Liang Neutral Newbie September 26, 2004 Share September 26, 2004 ... lets say if its already a v heavy traffic condition and u r travelling at 90km/h or 100km/h and this fella jus come behind you and want you to siam for him? its quite impossible for u to siam when theres r cars much slower travelling on the left lane. and if u speed up somemore, there will be a fella in white hemlet waving to u le. can this be considered road hogging, i suppose NO ba. but can this be consider tailgating, absolutely YES. ... traffic is v heavy and yet you can go at 90/100 kph on lane 1? Seems like from your post there isn't cars in front blocking you. If so, you are road hogging, I'm afraid. If you don't want to speed up, then move to the left, you can always move back since there is not much traffic on lane 1. Yes, you will lose a bit of time since you will have to slow down, but you don't know why he is moving faster than you. And probably not a good idea to 'play' with the other person by slowing down and speeding up. It just makes the whole situation a lot more dangerous, don't you think so? Peace on the road, man. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie September 26, 2004 Share September 26, 2004 (edited) come on man, i already say lets say. jus putting an example of the whole traffic situation. why put it so serious? u r right peace is v important, so my moral of story, dun tailgate me. i will gif way de. Edited September 26, 2004 by Ahdi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 rifge racer got this screen,time to go dig out and play Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 heh..dun let me see you speeding.. he only speed in NSH with his NOS button. hahahaha..yeah.... don't think i got NOS to catch him up.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 ..., i wun hesitate to give way if he keeps a safe distance from me. how can you tell that the car behind is in a hurry if it keeps a safe distance from you? at 90km/h the recommended "safe" distance is 50 metres ... if you moved aside everytime a vehicle is within 50 metres of your behind ... i dun think you'd be having this discussion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 well.. i think u got ur NOS button on ur ride also. mine too. its juz tt abang's got better sound effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 hahahaha... he got a big heavy foot.... dun think i can step that low for long..... lazy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 This brings to mind ... if you on Lane 1 is travelling at 100km/h or 100kp/h ... similarly for those on Lane 2 as you mentioned ... at 100km/h or 100 kp/h ... are you overtaking at the same speed? If not, why are you on Lane 1 in the first place; 1. Travelling on the same speed as Lane 2 ? 2. Overtaking vehicles at the same speed ? 3. Doesn't that makes you a road-hogger yourself ? Weird isn't it? Sorry but it just doesn't makes sense to me that I should be hogging Lane 1 when I myself is travelling on the same speed as Lane 2 or Lane 3. Ed =============================== Eh.... sorry Ravinged, maybe you didn't read my post carefully. I on lane 1 doing 100km/h. Lane 2 slowed down by cars & trucks all moving very close to each other. No way for me to filter to lane 2 and then come back to lane 1. That's why ALL cars in lane 1 was maintaining speed at 100km/h. I'm a hogger if I have a clear road in front & going slow in middle or right lane & a vehicle is trying to overtake me & I don't give way to him to do so. I'm basically a courteous & law abiding driver , but I just can't stand the way some pple think they own the roads & all must give way to them. Another thing is those pple who don't want to queue when filtering out of an expressway for example. They just shoot to the front of the queue and squeeze in. All the law abiding drivers get inconvenienced by these idiots as the cause the cars in the queue to jam their brakes & it disruptes the smooth flow of the vehicles in the queue on the left lane. These pple I also die, die don't give way to them . Let them get stuck at the split in the road & they have to wait a very long time for a break in the traffic b4 they are able to enter the slip road. Teach them a lesson so next time they will think twice b4 doing it. Only when tp around, you don't see this kind of thing. And pleasssseeee don't tell me they have an urgent matter to attend to . If that's the case, next time you get caught speeding at 150km/h, don't worry. Just tell the judge you "HAD AN URGENT MATTER TO ATTEND TO". Just wait for the judge to let you off without any penalty. Hahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 i think u r wrong in some way ba, u dun get the real meaning of road hog ba.lets say if its already a v heavy traffic condition and u r travelling at 90km/h or 100km/h and this fella jus come behind you and want you to siam for him? its quite impossible for u to siam when theres r cars much slower travelling on the left lane. and if u speed up somemore, there will be a fella in white hemlet waving to u le. can this be considered road hogging, i suppose NO ba. but can this be consider tailgating, absolutely YES. and i jus hate ppl to tailgate me. when i face these ppl, i will slow down, and when he attempts to overtake me, i speed up. i know its inconsiderate to do this, but come to think, did that fella think of the danger when he tailgate me? =========================================== Hi Ahdi, Fully agree with you. