Kelpie 2nd Gear February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 A friend of mine is looking for an old mini, probably the one driven by Mr. Bean. Do you guys know which year is that model? Any lobang? Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muar_chee Neutral Newbie February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 from wad i know... the older mini... latest version is 1997... lobang... not sure... prob wanna try the shop at newton.... but i think there is a bit chop carrot place.... or so i heard.... dun quote me on that.... i personally have not been there yet... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 Autobahn? I believe there's a mini enthusiast club. I don't have the url though. You may want to google it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 look inside the classified... under classic or mini... Mini production from 1959 till late 90s.... from 90s is under Rover. Singapore classic mini usuaully from the 70s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 On a sidetrack, ask your friend to consider the new Mini. The Cooper S is quite a nice drive. Its pretty zippy. Not break neck fast but zippy enough. The engine note is sweet with a metallic snarl and the handling is pretty spot on. Its surprisingly spacious for the front seats Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 That would be Mini/Austin Cooper/Shortfront etc ....... Another version with "sunken in" headlamps is the Clubman ............ Look under Yellow Pages for DAVID AUTO. A workshop which specialises in Mini + other similar age cars .......... Sometimes, he has mini for sale ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 On a sidetrack, ask your friend to consider the new Mini. The Cooper S is quite a nice drive. Its pretty zippy. Not break neck fast but zippy enough. The engine note is sweet with a metallic snarl and the handling is pretty spot on. Its surprisingly spacious for the front seats brudder ........... price diff is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 Oh yes the Cooper S is expensive! LOL.. Buy the Works version and you have to add $13,000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 yah, another thing. Pls ask your fren to test drive it ........... becos it is a different feeling compared to modern cars ......... DUn buy it purely becos it looks cool/cute. Must accept the whole package. I test drove it b4 and my comments are ........... 1. Handling is due to low CG & being small ......... 2. Not that cheap ....... For 08/2011, you are looking @ at least 25K to 35K. 3. Its damn noisy. Engine is behind. 4. Steering is HEAVY. 5. Surprisingly, rear seats are spacious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 If not, your friend can consider the car where Mr Bean runs into all the time! The one with only a wheel in front and is green in color! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 this one ?? HA HA HA [inline robin.jpg] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 bwahahahaha ... I like you dude! Where did you find that pic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 Have owned 2 Minis before and I can agree with most of what you say...don't forget also awkward driving position (like a bus), terrible brakes (unless modified with later Rover 12" discs), and horrible rust. But its a great fun car to drive. Closest thing to a go-kart on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 11, 2005 Share February 11, 2005 easy job ......... just typed mr+bean+3+wheel+car in google and voila !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 12, 2005 Share February 12, 2005 yah, another thing. Pls ask your fren to test drive it ........... becos it is a different feeling compared to modern cars ......... DUn buy it purely becos it looks cool/cute. Must accept the whole package. I test drove it b4 and my comments are ........... 1. Handling is due to low CG & being small ......... 2. Not that cheap ....... For 08/2011, you are looking @ at least 25K to 35K. 3. Its damn noisy. Engine is behind. 4. Steering is HEAVY. 5. Surprisingly, rear seats are spacious. bro, Mini is RR meh, I thought it's FR Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 The Mini is one of the 1st few cars in the world to incorporate a FF layout with a transversely mounted engine, a template that was soon adopted and copied by almost every car manufacturer in the world and its now the most widely used car configuration today Oh and apparently the gearbox is mounted UNDER the engine and hence the small footprint of the powertrain and thus the seemingly Tardis-like interior... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Call David Auto at 64451739, look for David or his son, Brian. It takes time to find a right Mini. Do not hurry into it. Pay David a visit and have a good chat with them to find out if the Mini is the right car for you. I'm not sure if it'll help, but you can tell them Mok recommended you there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 ops, I mean FF, thanks for pointing out ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...