Honda Airwave

Tploh

Juz used up the Caltex 95 tank. Here's the FC. Not too impressive also... [thumbsdown]

Nicks / Rim / Fuel / FC / Highway / Urban

1) Allan2082 : 15" / VPower / 13.5km/l

2) bronco77 : 15" / Shell98 / 13.8

3) Jamstart : 15" / SPC95 / 11.5-12.3 / 40% / 60% (~430km)

4) Zac_2707 : 14" / Shell98 / 16.8

5) Karu : 15" / SPC95 / 11 / 40% / 60%

6) Karu : 15" / Esso98 / 12.5 / 40% / 60%

Karu : 15" / Caltex95 Silver / 11.7 / 40% / 60%

7) TeamMax : 14" / Shell95 / 15

8) Steadfast: 17'" / Shell 98 / 12.5-13km/ 40% /60% (450km~460km)

9) Akira: 15"/Esso98/11.5-13.5km/l

10) gene2: 14"/Esso95/13-14km/l / 50% / 50%

11) airwave001 : 16"/ shell98 12.95km/l 70/30%

12) airwave001 : 16" / shell 95 13km/l 70/30%

13) airwave001 : 16" / esso95 12km/l!

14) Rolla: 16"/ Mobil 8000 13-14km/l/ 40/60

15) HondaG8: 14" /CALTEX platinum 14km-15KM/l 65/35%

16) Bumbhead: 15" / mobil 5000 / 11.5 - 12.7km/l / 70/30

Yo bro,

Yep, the FC is not as impressive as I would have expected [:(] I believe my changed tires (195/55-15 eagle LS2000)) and rims (Voltec Inter Milan-->anyone knows this rims?) which looks heavy plays a part in this. Also, I believe the factory fitted bodykits might add weight as well. [rolleyes] But my ride is still pretty new jus after 1k servicing. I do believe that it will get abit better later when the engine is more run in. Will use mineral oil for the ride till 10k as I believe this plays a part as well. Also, a run in NSH for a return trip to maybe Malacca on the high rev range after the 5K servicing may improve the FC. Jus my 2 cents as this is the routine I did to my previous ride. [;)] I read somewhere on the internet where they use an unauthodox way in running in the engine of the car by reving it hard when it's new. Says this will get the engine to run in properly when the piston seals are soft and will ultimately improve FC as well (too technical for me).... Duno if any bros here have heard this?

Had went in to the japanese airwave forum and read some of the forummers claims that some can even reach astonding FC of 21-25km/l... [dizzy] I believe their traffic condition and road is much suitable for attaining such results and will not be the case here... [laugh]

Wow, above 20km/L? I think weather plays a part too. It's cooler there, so the engine will feel less stress thus that equates to a less heavy right foot.

Just finished my tank of CALTEX Plantinum 37litre, clocked 535km..

Meter indicate 14.2 - 15.5km/l throughout. Manual calculation ~ 14.5km/l

Now feeding it with Caltex 95...Getting about 16+ on the meter.

yup, im on caltex... but verysad not alot stations ard... if im too switch to caltex, must travel for 15min to get to the kiosks. North area

hi guys,

sorry to have to hijack ur thread.. since all the airwave owners are here, need some help..

i'm tryin to convince my dad to change to an airwave. currently his ride is a grand vitara and its drinking petrol like nothing. so for long distant driving (ie go airport or tuas), he take my car(lancer).he say save petrol. then his big car put at home bai sui, defeats purpose of owning car rite.. and yet he want the vitara to "tai huang", look big.

i've been hinting to him to look at the airwave for a LONG time, then finally, one day he went to ubi car mart to look at some cars with his friend. then he came across the airwave.

sad thing was, when he asked the salesman can test drive, the salesman said " u confirm buying?"

that one put him off liao.

so this are my reasons for buying the airwave to him:

1) save petrol

2) 1.5L, road tax cheaper

3) he want his swift sports, waste $$, so small.