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 how can you tell that the car behind is in a hurry if it keeps a safe distance from you? at 90km/h the recommended "safe" distance is 50 metres ... if you moved aside everytime a vehicle is within 50 metres of your behind ... i dun think you'd be having this discussion ========================================= Hi Arkaneslayer, Like I mentioned in my earlier posts. Follow the correct protocol. If you want to pass a vehicle in front, approach to a safe distance, flash your highbeam, if no response, flash again twice. If still no response, flash & toot your horn (not blast your horn). He should have noticed you by now & will take the approriate action when it is safe to do so. If he still refuses to give way, then he is roadhogging. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 i think he belongs to "pedal to metal" club. PTM for short. juz like the HRF ones. if not chairman also perm sec position. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 thats when courtesy drivers like me give way to ppl when i know theres car is behind me, even if hes in a hurry a not. well, if i myself is in a hurry, how shld i siam and slow down for him to be fast when i myself is in a hurry? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 Hi Arkaneslayer, Like I mentioned in my earlier posts. Follow the correct protocol. If you want to pass a vehicle in front, approach to a safe distance, flash your highbeam, if no response, flash again twice. If still no response, flash & toot your horn (not blast your horn). He should have noticed you by now & will take the approriate action when it is safe to do so. If he still refuses to give way, then he is roadhogging. Cheers Are you saying that the car in front should give way when "flashed" & "honked" even when there's a line of cars in front? I find that offensive and very rude irregardless of whether its one flash, short honk, long honk etc.... . Unless there's a clear road ahead and I'm obstructing the rear car from going faster. How much faster would one get by being one car ahead? (or maybe a couple of cars for that matter) At speeds of 90 - 100km/h, it'll be less than a sec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 just came back from town...when i went out at 4pm+, this "in a hurry" truck tailgate me at center lane (CTE) when im was going at 70kmh-80kmh, well, the traffic was not very pack but not that clear as well...(those who travel CTE toward town know lah...always like that during weekend)....just let him follow lor...push me for about 3mins until he find a lobang at 3rd lane.....after he filter to 3rd lane, he's beside me for quite awhile, then he slowed down due to slow traffic....then came back to my backside again...(BTW, at 3rd lane, he push that taxi in front as well)....after awhile, he went back to 3rd lane and filter out to PIE...wonder what's so urgent.... Ehz, not a white Nissan horz? If not, then it's not me liaoz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 we have this same discussion every so often.... in fact too often liao. bottomline is: those who drive faster than me are crazy. those who drive slower than me are road hoggers. so what am i? there is always a case for complain and it's always the other driver's fault... but remember, to others, we are also "the other driver"... let's all go mrt. pls wait behind the yellow line and let passangers alight first before boarding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conservative Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 HI, I think that net of it, you are roadhogging if you are using the overtaking lane and not overtaking. The signs just say " KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING". This should apply whether or not you are at 80kph or 100kph. Lots of people think they are entitled to use the overtaking lane just because they reach a certain speed limit. If I am road hogging unintentionally and I get flashed, I'll definitely SIGNAL first and move left, otherwise the guys behind me will be forced to do another illegal move....overtaking on the left !! Thats dangerous, ie. you try to move left and he also moves left to overtake you. Feel free to comment, argue etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 let's all go mrt. pls wait behind the yellow line and let passangers alight first before boarding. That one also Singaporean got problem. Such a simple instruction, also cannot follow Took the MRT when my car was in for 120K servicing ... quite disappointed to find people who rushed in to board the trains even before those inside had the chance to alight. Wats the bloody hurry ?? Wanna get seats so much ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 Wats the bloody hurry ?? Wanna get seats so much ... if they rush for empty seats, maybe i can still understand. but worse is, no empty seat they also die die must rush into the train... these days if i good mood i will let them rush in first, if not i will elbow them away. hahahaha they can go office and complain to their colleagues that some arseh@le elbow them in train... i dont care ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...