2bfree Neutral Newbie August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 that is just so loser-ish. Β maybe each pay for themselves will be kinda weird. but why not take turns to pay for each other? forever the guy pay meh so lame. Β Β Β So nw u noe there r many loserish local girls out there. It isnt abt where the gals r frm, its wat they do. I oso do hope I can find a local wife. β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 thai girls nice, but must get the chinese fair type. not really into the native thai. one good thing abt them is they are domesticated and submissive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 (edited) let's go for a dinner+movie, only you and me. 1st time, i let you pay because ladies first. hahahahahaha i dont mind one hor. Β ehh i heard that sentence before. from my brother LOL a$s hole! haha.. Β walao s hole censored ar haha. Edited August 18, 2009 by 1l0v3you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 So nw u noe there r many loserish local girls out there. It isnt abt where the gals r frm, its wat they do. I oso do hope I can find a local wife. haha.. good luck! dont go clubs find girls. majority of them are those can chop than chop type. Β best is find at your own work place i think. at least you know the girl is independent and willing to earn her own money. rather than some other girls who is desperately lookin for a richie rich. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 hahahahahaha i dont mind one hor. Β ehh i heard that sentence before. from my brother LOL a$s hole! haha.. Β walao s hole censored ar haha. Β so are you those "thai girls nice, but must get the chinese fair type"??? ok, race harmony. -peace- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 so are you those "thai girls nice, but must get the chinese fair type"??? ok, race harmony. -peace- =x so shallow. choosing wife or pro lol. Β no leh. if i'm a guy i only sarpok local girls. ya ya i also shallow minded haha. Β Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear August 18, 2009 Author Share August 18, 2009 thanks for the advice! Β I will talk to him, but he must make the decision. Β But till then, I'd not say the girl is totally bad for him. That'd be unfair. Β Β Β Β Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear August 18, 2009 Author Share August 18, 2009 Yes, they are brought up to do housework. Β Like what I've mentioned, she will volunteer to help out with chores at my friend's house. Unlike our local girls.... Β Β Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 Yes, they are brought up to do housework. Β Like what I've mentioned, she will volunteer to help out with chores at my friend's house. Unlike our local girls.... Sounds like working as a maid leh. Sometimes, it can be embarrassing for both the husband and the host for the wife to voluteer to help out with the chores. It is like the host is not doing a good job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 "ICA tear families apart" ??? I think it is more a case of the couple either knowingly or unknowingly breaking the law. The law does not care if you are ignorant or not. If you take issue with this, then you should take issue with the fact that there are laws. Period. Β If ppl come in supposedly to work and end up getting pregnant and want to marry and become PR and Singaporean, I can tell you, Singaporeans will become minority soon. The law is clear, permit is for foreigner to come here to work only, not to get pregnant or get married. There are ways around it though. Better get the official advice on the way forward before commiting. Β I believe such cases are not uncommon. Just highlighting one extreme case and make sweeping statement doesn't seem very clever. An example: Β Huang Na, the little girl died so terribly and cruelly! Singapore must be a really dangerous place to live in and the population must be cruel and warped ! Β Is the above statement fair? From from the it! Β Β It doesn't matter. Our ICA got no heart, and will not care if they tear families apart. Β I only know too well because long long time ago, I was one of those volunteers who helped out at MPS session. I have seen a few cases like this where the family is torn apart, mummy as kids at Philipines, father here working. Appealled more than 10 years, still don't allow in, not even a social visit pass for 2 weeks. We were just short of writing to PM and Law Minister then, because the MP I worked with really got no power one. Β I seriously kid you not, and that was not an isolated case, I had 2 other almost similar cases like this. Somemore they did write in to MOM for permission to get married, which MOM rejected, and they still got married overseas nevertheless. Β And this is not some made up story, it's based on the actual case I can remember. Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antirobo Neutral Newbie August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 Go read up SBF "The Legal Geylang Scene" section.. Tons of threads on relationships with Thai gals... Β Bro, what is SBF? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 "ICA tear families apart" ??? I think it is more a case of the couple either knowingly or unknowingly breaking the law. The law does not care if you are ignorant or not. If you take issue with this, then you should take issue with the fact that there are laws. Period. Β If ppl come in supposedly to work and end up getting pregnant and want to marry and become PR and Singaporean, I can tell you, Singaporeans will become minority soon. The law is clear, permit is for foreigner to come here to work only, not to get pregnant or get married. There are ways around it though. Better get the official advice on the way forward before commiting. Β er..sorry hor..take a look at the various gahment institution..they are FLOODED(and i mean literally) with non-locals..some on our garment scholarships..and these people, when they graduate, will be offered PR automatically..I am already feeling like a minority whenever i walk around in NUS.. Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 I agree with Alechi. Β There are obviously many people around who will seek to abuse the system if such a safeguard is not in place. The rules have always been clear and firm; it's not as if they suddenly started to reject people after they got pregnant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 Everything can look fine in the first year or even first two years of any relationship. It's only after one spends more time and live with each other in close quarters for some time will real identities reveal themselves. Β Unfortunately, for you friend he only has two choices: 1) Gamble. Hope she's for real and marry her. 2) Not gamble and assume and let her go back. And if a long-distance relationship works out, then perhaps consider marriage in a year or two. Β If he never hears from her again, then she may well be a fake. Β There's really nothing else that can be done other than to go for it and hope for the best, or just let her go and hope her heart stays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 18, 2009 Share August 18, 2009 "ICA tear families apart" ??? I think it is more a case of the couple either knowingly or unknowingly breaking the law. The law does not care if you are ignorant or not. If you take issue with this, then you should take issue with the fact that there are laws. Period. Β If ppl come in supposedly to work and end up getting pregnant and want to marry and become PR and Singaporean, I can tell you, Singaporeans will become minority soon. The law is clear, permit is for foreigner to come here to work only, not to get pregnant or get married. There are ways around it though. Better get the official advice on the way forward before commiting. Β I believe such cases are not uncommon. Just highlighting one extreme case and make sweeping statement doesn't seem very clever. An example: Β Huang Na, the little girl died so terribly and cruelly! Singapore must be a really dangerous place to live in and the population must be cruel and warped ! Β Is the above statement fair? From from the it! Many of these people were ignorant of the rules, they flouted the rules thinking that after that the govt will give them some form of exceptions. Β Maybe it's not so much the ICA tear them apart, but the fact that they flouted the rules and are living the consequences for their ignorance. It's in the enforcement of the draconian rules that these families were torn apart. Β Still I feel that the ICA should adopt a more humane approach to things. As long as every such cases they investigate and it's a genuine case of two person who love each other and desire to set up a family together, they should allow them to marry and set up family here. After all it's a free world and we all should be free to marry whoever we love and settle down in the family we were born in to set up a family. Β Isn't that a basic human right? Β There's nothing clever in strict enforement of rule, but it takes a great man / woman who would look beyond the rules and administer it with some humanity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear August 19, 2009 Share August 19, 2009 Bro, what is SBF? Β SammyBoy Forums - singapore's No. 1 site for information relating to sex, the industry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azrielsc 1st Gear August 19, 2009 Share August 19, 2009 Hello there. Β I know reading all these comments can be discouraging for your friend but let me tell you an experience of mine that may provide a little spark in your friend's relationship with that Thai girl. Β I was in his shoes (or somewhat) and after 5yrs of courtship, my Thai gf and I finally tied the knot and are happily married for the past 2 yrs here in Singapore. Maybe I'm blessed/lucky/heads and heels in love or just plain dumb but we worked through every single obstacle that stood in our way and we reached the goal that we wanted, and that was to marry and start a family here in Singapore. My family has been extremely supportive and loves her like their own daughter. Now nagging for a 1st child, mati! Hahaha! Β Here's the gist of it: We met each other in 2001 and started a long distance relationship till 2005. In 2006, we wanted to stay together so we applied for a Student Visa and at the same time, she can improve her English. After a year, we decided to get married so we applied for marriage and had a sweet ROM at my house amongst family and friends. That was in 2007. She's now on a 1 year LTSVP (Long Term Social Visit Pass) renewed annually till we apply for PR next year. This pass allows her multiple visits in and out of Singapore. Β Cultural Differences? Make sure that your friend understands and mainly accepts the fact that its a very separate and different culture. What they say and what they do are 2 very separate things! Took me a long time to do that. Get a Eng-Thai dictionary! Read up on the culture, immerse himself in it. Make the effort to do it. Β Cultural differences and stigma will follow your friend in Singapore. Can he take it? Immigration will be a nightmare. Ignorant people will make snide remarks and comments. Reading these past posts reflect the stigma (eg: money-grabbers/geylang/sammyboy/etc). Its unfortunate but sometimes its the truth. There's no denying that. Β Thailand is a different kind. Make your friend understand that there will be relatives and/or family members that will hint to his gf that she is marrying upwards and will start to ask for this and that. Your friend's gf has to be strong enough not to be swayed by them. Β HOWEVER, if your friend and his gf is willing to brave the storm and go through with it, their love will be much stronger for it and it may lay a strong foundation for their future together. Β So, if your friend wants to know more (ICA procedures/etc) and/or speak to me or my wife, you can PM me and we can arrange for a meet, if he's comfortable. I'm willing to help since I know that when I was in his shoes 5yrs ago, I didn't have anyone to turn to for advice! Β Cheerio! Sam Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 19, 2009 Share August 19, 2009 Quite a few of my ang mo colleagues here married a Thai wife and they are very happily married. Their wives also do visit them here once in a while. They had setup nice homes back in Thailand and would visit when they are on their long break. Β Not all Thai wives are money grabbers. They come across to me as independent and very loving towards their husband. Β Β β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...