Oil Filter

Kazuo

haha... air filter using K&N, engine oil I trying out different brand. so left only sparkies lor.

Turbocharged car, eh? But you must know, most turbocharged car still using stock OE filter. Nothing much happens to the engine. Best go with a better filter with better synthetic filter material rather than paper. Its cheaper. Like the Purolators that Elfenstar talks about.

Bro... CnC will not allow own oil, 3rd party filter etc... [sweatdrop] So they only have 2 types of filter, original Mitsubishi filter or RALLIART.. Since one can buy a Mitsubishi paper filter outside at the rate of SGD 5~6, it does not justify why should I pay SGD 20 for it... As for RALLIART filter, every where is selling at around SGD 40 ~ 50. In fact, I got my RALLIART filter outside since CnC has no stock that time.

Anyway, Kah Motor charges $12.60 for oil filters when we go servicing.

I heard someone brought in his own oil filter for servicing, and it leaked after a few days. It turned out the oil filter was defective in the first place.

He cannot KPKB coz the part is not from KM. So he gotta fork out his own money and replaced the oil filter + engine oil again.

IMO, I just let KM leech those extra few bucks.

No point saving on a few bucks and suay suay loses more later.

KM are using Thai made OEM filter (light green in colour) and they are making hugh profit on them sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

There were several owners that bring along the original Japan Honda filter (bought outside) and the case wasn't defective oil filter (QC from Japan can't be that bad) but over tightening of the filter (info coming from outside stockists)sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

the SHC Odyssey forum has some discussion on the KM SA's telling customers that the honda OEM filter has rubber seal hardening problems.

yes, even stockists knows about "KM SA's telling customers that the honda OEM filter has rubber seal hardening problems.", funny thing is that when the stockist sell the same patch to PI and outside workshops, not of them have leaking problems due to "rubber seal hardening" unimpressed.gifunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gif

Most prob true.

This is 1 of the ways how they make their $$$. [pirate]

There's nothing much a consumer can do about it & they know it. [thumbsdown]

Even KM's own mech buy Original Made in Japan oil filters from stockists for their own Honda cars, when the stockist ask them why do their buy those OEM oil filter from KM, they just smile laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Damn jialat.

I'm contemplating buying my own Japan made original Honda Oil filter (15400-PLC-004) for my 10k servicing.

After reading these stories, I'm having second thoughts. [shakehead]

Everytime go for oil change, will be charged $15 for oil filter. Is there any place where i can get toyota oil filter at a significant cheaper price?

i got my toyota oil filter from teck guan motor supply co at jalan besar (opp ocbc bank). cost $5 . The shop is the stockist for toyotas and nissans.

Go to FONG TAT - They are stockist for many major brands. Toyota,Nissan,Hyundai,Ford,Mazda to name a few. Normal price is abt 6-8 bucks.

FONG TAT MOTOR CO PTE LTD

355/357 Serangoon Road Singapore 218115

Tel: (65) 2949832, 2954402, 2985333, 2970688, 2935722,

Fax: (65) 2992158, 2962093

Edited by Silverado1