Kangadrool Supersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 Now if I feel rich, I would just head off to hawker or FC stalls that sell Jap or Kor food. It's cheaper than what nasi padang....... If I feel poor, I just order cheap kind of mixed vege rice or chick rice. Dunno leh. I find famous eating places usually dun live up to its name. Once you see a lot of patrons and the food establishment struggling to keep up means lousy food quality/taste. Hygiene can also be an issue too. It's just my personal view. I haven't eat nasi padang for a long time. If the Chinese got economic rice, nasi padang will be premium rice. The prices can be quite ridiculous and I have no idea on the prices of the dishes. It's any price they say. Feel ripped off. Like that I might as well spend a little more and eat at a cafe. Well, I would say good luck to most nasi padang stalls/restaurants. You will not be missed. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 I love Nasi Padang. My favourite eatery for NP was opposite Cathay Building, not Rendezvous, but 4 or 5 doors along. Used to eat there at lunchtime 3 or 4 times a week but that was 30 or so years ago. I seldom eat NP these days because of the pricing. It's never made clear what the exact prices are and I always find the cost much higher per plate than I reckon it should be. And I dislike being conned or having an argument about it. haha i try not to have huge expectations of any food i'm recommended nowadays. We always tend to overhype things. Now when i recommend things, i will just say that i will eat that stall if I'm here. haha thanks but i don't work in town. This is so true. Whether it's in Singapore or elsewhere other people's recommendations just don't live up to expectations. Always a let down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 3RD Lok yang here the canteen theres also one , food not bad but the price in consistent you get to scoop your own side dish and they quote the price. quite ex also; Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 next time need to travel overseas to eat malay-muslim food, sob Damn sad to hear that. Malay-Muslim food is getting lesser in numbers. Back in the 80s and 90s, still see them in coffeshops. Nowadays Muslim food is either Indian-Muslim or fast food. Very sick of it. Luckily, I can still get my share of Malay food just across the causeway. I'm Chinese btw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 I love Nasi Padang. My favourite eatery for NP was opposite Cathay Building, not Rendezvous, but 4 or 5 doors along. Used to eat there at lunchtime 3 or 4 times a week but that was 30 or so years ago. in a terrace house along the road before the election board? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 actually, the new rent of $11k is bloody cheap. Break even problem is BS. look at the size of the shop. at least 3000 sq ft, including behind kitchen and toilets. Those food court stalls, already paying $7k-10k rental. I know someone who just took over a small cafe in a community centre (CC) that is about 1,200-1,400 sq ft, already paying $5k rental. And it comes with alot of restriction on opening hours and the customer base is very limited and small. Only those who goes to the community centre (CC) will patronise this cafe. This nasi pandang stall captures the Great world City customers and office workers, plus night crawlers before and after pub drinking. Zouk is just nearby. Private homes all around. Where got break even? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 actually, the new rent of $11k is bloody cheap. Break even problem is BS. look at the size of the shop. at least 3000 sq ft, including behind kitchen and toilets. Those food court stalls, already paying $7k-10k rental. I know someone who just took over a small cafe in a community centre (CC) that is about 1,200-1,400 sq ft, already paying $5k rental. And it comes with alot of restriction on opening hours and the customer base is very limited and small. Only those who goes to the community centre (CC) will patronise this cafe. This nasi pandang stall captures the Great world City customers and office workers, plus night crawlers before and after pub drinking. Zouk is just nearby. Private homes all around. Where got break even? maybe break even after paying himself 10k/mth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 My Wife & I call this place the "Black Shop" Nasi Pandang place … *Si Peh Gui* … The food is not bad, but the price is *Wah Lan Ehhh* … Go there like kena "Robert Vegetable Head* like that … & no parking some more … I don't know how many Donkey Years never go there already … Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 actually, the new rent of $11k is bloody cheap. Break even problem is BS. look at the size of the shop. at least 3000 sq ft, including behind kitchen and toilets. Those food court stalls, already paying $7k-10k rental. I know someone who just took over a small cafe in a community centre (CC) that is about 1,200-1,400 sq ft, already paying $5k rental. And it comes with alot of restriction on opening hours and the customer base is very limited and small. Only those who goes to the community centre (CC) will patronise this cafe. This nasi pandang stall captures the Great world City customers and office workers, plus night crawlers before and after pub drinking. Zouk is just