Steadfast Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 Ermm. now days u go to first servicing, agent say fully syntectic.. What you think? mineral good? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 After my 1k servicing, already changed to fully syn liao and ask me back at 10k. I think 5k can skip liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondag8 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 Hmmm..Guess mineral just good enough for the 1st 5-10k..After which fully-syn can kick in! Think Honda got it's own fully-syn also, but kinda x. Heard amsoil is quite good, havn't try before though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steadfast Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 I am going back at 6K for checking soon. thinking of changing engine oil. any airwave drivers to recommend good engine oil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 Hi guys, I had my ride installed with cool&lite including the MR. 95% heat rejection for MR and 80% on all the other glass including the JDM tinted sections. All using clear films. It's the highest heat rejection with a pass in LTA even for the tinted glass. Had considered 3M and VKool but 3M is ceramic base compared to C&L which is metallic base (correct me if I am wrong) and VKool does not have film that will pass LTA for the JDM tinted glass plus MR they uses two sheets of film overlapping to cover the whole roof instead of one piece. So far, it's really good as compare to my previous ride which I had film from this Andy and Bill (close shop liao) which is of low quality. A gauge of how good the film is working is by how I use the aircon. The cool knob is set at almost the same for day and night time. On extremely hot sunny days, maybe jus a notch up for the coolness control to level at 9 o'clock. Most of the time it is lesser then that. For engine oil, although my appointed workshop reccomended syn, I still tell them to use mineral. I believe mineral oil plays a part in the engine running in and will continue to use mineral oil until 10k servicing before switching to full syn which I will probably use Mobil 1 5W40 or 5W50. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 Nicks / Rim / Fuel / FC / Highway / Urban 1) Allan2082 : 15" / VPower / 13.5km/l 2) bronco77 : 15" / Shell98 / 13.8 3) Jamstart : 15" / SPC95 / 11.5-12.3 / 40% / 60% (~430km) 4) Zac_2707 : 14" / Shell98 / 16.8 5) Karu : 15" / SPC95 / 11 6) Karu : 15" / Esso98 / 12.5 7) TeamMax : 14" / Shell95 / 15 8) Steadfast: 17'" / Shell 98 / 12.5-13km/ 40% /60% (450km~460km) 9) Akira: 15"/Esso98/11.5-13.5km/l 10) gene2: 14"/Esso95/13-14km/l / 50% / 50% 11) airwave001 : 16"/ shell98 12.95km/l 70/30% 12) airwave001 : 16" / shell 95 13km/l 70/30% -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 13) airwave001 : 16" / esso95 12km/l! 14) Rolla: 16"/ Mobil 8000 13-14km/l/ 40/60 15) HondaG8: 14" /CALTEX platinum 14km-15KM/l 65/35% 16) Bumbhead: 15" / mobil 5000 / 11.5 - 12.7km/l / 70/30 sticking back to shell... anyone tried CALTEX?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zac_2707 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 (edited) I think 5W50 maybe a bit too thick... Some say 35 or 40 is good enough... Going for my 1K servicing this week... How much does it cost for the cool&lite ? thanks. Edited May 2, 2006 by Zac_2707 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwave001 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 schaffear 10w30. Recommended by genie47 from this forum. check it out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwave001 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2006 Share May 2, 2006 so i believe they need to cut the area around the IU? coz metallic base Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomartin Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Hi Bro...How much does the tinting cost in all...interested to do it...any workshop to recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jomartin Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Hey Bros, Im thinking of changing to leathers for my ride..as the current cloth material seems to trap dust fairly easily. anyone can recommend a good brand that i can go for? and roughly how much it will cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwin_yeo Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Nicks / Rim / Fuel / FC / Highway / Urban 1) Allan2082 : 15" / VPower / 13.5km/l 2) bronco77 : 15" / Shell98 / 13.8 3) Jamstart : 15" / SPC95 / 11.5-12.3 / 40% / 60% (~430km) 4) Zac_2707 : 14" / Shell98 / 16.8 5) Karu : 15" / SPC95 / 11 6) Karu : 15" / Esso98 / 12.5 7) TeamMax : 14" / Shell95 / 15 8) Steadfast: 17'" / Shell 98 / 12.5-13km/ 40% /60% (450km~460km) 9) Akira: 15"/Esso98/11.5-13.5km/l 10) gene2: 14"/Esso95/13-14km/l / 50% / 50% 11) airwave001 : 16"/ shell98 12.95km/l 70/30% 12) airwave001 : 16" / shell 95 13km/l 70/30% -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 13) airwave001 : 16" / esso95 12km/l! 14) Rolla: 16"/ Mobil 8000 13-14km/l/ 40/60 15) HondaG8: 14" /CALTEX platinum 14km-15KM/l 65/35% 16) Bumbhead: 15" / mobil 5000 / 11.5 - 12.7km/l / 70/30 17)edwin_yeo: 16" / shell 95 / 13.5km/l / 65/35 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 I think 5W50 maybe a bit too thick...Some say 35 or 40 is good enough... Going for my 1K servicing this week... How much does it cost for the cool&lite ? thanks. Hi Zac, For the cool and lite, the package that I did was for $900 after a discount of 10%. For my case, I got it at a better prize from my car dealer as I purchased the car from them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Hi Airwave001, Nope, there is no need to cut a hole for the IU. It works fine so far whenever I pass the ERP gantry. To my knowledge, VKool is also metallic base and they dun cut a hole for the IU too. Had wanted VKool too if not for their film failing for the JDM tinted sections. I am not that techinical a person but from what I had gathered so far, ceramic base films sort of absorbs the heat and dissipates it. For metallic base film, it works by deflecting the heat. One more thing I notice for C&L is that the film is cut just nice along the edges so you dun see a gap. Not too bad on the workmanship. My previous ride has a 5mm gap from the rubber seal and edge of the whole window. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Yo Bro, The Cool and Lite film I think can only be done at their workshop at toh guan road. Check out their website for more information. http://www.coolnlite.com/ I can give you the contact for the person in C&L that handled my sales if you are interested. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwave001 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Vcool told me they need to cut because they worried it might affect ERP later. With this, i decided not to go for vcool. ok lar, for $900, u deserves the best product liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bumbhead Neutral Newbie May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Thanks bro... btw, your airwave sticker is chio!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear May 3, 2006 Share May 3, 2006 Nicks / Rim / Fuel / FC / Highway / Urban 1) Allan2082 : 15" / VPower / 13.5km/l 2) bronco77 : 15" / Shell98 / 13.8 3) Jamstart : 15" / SPC95 / 11.5-12.3 / 40% / 60% (~430km) 4) Zac_2707 : 14" / Shell98 / 16.8 5) Karu : 15" / SPC95 / 11 6) Karu : 15" / Esso98 / 12.5 7) TeamMax : 14" / Shell95 / 15 8) Steadfast: 17'" / Shell 98 / 12.5-13km/ 40% /60% (450km~460km) 9) Akira: 15"/Esso98/11.5-13.5km/l 10) gene2: 14"/Esso95/13-14km/l / 50% / 50% 11) airwave001 : 16"/ shell98 12.95km/l 70/30% 12) airwave001 : 16" / shell 95 13km/l 70/30% -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 13) airwave001 : 16" / esso95 12km/l! 14) Rolla: 16"/ Mobil 8000 13-14km/l/ 40/60 15) HondaG8: 14" /CALTEX platinum 14km-15KM/l 65/35% 16) Bumbhead: 15" / mobil 5000 / 11.5 - 12.7km/l / 70/30 sticking back to shell... anyone tried CALTEX?? Bro, your FC seems to be so so nia. Do you know why? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...