Headshok 1st Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 thought all officers who pass out from OCS sure have some sort of talent that make them officers. got condemmed ones meh? afterall i always heard that it not easy to complete ocs i condemned occifer, sword of honor candidate screw up mission, hor lan + lead assault lose control of the platoon cos he brain freeze on the spot., become my fault cos i clear enemy too fast for him. but i happy, cos when i commission, i wear number 3, every nite can sleep on my own bed or go town kai kai.. hahaha... down side was put on weight lor:( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 What was your placing in your course when you pass out of your ocs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 (edited) thought all officers who pass out from OCS sure have some sort of talent that make them officers. got condemmed ones meh? afterall i always heard that it not easy to complete ocs I guess you have never encounter situations whereby it's very challenging to choose good/talented ppl amongst a talentless group of ppl. No fish, prawn or sotong also can lah. Edited August 10, 2009 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 10, 2009 Author Share August 10, 2009 What was your placing in your course when you pass out of your ocs? small fry. me not an officer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 thought all officers who pass out from OCS sure have some sort of talent that make them officers. got condemmed ones meh? afterall i always heard that it not easy to complete ocs There will always be exceptions to the rule. Thats life.. take a look in your office and ask yourself are all your managers "qualified"? Are you "buay song" with some managers performance? Lifes like that la... the managers will also say they have some workers they rather sack but cannot. But generally, you dont become a manager or officer without some substance in the line of work/army. In the case of OCS, during my time, in addition to instructors, peer appraisal in BMT carries a heavy weight in admission into OCS. So you can act all you want in front of instructors, but if your platoon mates reveal you as a wayang king... gone liao. When you get into OCS, they again give you a chance, to drop out early if you really dont want it. So in a way, you also decide who goes to OCS. Now for the exceptions.. of cos I said they exist liao. I knew of a scholarship holder, during OCS IPPT/ObstacleCourse barely pass, cant command in the field, peer appraisal no need to say, OCS platoon sergeant tell him he dont deserve to be an officer. He went to the Navy, last I heard flying high, he doesnt fit what we feel an officer should be, but his area of study fits what the Navy needed I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 Upon commissioning, there are mainly 2 layers of selection. The cadet himself will need to make his preference as to what he desires : 1. Command 2. Instructional and 3. Staff. The plt APC and PC will then try to match the 'job openings' with the choices of the cadet, his results and then their assessment of his capabilities. The top 10 percent will mostly go to Unit as PC and stay in OCS as instructors. But then, some of the top also goes to units to be DyS3 when they are deemed to be the less physical type and more of the brainy/planning type. The rest are then mostly matched as closely to what the cadet himself prefers. It is always better to let a person do what he wants, and performs better than force the appointment down his throat. My PC then was very open. He conducted an interview before to our commissioning and I was given the option to stay in OCS or 3GDS as PC.. I chose the former. I can still remembered that during my batch, a vast number of postings is needed to 3GDS. During one of the comms parade rehearsal, OCS DY Cmd actually came down and rallied for us to go to 3Gds (he is a guardsman, LTC Kwek JL if you guys remembers). It was memorable coz he asked openly 'Who doesnt want to go to GDs?". My plt mate, actually raised his hand.. DY was shocked. He asked back "Why?". My plt mate simply ans "No reason. I just dont want to". You can imagine how pissed the LTC was. In the end he was posted to BMT as Pc. I think at the end of the day, other than the physical ability (fitness), it is really the attitude of the officer. If he wants to make a difference and gain something out of the posting, I am sure he can and there are a lot to learn no matter what the posting is. To ans TS, mostly the Top cadets are siphoned out first and the rest is mostly a matching exercise. So not really about condemned or what. And I never regret being an officer. I am proud to be a part of the Officer's Corp. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 i agree. to lead, to excel and to overcome! tango! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 i agree. to lead, to excel and to overcome! tango! which batch are u from? Me from 32/98 Echo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 There will always be exceptions to the rule. Thats life.. take a look in your office and ask yourself are all your managers "qualified"? Are you "buay song" with some managers performance? Lifes like that la... the managers will also say they have some workers they rather sack but cannot. But generally, you dont become a manager or officer without some substance in the line of work/army. ... Right, it's just like any other job. Some managers are respected, while some are not. As a manager, it doesn't mean that you have to be 'chummy' or lenient or charismatic to be popular with underlings. What really matters is that you can LEAD and provide DIRECTION, and defend your underlings if things do go wrong. Nothing scares me more than a manager who has no direction, or who just follows trends and see what others are doing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtis 4th Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 Interesting, you must have commissioned somewhat similar timing as i did. I remember LTC Kwek JL... And you are OCS instructor as well... Hmmmm, only difference is, i chose to go unit but too bad, i LL chosen as OCS instructor. But at least i got to go grds for a few months. In OCS, there are always a few in every batch who do not do the officers corp proud. All i can say is, ppl who condemn ocifers are usually non-ocifers, and they could have met some osifers who did not fully display the true traits of a leader. All i can say is, condemners probably should take a good look at themselves before passing comments. For my part, I