Folder access for registered members only

Gadgeter

Folder access for registered members only  

71 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes, we should do it.
    • No, I don't feel comfortable disclosing my data
    • Please post an reply/pm to me if you have any suggestion.

Geez I don't know what you guys are talking about [confused] I'm totally lost [confused]

Anyway... yeah I'm busy with the new house lah. What love nest KNN??? I'm a straight guy who loves slim toned ladies with nice nice legs KNN [mad][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Will make it down one fine day lah. Just don't know when leh hehe [bigcry]

Now I know which buttons to push. sly.gif

Until you come down, the label shall remain. Straight? As straight as a winter twig you are. laugh.gif

Okay don't be mad, I'm just kidding. I don't think you're one. laugh.gif So there you are, my disclaimer, please don't sue me. wave.gif

My thoughts.

If the objective of certain 'exclusive' folders is to prevent prying eyes from looking at what is being discussed, I think this would be a grave mistake. Look what happened to the AStar blogger case. Wasn't his blog password-protected? You just need a disgrunted member who have access to these folders to sabo everyone else.

If the objective of this exercise is to promote responsible postings, then there is nothing to hid really even if the posting is placed in the open. So the key here is responsibility, being responsible for what you have posted, instead of hiding behind a false wall of security.

That being said, I am not against the idea of a members' lounge for more 'lao jiao' members to chit chat. But it should never be used as a "safe" haven based on what I said before. And any car-related posts should still have to go back to the public folders.

Hi Admin,

In philosophy, you do have it quite right there. smile.gif At the end of the day, its all about personal responsibility. Private or not, that's not gonna be any help.

I think perhaps from the moderators, the alternative to some structured access rights would be heavier moderating work. More vigilance to weed out the troublemakers, more scrutiny to flag out the potential overheating-threads. As we know, that would mean a very heavy workload for them. sweatdrop.gif

Gone were the days when MCF just started, most of the heavy posters were people we knew by real names and face. Daily postings were number only by a couple of hundreds. Take yesterday, 1,168 posts. 35,000++ posts in the last 1 month.

I'm not sure, the mods will be in a better position to comment. Just a thought. smile.gif

Okay better don't talk nonsense, else this gets lost again.

Let's put it back up.

Gad

DarkLord

Panda

Linus

Seaweed

Diesel

Vit4wd

BMW320i

Diesel

BrandonS

Decibel

Dtvox

Chimp

Mzrmazda3

Freemen

Superseven

Wahlao

alfpoon

Voted Yes!

i voted "yes"... but the for certain "Folders" only so as not to deprive other users/guests from searching and reading car related stuffs

also the criteria to become a "registered" member should not be to troublesome & costly $$ (ie paid subscription)

I agree with your view. nod.gif

If there is an exclusive folder for members only, it may gives a false impression that the discission are private, and the general public would not be able to view such discussion. This may promote 'irresponsible' posting rather than minimise it.

However, if every posting is accessible to all for viewing, poster may think twice before writing down anything. This in turn may facilitate a more responsible posting, cos you'll never know who's watching.sly.gif

Gad

DarkLord

Panda

Linus

Seaweed

Diesel

Vit4wd

BMW320i

Diesel

BrandonS

Decibel