Wymun Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 (edited) Just came back from Frankfurt on duty travel and had the ride of my life on the Autobahn... I sat in my German colleague's Volvo V40 (M) - Diesel variant, who fetched me back from the training center to the airport. He was going at 205km/h at some stretches and was averaging over 190km/h during the most part!!! Quite amazing that the car feels totally stable at that speed. I could imagine my puny Sunny would probably start falling apart at even above 180km/h.... Best part of all, we got overtaken by some bimmers and Mercs!! It's quite something to see a car driving at 200km/h and suddenly, a set of lights from the rear approaching at ludicrous speeds!! I have a new respect for German drivers. One may expect that these guys may just be skilled at speeding on large expressways, but not so. During one part of the expressway, there was one stretch undergoing roadworks, such that about 2.5 lanes were cordoned off, which only left about 1.5 lanes passable. This left very little clearance on either side for a car each to pass the 1.5 lanes (2 at a time). These chaps were going at 100km/h with only 20-30cm clearance at each side of the lane!! Amazing!! Edited December 6, 2002 by Wymun ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 Most conti cars feels very planted at high speeds. That was a great experience indeed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 Hi I can certainly vouch for you when u talk abt the high speed stability of the V40. Been there, done that (faster than 205 kmh, actually). Conti cars r very good and feels very planted at high speed cruising. In fact, the faster it goes, the better the car feels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 actually it's not abt the skills lah, it's more of the culture.....ever wonder why they call it the autobahn.....no speed limit....why? the government in fact did put a speed limit before on the stretch, but ended up causing more accidents cos most drivers doze off on the wheel, so they tried out the new method, no limit....surprisely, the accident rate drops drastically after that....this shows that it's more easy to get into accident when there is a speed limit is being imposed rather than no speed limit.....which is very very good for all the drivers and riders Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 (edited) At higher speeds you feel firmly rooted to the ground, 200km/h and you dun even feel a thing...The weight and the aerodynamics of it plays a big part.. The R&D that goes into it to accentuate this fact is also there! A big part of it! Edited December 6, 2002 by E46RadX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 wow that must have been an experience of a lifetime! You should have gotten an international licence and take the wheel for a short stretch! I know I would if I had the chance to fly to GErmany... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 no worries mate, u will have your chance when u finish your studies.....(am i rite , hope so) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 I'll have to agree with you on that. Very stable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 I'm done with my studies 6 months ago! Now working where got time to travel? If only I had the money when I was still in school... the irony of life. Lots of free time when studying, but damn broke. Now working, got a bit of money, but no time to travel... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 aiyoh, no hurry....who knows in a few mths/ years down the road.....u will be going there with your love one on honeymoon liao...then at that time, take it as an excuse to rent a fierce and awesome car and wack it along the autobahn lah.....in fact, i myself also never tried that....but one of my so called german friend told me abt his exhilerating experience.....sports car kenna wack by super super mod sedan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E21s Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 At first, I was wondering why higher speed will have fewer accidents. Then I realised, any driver travelling above 200 km/h better be alert and stay awake, his heart beat must be faster than normal. Hence, lesser accidents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 Bingo, U are rite on track....when at high speed...drivers tend to be more concentrate on the road, rather then dozing off which is the main reason that reduce the accidents rate....but apparently....not many countries government are encouraging that..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 Haha thanks! Hope to visit the famous autobahn one day. Will like Mecca to us petrolheads! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 Last year, I drove from London to Frankfurt for the Motor Show. Drove through France, Belgium and then Germany. It was only on the autobahns that I felt comfortable 'cruising' at 220kmph in the E300 Kompressor. The car felt increasingly stable at high speeds; the autobahns are designed/built to allow safe driving at high speeds; (as Mazdie said) the driving culture is so disciplined and courteous. Put these all together and the confidence grows very quickly. Everything becomes more predictable, and there are no surprises that you can think off. Driving awareness increases tremendously, but not in a stressed way. Rather, its so stimulating and relaxing at the same time and just enjoyable. True driving pleasure!!! Another curious observation: The German enthusiasts like to modify their 4-door sedans 'stealthily'. Meaning, lots of performance mods (I'm sure), but minimal styling mods except where absolutely functional. Then, hardly any badging/stickers and almost everything is blacked-out! Even at 220 kmph, I was passed (Shwoooshed!!!) so many times by these Stealth Machines, and never knew what hit me!!! I like that: All Action, no talk. Respect, man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 "......I was passed (Shwoooshed!!!) so many times by these Stealth Machines, and never knew what hit me!!! I like that: All Action, no talk. Respect, man... " Like ur style sir....we have to meet up sometime when u are back! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 (edited) Yep, that's why u hardly see fast Conti cars wif loud spoilers, gaudy stickers, etc instead of "all show n no go" unlike many cars in SG. U r right, spoilers on fast contis r usually wind tunnel tested n actually aid aerodynamics n not simply for aesthetics. The point abt fast driving n alertness certainly holds true. Maybe that's why we have so many roadhoggers in SG, all falling asleep becoz of the ridiculous speed limit.... Edited December 6, 2002 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 At higher speeds you feel firmly rooted to the ground, 200km/h and you dun even feel a thing...The weight and the aerodynamics of it plays a big part.. The R&D that goes into it to accentuate this fact is also there! A big part of it! Used to wonder why folks pay a premium for conti cars (besides the badge) when a regular jap car does the job. Now i'm beginning to understand where the $$ went to - proper R&D. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wymun Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Author Share December 6, 2002 Yup. Certainly an unforgettable one. Especially driving at 100km/h with so little clearance by the side - that was more scary IMHO than exceeding 200km/h on the stretch.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...