Getz FL

Ahhuat

Didn't own one, or test driven it. But have heard that it is a strong enough car. Imagine a 1.6litre DOHC engine in the 1.3litre SOHC car's body, of course "wu la" lah! Best if you get the 1.6 Manual one. I have heard that it can hit below 10sec for 0-100km/h.

FC, so far only Picanto in the K range have respectable FC figures. The rest are mostly about 13km/L. But 1.6 auto getz is about 10-11km/L. If FC is a concern, forget Getz and go for something like Siron, Vios.

what about the Lancer? I am hitting 15-16km/litre

last tank I managed 16.69km/litre(Shell98) and 15.89km/litre(Shell95) on the Lancer.

Edited by Erikkson

wah.. not bad sia.. which lancer u drivin? the CS3 ah? auto or manual? the most i can hit is 15km/l.. (but i have a lot of ICE stuff in the boot.. ).. ..mines a CS3 manual..but i drive very 'carefully'.. don anihow rev, drive without aircon when outside is cool

Well the usual fuel-saving techniques apply. Driving a manual transmission.

- aircon is on

- rpm never exceed 3000 (5th gear at 3k rpm is 100km/h...pretty fast liao)

- always shift to highest possible gear, depending on speed

- always anticipate traffic conditions, shift to neutral at least 50-100m ahead (red lights)

- MAXIMIZE "gliding" before traffic lights and downslopes

- 90km/h on highways (pretty slow with some drivers)

- minimise braking at corners (using Bridgestone G3)

- light foot on the accelerator, moderate acceleration (between 2-2.5k rpm)

- maintain constant rpm between 2k to 3k in city and highway driving (varies with different car models)

- minimise engine idling (off engine when waiting, move off immediately after start ignition)

- plan the route beforehand

- taking the longer less steep route than going UP a steep slope, or getting stuck in a JAM

- spare tyre and fire extinguisher in the boot, otherwise nothing else

- no bodykits or spoilers

Stock car except for the sports 15" rims, running on MINERAL OIL. No mythical gadgets like voltage stabilizers, magnets, carbon fibre bonnets, etc.

FC on par with Vios, to silence detractors.

Main thing is to glide, glide and more gliding (neutral gear on manual, not possible on auto), and minimise braking.

If u notice, all the above methods involve modding the driver, no funny "fuel-saving" gadgets, my humble 2 cents opinion. [:)]

Edited by Erikkson

yeah, i thought so too. I suspected that you were driving a manual. A lot of fuel saving skills can only be applied to manuals. although free wheeling is dangerous, it does help save petrol.

furthermore, i realise that you keep to a lower speed on the expressway, or should i say the legal limit [laugh][laugh]

that saves fuel as well.

i undstd.

thanx

wah.. not bad sia.. which lancer u drivin? the CS3 ah? auto or manual? the most i can hit is 15km/l.. (but i have a lot of ICE stuff in the boot.. ).. ..mines a CS3 manual..but i drive very 'carefully'.. don anihow rev, drive without aircon when outside is cool

thanks thanks

glad to hear u are getting good FC on ur Lancer

15km/litre is not too shabby compared with Vios

not sure why detractors keep harping on Lancer's poor FC...its the driver's habit.

My humble 2 cents [:)]

Edited by Erikkson

yeah, i thought so too. I suspected that you were driving a manual. A lot of fuel saving skills can only be applied to manuals. although free wheeling is dangerous, it does help save petrol.

furthermore, i realise that you keep to a lower speed on the expressway, or should i say the legal limit

that saves fuel as well.

i undstd.

thanx

hi bro, freewheeling may sound dangerous, but it is not so, as long as the right foot is always ready to step on the brake after u shift gear to neutral [:)]

6 yrs of driving and freewheeling...only 1 minor accident (cos I looking at [gorgeous] ) [laugh]

I think 80-90km/hr is a good balance between saving time and avoiding wastage of fuel due to drag, no? Just a humble opinion.

haha.. aniway.. must also see.. my ICE equiptment.. heavy leh.. heheh.. but since i like my music loud, gotta drive with windows down or if not i go deaf.. heheh.. but unless afternoon sun.. then on air con.. eheheh

lancer back seat.. more " luxurious" then vios.. and vios so light.. plus VVTI technology cannot qie lor.. sians diao..

but aniway.. with my current stuff in the boot and gettin that FC>. i tink not bad liao.. wait itll i take out spare tire.. still tryin to get myself to believe in the 'fix a flat' can for tire flats.. he

seems like Jap car beat kor car flat in the FC.. alot of ppl choose kor car cos its much cheaper than jap, but seem like kor car is gettin more ex nowadys too; no not much resale value.

what about the Lancer? I am hitting 15-16km/litre

last tank I managed 16.69km/litre(Shell98) and 15.89km/litre(Shell95) on the Lancer.

Generally Lancer can clock about 13-14kpl. You did well with your figures, but we need to compare the general range clocks by the majority. Cause your figure might be unattendable for others, or you might be clocking much better figure with the more FC-wise cars.

In general, Lancer will only pass as a normal FC car. Compared to Siron's claim, it is still far behind.

The new Getz is in Sg now. The 1.4 comes only in auto, price is $50K. 1.1L version comes only in manual, arriving in Nov, costs $42K. 1.6L comes in 3 doors and 5 doors, 3 doors is in manual, and 5 doors is in auto, price $49.5K and $53K respectively. [flowerface]

don't overlook korean cars just bcos they are heavy drinkers. FC may be important but it also depends very much on the mileage u clock.

take for instance:

if u spend $500 on petrol a month on Car A(which is quite a lot of travelling. even if u don't travel tat much, just assume the high price is bcos of petrol price hikes in future [sweatdrop] ), tat's $6000 per yr. Say u keep the car for 7 yrs, the petrol spent will be $42,000.

if u buy Car B which has 20% better FC, tat will mean about $8000 of petrol savings. but if Car B costs $13K more than Car A, will you still buy it? A good comparison is the Jazz and the Getz. if i'm not wrong, the price difference is still easily $10K+++

of course, the above is just a simplistic way of calculating the difference. if Car B costs more, likelihoood it will come with more air bags, ABS, etc etc. while Car A will scrimp on some features here and there

Generally Lancer can clock about 13-14kpl. You did well with your figures, but we need to compare the general range clocks by the majority. Cause your figure might be unattendable for others, or you might be clocking much better figure with the more FC-wise cars.

In general, Lancer will only pass as a normal FC car. Compared to Siron's claim, it is still far behind.

well if we compare cars in the same price category, like the Nissan Sunny and the Toyota Vios, the Lancer's FC isn't that shabby :)