provided, the followings items are not covered in BM servicing: 1) Simota Drop in Stainless Steel Air Filter $70 2) 1 set Denso Iridium Spark Plugs $72 3) OWS Ultra Flush $60 4) Skimmed both front Disc Rotors $70 (discount of $20) If you minus off the above, you would have paid $371.10 vs $400+ charged by BM. So you are not carrot headed as claimed by others. It's good that you provided the breakdown which helps to clear the air. Hope the bros here can be more factual before making any sweeping comments. Peace and have fun. Cheers... Edited April 7, 2008 by Rb1623m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 u put 90k svc mah... svc at 90k is $253 at BM. How u expect the bros here not think u look like bugs bunny favourite snack? 90k svc 1) 4 ltrs OWS Ecolight 5W30 Engine Oil $80 You can get decent syn oil at $52 2) Oil Filter $10.50 3) Drain Plug Gasket $1.60 These items shd be under 80k svc 4) 4 ltrs pack ATF $29 5) Power steering Oil $20 8) 1 pc Fuel Filter $55 9) 1 bottle Brake Fluid (DOT 4) $22 Optional item 6) Simota Drop in Stainless Steel Air Filter $70 (Enjoy the increased air flow but it comes at a price...) 7) 1 set Denso Iridium Spark Plugs $72 - would have been copper plugs to be changed at 20k intervals 11) OWS Ultra Flush $60 12) Skimmed both front Disc Rotors $70 (discount of $20) 13) Labor Charge $130 (discount of $14) 14) Plus some other checks and ratifications without charges + car wash Like u said, u lazy lor...and neber clarify if yours is strictly 10k or 20k or 40k interval svc (from your bill, looks like a buffet svc) The times when I svc there, the mech will always jio me to install simota stainless or use the ows oil (or else kenna charge extra for using my choice of oil) - That is cross selling to me, no matter how friendly or subtle. anyways, FYI (i dun think u got carrot lah for the buffet spread they dished out, good thing u neber bring your own parts, otherwise kenna corkage fee) http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/aftersal...er_servicea.asp http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/aftersal...er_serviceb.asp http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/aftersal...er_servicec.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 Good to know that RV can offer svc BM is not capable of offering like: 1) Simota Air Filter 2) Denso Iridium Spark Plug 3) Engine Flush 4) Skimming Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laoahpeck Neutral Newbie April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 ok ok ok...guess each person's definition of major servicing is different...I took as a major servicing cos I just bought the carand decided to do a major servicing cos I do not know what the previous owner did or did not do...thanks for making me feel great and not bugs bunny favorite snack Thanks to all...cheers to all.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 ok... the total package seems ok. but that 1.5months ago i brought my ride for svcing. i used OWS multilight 10W40 and ultra flush with a OWS octane booster and oil filter for $90. probably the workshop is own by a personal friend of mine. so he charge me cheaper. but the thing is when he charge me at that price he told me he still earns. he charge me for OWS iridium sparkplugs for $60 and a K&N open port air filter for $150( this i think he overcharge a bit or its just market price) so total damage $300. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorceror June 17, 2008 Share June 17, 2008 borrow this thread, i am going in soon for my 20k servicing as well, these are the few things i have in mind to change.engine internal flush, aircon recycle, coolant changes, spark plugs, power steering fluid change, ATF fluid change, brake fluid change, change my tire to a 15" and rims (depending) if not change my 14" tyres and do wheel alighment, Any others that i should do?? mine is a 2 year plus ride whats the estimate cost for servicing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maemi Neutral Newbie October 11, 2008 Share October 11, 2008 Hi, I had my servicing done at Auto Spritze. Mine was a PI car and that was my assigned workshop. Last major (costly) servicing done in Jul 07 at the following price.. can anyone help comment on whether these prices are reasonable or that I should change a workshop? 1. Syn Engine Oil (4 no) - $97 2. Oil Filter - $16 3. Spark Plug (8 no) - $56 4. Air Filter - $28 5.Engine Flush - $22 6. Fuel Treatment - $18 7. Battery - $75 8. Labour to Service - $20 9. FOC Car Wash after servicing Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged October 11, 2008 Share October 11, 2008 what kind of plugs and oil they put in your ride? your PI allow u to go to other wkshp? your current wkshop allow u bringyour own oil and plugs? your batt seems cheap (what ride and when did u svc?) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_ivy Neutral Newbie October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 Usually I went to Altimate Auto and Accessories. Nice services, reasonable price, and many other advantages. Check your PM for details, hope it help.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edenboy Neutral Newbie October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 Just did servicing at Stamford. Now got promo 188 4litres Rev-X engine Oil 4 NGX spark plugs Oil Filter Engine Flush Oil Booster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maemi Neutral Newbie October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 the price was for servicing done in Jul 07. ride is honda fit. not sure what spark plugs those were.. engine oil is mobile. actually that was the assigned workshop by PI. Have warranty for 3 years so prob cant go to other workshops before the 3 yrs' up. so all others look expensive except battery? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 Not that other items look ex, without knowing what your car batt is, can't say for sure it is cheap If you have been to the other threads on batt, you'd know that car batt price recently moved up drastically. Just curious, why need fuel treatment? your plugs are probably copper plugs for that price. If u check prices with Honda stockist, u get a better guage of the pricing your wkshop charges u for your plugs, oil filter, air filter. Check if you can bring your own sync oil. $97 is kinda steep for Mobil 1. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...