Kanr 1st Gear September 3, 2005 Share September 3, 2005 try to bargain more in term of prices and freebies like maintainances and others,thks!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tbkoaycar Neutral Newbie September 3, 2005 Share September 3, 2005 thankx kanr, guest i have been too soft in the bargain... yet wondering how much lower a tst-drv car shall noramlly cost less than brand new car... dont want to b unreasonable to d SE... afraid i will later over do it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tbkoaycar Neutral Newbie September 4, 2005 Share September 4, 2005 My offer given was Auto: $52,988 (Standard version); Manual: $49988 (Standard version), only thing is no much colour to choose from. I end up choose the Auto one. Thou a bit worries about FC for a auto Optra. Anyone can give commence between Auto and Manual Optra? But I got a SMS last Sat from the SE whom served me when I went down there the last time offered me a pre-FL Optra Auto (Std) for $49988 leh... Hi, Is that true? [nosebleed] then my offer wasn't tht great liao... considering for a car tht used for test-driving... did your package come with CD changer, sport rim n guaranteed COE? pls also sms me name/contact of ur SE u talked to, OK? my hp is 98157024... thanks a lot... wanna go n talk to my SE today afternoon, to close deal... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passim 1st Gear October 31, 2005 Share October 31, 2005 If I have seen this post earlier, I would have bought a Optra 5 and not an Altis.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dignatius Neutral Newbie October 31, 2005 Share October 31, 2005 hi to all, i'm new here... also considering altis and optra. but i prefer optra5. may i know if there is difference between optra and optra5 other than one is hatch? do the have the same engine? you guys mentioned about new and old optra... is it out? by the way i can't find the tread given by chevyron (papercup black optra) would like to gather more + points for optra5 to convince my wife to go for optra5 rather than the old boring toyota. thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissy Neutral Newbie October 31, 2005 Share October 31, 2005 Don't regret leh!! Altis is also a good car and in Sillypore there are people who will just close both eyes and buy your car just for the name Toyota. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched October 31, 2005 Share October 31, 2005 It's ok la Bro. Ur heart with Chevy can liao Anyway, Altis is a decent car with good FC. Juz dun drive like the 2 Altis that I've encountered recently can already. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissy Neutral Newbie October 31, 2005 Share October 31, 2005 I think Optra and Optra5 using same engine and specs also more or less same. The main diff is sedan/hatch and some cosmetics. IMO, sedan got more value for money and if you are intending to sell in 3 - 5 years time, cosmetics got no value. But ofcourse the hatch one looks really sporty. I believe the agent charges nearly 2K for leather and sport rim, don't go for it. Jus do it outside, for the same price can get much better sports rim and leather seat outside, really really nicey ones When your wify is in good mood jus bluff this and that and convince her and also book on the same day b4 she change mind. Although wife/girl fren's liking is important, it is the driver's liking that is more important Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis_boi Clutched October 31, 2005 Share October 31, 2005 Between Optra & Optra5, the headlight design is different. Door handle is oso different. Interior wise the air con vent is round & different frm the Optra. Engine wise both r the same. New & Old Optra is actually refering to the Pre Facelift & the Facelift design. Yes the FL Optra is out & on the road already. A trip to the showrm will reveal more differences between the Optra & Optra5. Well, a picture speaks more than a thousand words over here ya Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear October 31, 2005 Share October 31, 2005 Optra 5 is MIK (made in Korea) while Optra is MIT (made in thailand). Additional from Optra 5 1) Switch to fold side mirror 2) Traction control 3) Round air con vent 4) rear seat centre seat belt is the waist type. 5) slightly heavier than the sedan version, hence FC will be worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastcar Neutral Newbie November 4, 2005 Share November 4, 2005 Is the made in Korea Optra 5 build quality better than the made in Thailand Optra sedan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smartie Neutral Newbie November 10, 2005 Share November 10, 2005 Not really......... The Thai factory in Rayong is applying Toyota liked concept on tight quality control .....whereas the korean factory is facing workers union issues and certain car's parts have quality issue due to irresponsible vendors . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxell00 Neutral Newbie November 20, 2005 Share November 20, 2005 altis is better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 20, 2005 Share November 20, 2005 (edited) Why is it better leh? Care to explain further? Edited November 20, 2005 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxell00 Neutral Newbie November 20, 2005 Share November 20, 2005 bought my optra 1.6 in May 05. the problem now is with the rpm. in a few occasions, when the speed is around 80 km/h and i let go of the accelerator, the rpm will move up and down a few times between 2 and 1.3. i don't think that is normal. also, on a few occassion, the rpm will stay at 1.5 for a few minutes when i let go of the accelerator and even when the car is on neutral. anyone know what is wrong? i brought the car to the dealer and they say there is nothing wrong with the car. anyone can help. thanks this is only one of the many problems i have had with the car. the chevrolet logo (gold plastic cover) came off last month. i have asked the dealer to replace it and they are asking for 20 dollars. what can i say. on top of that, the fuel gauge, the FS is terrible, ..... should have bought toyota altis in the first place considering the amount of extra fuel i am paying that will make up for the different in car loan installment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 20, 2005 Share November 20, 2005 bought my optra 1.6 in May 05. the problem now is with the rpm. in a few occasions, when the speed is around 80 km/h and i let go of the accelerator, the rpm will move up and down a few times between 2 and 1.3. i don't think that is normal. It's definitely not normal but there could be a few reasons behind it. Do a search here, i believe someone have the same problem as you. also, on a few occassion, the rpm will stay at 1.5 for a few minutes when i let go of the accelerator and even when the car is on neutral. anyone know what is wrong? i brought the car to the dealer and they say there is nothing wrong with the car. anyone can help. thanks This seems normal, esp when you have been travelling for a while and just came to a standstill. On layman term, this is more like a cooling down session. But I might be wrong coz i'm not driving a Chevy. this is only one of the many problems i have had with the car. the chevrolet logo (gold plastic cover) came off last month. i have asked the dealer to replace it and they are asking for 20 dollars. what can i say. This is more like a wear and tear kind of situation. Did you over-polish it or what? Anyway, $20 is not too much to ask for. on top of that, the fuel gauge, the FS is terrible, ..... should have bought toyota altis in the first place considering the amount of extra fuel i am paying that will make up for the different in car loan installment. I believe you are referring to the FC. For this car, it came with a conti car type of body which is much heavier, thus the higher FC. I think that would have been in your consideration when you brought it. Anyway, Altis have its own problem also. If you had brought the Altis in the 1st place, you might also have different set of complaint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smartie Neutral Newbie November 23, 2005 Share November 23, 2005 Altis Vs Optra , altis is better ??? To me : - altis price is never better - altis acceleration is never better - altis FC is only slightly better by 1-2 km/l - altis handling is one of the worst The only better thing I found in Altis is its interior and dashboard . BUt the more expensive Altis is never free from another set of problems . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched November 23, 2005 Share November 23, 2005 IMO, Altis is more reliable and stable car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...