Can use distilled water?

Paladin

u r rite...individual should use battery water...1/2 lit can top-up a few times....the used of distilled water is adoptable to fleet of vehicles...cost efficiency [:)]

Most of the batteries fail prematurely not because of the purity of the distilled water used but rather due to a)constant low level of distilled water inside the batteries, b)very high engine bay temp,c) improper charging due to freguent start and stop drive and poor dc output from the alternator ( invertor not functioning porperly, so actually you have AC going into the battery). Battery under capacity is one of the most common cause - resulting in high flow of amp into the battery thereby casuing high temp built up which is not good for the battery and cell plates and casing. Poor mounting and rusting battery base plate are main cause for battery self discharge overtime.

Edited by Yeobh

Is it? Maybe I'll take look.. [thumbsup]

But have to make special trip...

Edited by Paladin

Distilled water is easily available mah.. while purchasing of battery water has to be specially arrange.

Anyone stock battery water?

For me maybe my battery is dying lor.. seems to need to topup rather frequent leh..

[reply]

I post the question because I remember having reading somewhere that battery water is actually distilled water.

Actually a 1.5L ice mountain is selling at 65cts in NTUC I think, while a 1L battery water is selling at $1.30 in Shell petrol station.

The wordings on the battery water bottle gives me the impression that its more than just simple distilled water. (Maybe its just marketing) Can't remember the exact wordings, but I'd rather use battery water instead. Anyway, 1 bottle can last a long time, so the costs saving compare to buying distilled water at NTUC isn't much.smile.gif

Yes distilled water or de-ionised water is the way to go. Have been using rain water for donkey years until I give up my car 10 yrs ago.

Tap water is actually Ok, but because it is being piped by metal pipes and it also contain chlorine therefore it is not de-ionised and have too much other foreign particles.All these are in a way harmful to the electrolysis process inside the battery

Rain water also can? U really hardcore.. [thumbsup]

I guess the main reason could be due to the heavy metals from our tap water and not chlorine.

I think the word 'battery water' is loosely used here. The electrolyte for the battery is sulphuric acid while the 'battery water' from the kiosk is basically water with the ions and impurities removed.

If your battery is still strong enough to start your engine, it is ok to top up using the 'battery water', however, it the battery is already weak, is is wiser to drive down to a battery shop. Turn off aircon, and all un-necessary lights, etc [sweatdrop]

Yes rain water , best during a heavy shower, you have to collect them with plastic sheet and non metal continer.Right, heavy metal is the main cause of short ciruit inside the battery

Some near dead battery can be re-vitalised by removing the sulphate coating deposited on the cell plates.You will need to have a slow trick charger designed for de-sulphation. The process can last as long as 72 hours depending on battery amp/hr and condition.

If DI water and distilled water are pure enough, they are almost synonymous. Both should be 18megaohm water.

if that is the case, DI water and Distilled water still consider 2 different type of water rite?? [dizzy]

Differently processed water. DI goes through RO system then positive ion resin (remove negative ions) then go through negative ion resin (remove positive ions). The resulting water is them filtered and viola! DI water.

Distilled water is more energy sapping process. Water is heated and then condensed on cool glass chamber. Viola distilled water.

IMHO, most of the "distilled water" is RO/DI water. The process is not energy intensive. Just pump the water through at high pressure.

Distilled water is made through a simple distillation process using a boiler and a condenser, otherwise it cannot be labelled as such. The product is pure water, this is what the battery requires.

Tap water contains dissolved salts of calcium, sodium and magnesium in the form of carbonates and also metal from the piping and should not be used for batteries.

The purity of rain water depends on where you live. Near industrial areas, as it falls down, it can collect impurities which could damage the battery.

A healthy battery does not need to be topped up frequently, but one that is failing will become quite thirsty!

Yes rain water , best during a heavy shower, you have to collect them with plastic sheet and non metal continer

true...rain water is oso used...

if no rain water...coconut water oso can... [;)]

that how we topped-up ur monster tipper, trailer truck & bulldozer

's batteries...when we were clearing up the jungle for construction in the offshore island where supplies were difficult to come by...

Some near dead battery can be re-vitalised by removing the sulphate coating deposited on the cell plates.You will need to have a slow trick charger designed for de-sulphation. The process can last as long as 72 hours depending on battery amp/hr and condition.

Those battery additives, will they help in minimising sulphate coating? I think this is what's written on the battery additive bottle, but don't know how effective it is. gossip.gif

IMO, distilled water better to be comsumed by human [sunny] battery water of course only fit for battery. best no replace battery water with distilled water. Although many ppl have done that, better not... since you do not save a lot of $ by using battery water [nod].

Hi , just wondering if it is possible to use bottled distilled water as battery water?

If I am not wrong those battery water selling in the petrol station are actually just distilled water right?

Anyone using distilled water as replacement?