4)bigger car than the swift

this are HIS reasons NOT to get the airwave:

1) its a PI car, parts will be DAMM Expensive

2) 1.5L for car that size, sure no power and will drag.

anyone can give me more good reasons to psycho him into gettin the airwave?

thanks guys. hope to be able to join ur club soon!hehe

very simple.....juz find a way to make him read this forum abt airwave n u can be sure tat he will be convinced to buy one for u......

u are so fortunate to hav such a father.....sweetie pie...

haha.. he not into forum one leh.. give him sammyboy forum to read abt PAP and stuff, he also lazy to read.. hahahah

Hi Headshok

I also got the same problem like your dad. When ask PI for test drive. They say cannot until you confirm want to buy. But then how to confirm buying if you cannot test drive? Even if after test drive and you don't like it, does this mean still must buy? $60+K is not small change.

Also ask them about where to get spare parts incase bang infront and back. They say their workshop will handle it. They say MBM Wheelpower at Sin Ming Auto Center carry stock. Went down there and ask about availability of front bumper, back bumper, Front headlight, rear door, windscreen etc. The reply "Sorry we don't carry stock" But when I indicated that I was going to buy the airwave the lady replied "no problem. we have the spare parts". What the hell is this?

Sounds to me that they are interested to get me to buy the car and then let them service/repair my car and earn/suck my money only.

Can somebody confirm if there is any autoshop who carrys spare parts for the airwave?

Ban

I dun think they will have the stock..perhaps what they do is that they remove the bumper and stuff like that from other Airwave first..

absolutely...........

hav been checking around and none...i mean not a single workshop or traders bring in airwave spare parts.....

guess tis going to be some kind of new biz opportunity.........hmmmmm

Ok, u wan test drive? my PI lets me... to my BIG surprise... i was prepared just to see oni until he start the engine...

my pi is h** y*** at sin ming...

go figure and happy convincing

Oh yah, somemore test drive a RED airwave, head turner.... but i dun care, juz ram and ram.. upslope downslope... really TESTDRIVE mah... then after that drive to their "warehouse" inside some condominium carpark... entire floor is filled with PI cars... went and choose my very own airwave. unpolished and dusty but nicely wrapped. To me this all seems like a honest deal, 9 days later i got my car liao, but of course, i acknowledged i paid extra lah. u can really hard bargain with PIs and push to the limit, but i guez u will end up frus and mad, totally spoilt the mood of buying car. but havnt said that, car price drop 2k average, so maybe airwave with MR can go sub 60k?!? Happy bargaining!

Hi Jamstart,

Mind giving me the address and contact number of BHP PI? Most PI only deal with buy & sell car. For service & spare parts they have another contract workshop to handle it.

I have checked with my auto shop friend from Soon Aik Auto. They say they don't keep stock for airwave parts and has never sold anything meant for this car. Must go hunting round Singapore.

Heard from another PI, if Singapore don't parts have must go Thailand our nearest neighbour for parts.

Good Luck to all Airwave owners and drive safe.

Ban

Hi Headshok

I also got the same problem like your dad. When ask PI for test drive. They say cannot until you confirm want to buy. But then how to confirm buying if you cannot test drive? Even if after test drive and you don't like it, does this mean still must buy? $60+K is not small change.

Also ask them about where to get spare parts incase bang infront and back. They say their workshop will handle it. They say MBM Wheelpower at Sin Ming Auto Center carry stock. Went down there and ask about availability of front bumper, back bumper, Front headlight, rear door, windscreen etc. The reply "Sorry we don't carry stock" But when I indicated that I was going to buy the airwave the lady replied "no problem. we have the spare parts". What the hell is this?

Sounds to me that they are interested to get me to buy the car and then let them service/repair my car and earn/suck my money only.

Can somebody confirm if there is any autoshop who carrys spare parts for the airwave?

Ban

then this kind of PI, u just pui and walk away... as if they are the only PIs around... [thumbsdown]

Please take note that many PI has subcontracted their auto service and repair works to MBM. Atleast I found out 3 PI whose auto workshop is using them.