took a long route, and completed my SISPEC training and based on performance, opted to move to OCS to continue further training as an officer cadet. Of course, my NS experience was more than 10 years ago, but my experience is that the OCS course is several times more challenging and demanding than any specialist course. Not just the physical aspect, but the constant challenges to your mental strength during the course, especially when you are at your most tired state, separated the leaders from the pretenders. It was something i took away and has served me well in my life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 is it true that "average" or "poor" performance cadets officers will be posted to HQ S1,S2 once they graduated from OCS? And those with good performance will be posted to units as platoon commanders? does it matter if the ocifer can perform and care for its men regardless of the posting? if your question does bother for the would-be ocifer, then he is truly not fit to be an ocifer to lead and gain respect from his men? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sagara 4th Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 which batch are u from? Me from 32/98 Echo. Hey I remember LTC Kwek. I from 33/98 Alpha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 which batch are u from? Me from 32/98 Echo. wah, directly my senior.... 36/99 Echo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 Hey I remember LTC Kwek. I from 33/98 Alpha. 33/98 Sagara! which platoon?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grx80 Neutral Newbie August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 wah, directly my senior.... 36/99 Echo me from 36/99 Echo too... cannot remember which platoon liao... maybe platoon 2... my PC is CPT Chua Boon Chuan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 the common fact is that we are all human beings whether officer or what!! Whether u want to be a officer or not...I think it a personal choice and whether you are up to the task or not...I am not a officer neither a supporter of military life...but just somehow I am unlucky to be appointed as the CSM yrs back during my first ICT!!!...yes if someone here can tell me how usually a CSM or RSM appointment is selected...Please tell me...i am very keen to know why I get HIT...I didn't try hard to push it away because....well they give me a couple of hundred bucks free every year as additional responsibility allowance....Well this at least help me cope with the ever increasing insurance of my car....ha ha ha.... anyway...they give me some money...so usually I am the very last few to leave when all the men book out...So sometime I just give those young one bar or two bar kids a lift if it is on my way....Usually the stanadard answer when ask so why u want to be a officer will be as following " 1) NS pay higher.... 2) Next time resume can write.... 3) Siong a while...maybe after that more relax....at least is a officer... 4) The sword can sell some money.... 5) Since die die cannot get away liao....just be officer lor...at least more steady.... Yes...no one tell me about protecting the country etc...maybe they scare I laugh at them or they very very shy....But then afterall....I think most of them still share my same belief....Since u are here already....why not make the best out of it....Yes....even u you hate it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 10, 2009 Share August 10, 2009 the common fact is that we are all human beings whether officer or what!! Whether u want to be a officer or not...I think it a personal choice and whether you are up to the task or not...I am not a officer neither a supporter of military life...but just somehow I am unlucky to be appointed as the CSM yrs back during my first ICT!!!...yes if someone here can tell me how usually a CSM or RSM appointment is selected...Please tell me...i am very keen to know why I get HIT...I didn't try hard to push it away because....well they give me a couple of hundred bucks free every year as additional responsibility allowance....Well this at least help me cope with the ever increasing insurance of my car....ha ha ha.... anyway...they give me some money...so usually I am the very last few to leave when all the men book out...So sometime I just give those young one bar or two bar kids a lift if it is on my way....Usually the stanadard answer when ask so why u want to be a officer will be as following " 1) NS pay higher.... 2) Next time resume can write.... 3) Siong a while...maybe after that more relax....at least is a officer... 4) The sword can sell some money.... 5) Since die die cannot get away liao....just be officer lor...at least more steady.... Yes...no one tell me about protecting the country etc...maybe they scare I laugh at them or they very very shy....But then afterall....I think most of them still share my same belief....Since u are here already....why not make the best out of it....Yes....even u you hate it... bro, you must been suay suay chosen by the unti S1 or Cc during succession planning. that is how they choose appt holders. I noe it cos I did it.. look thru records, if fit the requirements ( age, courses attended, no. of highkeysleft), then we pick out to be appointed for the position. i'm 48/02 Echo..heheh.. 3 batches some of u guys junior. my buddy was ultra white horse( minister son), but he kenna tekkan by PC, but his navigation and leadership skills were number 1! if not for his fitness and slackness, he should hae been at least SOM. though he dam slack and nua, but in the field when leading, he is dam effective and efficient, no BS, no wayang, get it done fast and good one time. we almost made Brunei Ex nomad record if we didnt lose out log sheet ( 2nd day morning finish liao) haha cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Machspeed Neutral Newbie August 11, 2009 Share August 11, 2009 is it true that "average" or "poor" performance cadets officers will be posted to HQ S1,S2 once they graduated from OCS? And those with good performance will be posted to units as platoon commanders? In general, the better ones are posted to units while the next tier are retained as OCS instructors. The rest are sent to BMTs as PC. Those posted to units can also be assigned staff post (DyS1 - S4). I don't really think that there's any difference in where you're being posted, you just have to do your best. One old encik (and a very good friend) once told me when I was a junior 2LT "Rank is what you wear, respect is what you earn". 17/94 Alpha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...