nearby. Private homes all around. Where got break even? if everyone say their food not nice and expensive, then their income will drop mah, so blame the rental lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 (edited) yup, but could be 20K also. It's not incorrect 'cos Profit = Revenue - costs Revenue = collections/sales Costs = rental, utilities, food costs, salaries (workers + own helpers + own salary), etc. Almost all hawkers in SG will tell you either they just breakeven or making loss (after factoring paying themselves which can be any amount). Any profits left afer this can also become loss 'cos use this profit amount and put it as "write-offs" due to bad debts (customers on credit) or whatsnot. maybe break even after paying himself 10k/mth Edited March 13, 2014 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 yup, but could be 20K also. It's not incorrect 'cos Profit = Revenue - costs Revenue = collections/sales Costs = rental, utilities, food costs, salaries (workers + own helpers + own salary), etc. Almost all hawkers in SG will tell you either they just breakeven or making loss (after factoring paying themselves which can be any amount). I think many hawkers are just getting by earning abt 1-2k/month. esp in the food courts. The Koufu and kopitiam around my workplace, the rental is going at 9+k/month for just a stall. I calculated that they need to sell at least few hundred bowls of food a day just to survive like that. Not easy. I know some people just do until lease end then just give up. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 (edited) Yup, those are small timers. Those big timers with branches all over are not. They are making tons of money using cheap foreign labour and depressed local wages. There's no way you can make a living today as a hawker by being yourself and doing it in one stall. Even doctors also same same. Most surviving including mixed rice vege stalls have many branches all over the island and boss drive Merc and Jag around. I think many hawkers are just getting by earning abt 1-2k/month. esp in the food courts. The Koufu and kopitiam around my workplace, the rental is going at 9+k/month for just a stall. I calculated that they need to sell at least few hundred bowls of food a day just to survive like that. Not easy. I know some people just do until lease end then just give up. Edited March 13, 2014 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 (edited) I work in a SME so i won't criticise what the bosses are doing. Utlimately do business is to earn $. But really rentals are now too big a cost to encourage any real entrepreneurial spirit. U have to play safe. sell the same foods that u know people will eat. Indian-muslim, mixed rice, fishball noodles, nasi lemak, fish soup/noodle stall are the only ones that can survive. No korean or japanese food. Simply they find it hard to sell enough bowls or volume to survive. even if they charge 2 dollars more per bowl. I'm sure u will notice even western stalls are disappearing. They just cant sell enough to cover the rental + some salary. Yup, those are small timers. Those big timers with branches all over are not. They are making tons of money using cheap foreign labour and depressed local wages. There's no way you can make a living today as a hawker by being yourself and doing it in one stall. Even doctors also same same. Most surviving including mixed rice vege stalls have many branches all over the island and boss drive Merc and Jag around. Edited March 13, 2014 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 林益民粥品店营业一年关门 12/03/2014 by 郭倩婷 前年11月,美食家林益民协助女婿吴永强和女儿林爱心创业开“真粥道”。(图/档案照) 因人手短缺、租金和成本上涨,美食家林益民女儿和女婿创立的“真粥道”粥品店,在营业1年后,本星期天黯然结束营业。 shop own by celebrity also end up the same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 I think many hawkers are just getting by earning abt 1-2k/month. esp in the food courts. The Koufu and kopitiam around my workplace, the rental is going at 9+k/month for just a stall. I calculated that they need to sell at least few hundred bowls of food a day just to survive like that. Not easy. I know some people just do until lease end then just give up. actually from my memory of that nasi pandang place, i remembered it as a very cramped and food ordering process is very slow. Customers get frustrated because of the time taken They can definitely be more efficient in the operations. They can make it faster and a cleaner place. Someone should buy over the business and revamp it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 actually, the new rent of $11k is bloody cheap. Break even problem is BS. it is a wonder that his previous rent was super duper cheap @ $1000 for all these years. He must have made a killing past 10 years then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 (edited) it is a wonder that his previous rent was super duper cheap @ $1000 for all these years. He must have made a killing past 10 years then gone up by $1000 not from $1000 all these years. Edited March 13, 2014 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic March 13, 2014 Share March 13, 2014 it is a wonder that his previous rent was super duper cheap @ $1000 for all these years. He must have made a killing past 10 years then i dont know what to say and i am not stomping my feet.......hahaha. U got read properly bor? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...