Mok_ Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Yes, the original Mini was a revolutionary car back in 1959. The first FF with a tranversely mounted engine. Almost all 4 pots uses this configuration now. Yes, the gear box is under the engine, but it's actually just one block. They uses the same oil sump. Every oil change changes both the engine and gear oil. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 (edited) You seem like a Mini enthusiast too I had a Clubman as my 1st car back in the late 80s and lavished much love and attention (not to mention $$) on it. It was a car like no other, so alive, so intimate and sorta like "becomes one" with you on the road, diving into corners intuitively, even before your "turn" command from your brain reaches your arms I will always fondly remember it. Just dont drive it when you are having a bad headache or backache though...it will drive u NUTS with its non-existent suspension. Cheers! Edited February 14, 2005 by Toeknee_33 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 (edited) 3. Its damn noisy. Engine is behind. . bro, Mini is RR meh, I thought it's FR [/reply] pai seh ....... my mistake or ignorance ....... cos' that time drove it, bladdy loud noise coming from the rear ....... Edited February 14, 2005 by Othello Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 The Mini was my first car too. Have you tried driving it with a tummy ache? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 pai seh ....... my mistake or ignorance ....... cos' that time drove it, bladdy loud noise coming from the rear ....... maybe muffler "puah kang" lar! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 Haha..hope you didnt stain ur undies! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mymini Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 i had a mini several years back too!! Really loved it! other than the driving position and the rust problem, thought u might want to note a few things when looking at the car. rust prone areas 1)floor board (lift up WHOLE carpet to see) 2)rain gutters on the roof 3)bottom edge of doors & boot lid The oil sump is very low (so is the car), check for damage/ oil leak. This area is prone to getting knocked when parking and going over speed humps. check that water pump is still working (make sure fins have not rusted away...thus making the water circulation weak....leading to overheating)....can check by opening radiator cap, start engine, rev engine.....when reving engine, u should see a "twister" forming in the water inside the radiator. (anyone else got another way to check...feel free to share) Also, if when the engine is running and there are bubbles surfacing in the radiator water, could mean that the cylinder head gasket is blown/crack (quite common....due to over heating engine) If the rubber seals around the windows/windscreen/doors/boot are dry and hard, be prepeared for water to leak. Also ask if the cylinder head has been changed to run on unleaded fuel.....if not, u have to put additive when pumping petrol. Anybody else got any more to add? BUT having said all these, I still loved my mini, would like to own it again. It is after all a very old car.... bound to have some "areas of concern". Sold mine only becos the Mrs said that it was too bumpy, noisy and the in-laws could not fit in the back comfortably. One last thing, if you are used to the performance of the modern cars, u will find the mini quite weak.......unless u got one of those souped-up engines inside! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 ok, since we are at it... 1. Check the logcard to make sure the car is what's written in the logcard. There are many Mini shortfronts running around with clubman's logcard. 2. Avoid Mini with 5 year COE renewal. You cannot renew the COE after that. 3. There are many welded back halfcuts rovers on the road. Avoid them. 4. Do not get a deseamed mini. The rain gutters should run around the car's roof and there should be 4 seams running down 4 corners of the cars. Stock mini is actually quite powerful. The power to weight ratio is very good. However, the brakes can be less than effective sometimes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 14, 2005 Share February 14, 2005 One last thing, if you are used to the performance of the modern cars, u will find the mini quite weak.......unless u got one of those souped-up engines inside! as in 1275 cc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pspider Neutral Newbie February 16, 2005 Share February 16, 2005 Here's the link for singapore mini enthusiasts, hope this helps you out! http://mini-singapore.com/ Have fun!! Oh ya, very hard to describe this in regards to the mini. You want to get a mini not because of the looks alone, no no... it's something more like you want to get it because of the heritage and soul of the mini. (Most importantly is test drive it first, and imagine yourself if you would like to drive it still years down the road. Hope this helps! ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie February 17, 2005 Share February 17, 2005 Wow! The site has went through a major facelift and is alive and kicking! Haven't logged in there for years and my account there still works! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miniforsale Neutral Newbie February 23, 2005 Share February 23, 2005 Hey Kelpie, I'm selling my mini: 1975 Austin Cooper. COE till 2011. Pimp my ride! Plush leather seats, wooden interior, power windows, central locking, 6-CD Alpine sound system, aircon, lovingly restored body in baby blue/ white roof, with chrome detailing. Seeing is believing... To view: [email protected] Check out pix at: http://www.ofoto.com/BrowsePhotos.jsp?show...ide%3Dtrue&Ux=0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minilexus Neutral Newbie November 8, 2005 Share November 8, 2005 A friend of mine is looking for an old mini, probably the one driven by Mr. Bean. Do you guys know which year is that model? Any lobang? Thank you. Regards, 1976 CLASSIC MINI COOPER RACE CAR 4 SALE Drop me a email at [email protected] if you are interested as i am always travelling click the following link for more detail ... http://pachome1.pacific.net.sg/~projectd/mini.htm http://pachome1.pacific.net.sg/~projectd/mini2.htm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...