CPF minimum sum to be revised upwards to S$131,000

SINGAPORE: From July, the prevailing CPF minimum sum (MS) will be revised upwards to S$131,000, up from S$123,000. The CPF Board said the new MS will apply to members who turn 55 from July 1 2011 to June 30 2012.

It was announced in August 2003, that the minimum sum would be raised gradually to reach S$120,000 (in 2003 dollars) in 2013.

CPF Board said the increase in minimum sum, which includes an adjustment for inflation, is to ensure that Singaporeans set aside sufficient savings for their retirement.

Members who can set aside the MS fully in cash can apply to commence their monthly payouts of S$1,170 when they reach their draw down age.

Also from July, the Medisave Minimum Sum (MMS) will be raised to S$36,000 from S$34,500.

Members will be able to withdraw their Medisave savings in excess of the MMS at or after age 55.

The maximum balance a member may have in his Medisave Account, known as the Medisave Contribution Ceiling (MCC), is fixed at S$5,000 above MMS and this would be increased correspondingly to S$41,000, from S$39,500.

Any Medisave contribution in excess of the prevailing MCC will be transferred to the member's Special Account if he is below age 55 or to his Retirement Account if he is above age 55 and has a MS shortfall.

The revisions to MMS and MCC are to ensure that Singaporeans have sufficient savings to meet their healthcare expenses, and have been adjusted for inflation.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1132239/1/.html

So fast increase after election. Wonder will I ever see my money?

It's easier if you stop thinking about ever hoping to see your money again. [laugh]

Just max it out in your housing and kiss it goodbye.

This is a very good idea.

It is foolish to just leave it inside the CPF.

It's easier if you stop thinking about ever hoping to see your money again. [laugh]

Just max it out in your housing and kiss it goodbye.

agree...i share the same thinking as you...

But the thing is...i havent had any housing yet...

Everytime i go online n check my acc....i feel so "rich"

Jia lat liao [shakehead][shakehead]

This is a very good idea.

It is foolish to just leave it inside the CPF.

I'm sure everyone has different philosophy when it comes to personal financial planning.

But for me I always cringe when people tell me that they use lump sum in cash to finish their housing loans earlier.

Even if your own investment cannot beat the interest rates in OA/SA accounts you are still exchanging your liquid cash into money locked into CPF.

Money that you may never see again since they keep changing the rules and upping the minimum sums.

To each his own I guess.

Personally cash is king to me.

agree...i share the same thinking as you...

But the thing is...i havent had any housing yet...

Everytime i go online n check my acc....i feel so "rich"

Jia lat liao [shakehead][shakehead]

Your children will be very happy. [laugh]

Ya but not everyone got so much $ leh.. Some people every month also hard to survive let alone have spare cash.. Haiz..

Edited by Yewheng

Ya but not everyone got so much $ leh.. Some people every month also hard to survive let alone have spare cash.. Haiz..

Yup I understand.

I was talking about some of my friends who likes to dump some of their savings annually to pay down their housing loans.

I just don't understand why when you have liquid cash you would convert that to locked down accounts.

Haiz............really wonder the $ in my CPF is really mine or not [:(]

Which democratic country got this type of rule huh??? [shakehead]

minimum sum .... how nice the word.

should rename it to lockdown (forgone) sum till you're screwed

as al pacino said

can see but cannot touch ... ok ... can smell but cannot taste .... really screwed

Haiz............really wonder the $ in my CPF is really mine or not [:(]

Which democratic country got this type of rule huh??? [shakehead]

Lion City country....LOL

I remember seeing an article on newspaper that 1 guy who was CPF loaded died penniless

Really hope the garment can change or revised abit..

I am sure some of Singaporean has fallen into this category