Autobahn Experience

Wymun

" Some SG drivers are already bringing local driving habits to NS Highway already. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif "

Sad, isn't it. It's so embarassing when coming up to this 'lone ranger' with no other cars within miles of sight, and its ON THE RIGHT LANE, and it has a SG Plate !!! blush.gifblush.gifblush.gif

I do travel on the right lane on the NS highway only because it is not as bumpy as the left lane, mad.gif else the entire journey will be very bone jaring. dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

However, I do filter to the left when i see faster vehicles approaching. Posted Image

As long as you don't impede other ppls way, there's no wrong driving on the overtaking lane. [thumbsup] There's no hard and fast rules. Just give way to vehicle faster than you. [nod]

...Just give way to vehicle faster than you...

agree.....

but sometimes my right leg like to play punk with me leh....dun wanna leg go of the accelerator [laugh][laugh][:p]

"Er...............what I'm trying to say is that SG ppl seen littering in M'sia............. "

hehe..okie...what I'm trying to understand is what even with the fines here they still litter and when they go to toher countries they continue doing so knowing that no one bothers. [shakehead]

Well, you can speed all you like and as long as you are faster, there should be no problem. But if your foot is about to break a hole on the footwell and yet the car behind you is gaining, you know it's time to move over! [:p]

"But, all I ask is the courtesy of giving way on the right lane for the overtaking traffic...... the thing is, they insisted on traveling on the right lane, at their own pace.... "

When i encounter such driving habit, i tend to see who they are and some are really innocent driver who probably never drives out of Singapore, they have no such knowledge of giving way, pure ignorance so cannot blame. They need eduction by driving in others road or to be told whats the DO & DON'T.

The other typr of driver is the 'kiasu' mentality. "i paid the road tax, so i am ENTITLE to the road, wherever i want to be even of the right lane at 80km/h, so sue me!' especially i am paying so much for car and taxes.

in any case, no point getting mad cos things will not change and u will bump into *at least one on the road everyday.

Edited by Jman888

Somehow, road hogging seems to be getting worse n worse lately. Last time, dun remember feeling so irritated driving in SG. [mad]

Maybe becoz more people r buying new cars nowadays, so they tend to be more precious n drive S-L-O-W?? (new car mah, so revving the car beyond 3000rpm will cause total destruction of the engine....) [:|]

Now that I've read all your frustrations too, I feel better that I'm not the only one who wished that I was driving Mr Bond's Q-modified AM Vanquish and clear the right lane in front of me with some red-tipped projectiles from behind the grill! sly.gif

I do travel on the right lane on the NS highway only because it is not as bumpy as the left lane, mad.gif else the entire journey will be very bone jaring. dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

However, I do filter to the left when i see faster vehicles approaching. nod.gif

Thanks, Edwyn. I didn't realise this was the case. Maybe because I always use a 'large' barge for long distances, which smoothens out the bumps. Well, as long as the car moves left (assuming they are as considerate as you are thumbsup.gif ) and let us pass, I'll try to be less impatient. wink.gif

"Last time, dun remember feeling so irritated driving in SG"

the last time- u mean 10 years ago?? [laugh] maybe during that time is all the 'lao-chiao' driving and most get to drive in M'sia (and the old highway) so they understand but now are the tai-tai and 1st time car owner with their new car [:/]

"wished that I was driving Mr Bond's Q-modified AM Vanquish and clear the right lane in front of me with some red-tipped projectiles from behind the grill!"

[sly] very soon everyone also want to have one of the JB'car, then slowly we have the 'mad-max' on the road [sweatdrop]

We are nouveau rich mah, so must be given full attention! sly.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Just wondering whether S'poreans really have the capacity to learn new behaviour (ie., courtesy, considerate behaviour, etc) or, have we just managed to suppressed our 'undesirable' behaviour? Only to 'release' our worst form overseas where there are no FINES, or CANING, or DEMERIT points to worry about. Sad. bigcry.gif

Feeling frustrated while driving seems to be a daily affair for me now in Singapore. We need to educate ppl to cultivate good and mannered driving habits.

Guys, while having vent all these frustrations, about bad road and basic manners of Singaporeans, in and out of the country............

I have also to add that we are somehow lucky to be born or living here. Maybe not all you guys feel that way, but at least I do.

I maybe whining about all the driving frustration, but at least the living standard and conditions here is something which we could be proud of.

There are a minority of ppl who would bring about bad reputation of the country they would represent, everywhere around the world. Some Caucasians still believe that they are much superior than the Asians and you could see their snobbish and arrogant behavior in different parts of Asia. There are more beggars on the streets in cities of bigger and richer countries than you would see here in singapore, some goes for robberies, rape and murder......

I was trying to vent frustration at the beginning of this thread and try to understand from you guys if you share the same thoughts or experiences......... Maybe we should ponder on how we could/ the society could improve such bad road manners among Singaporean, so that the SG roads would be a much safer and enjoyable place for our driving experiences.

Cheers.

Yeah, often we gripe a lot about the gahmen but in reality, i'm sure we can't imagine SG without the MIW running the show. Having lived overseas, i agree wif u that SG isn't really such a bad place to live. [;)]

Now, if only we could do something about those damn freakin' BAD drivers on our roads........ [:|] Any suggestions??

Edited by Soya

Have seen a lot of ugliness overseas too.... not only in singapore. And the income tax levels in most countries are also much higher than in Singapore.

About the education..... maybe the authorities could start posting ads/messages to re-educate these morons about road manners and hogging hazards.