Stationwagon Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 Hi All, I've had the problem of bus lanes sometimes, but recently I almost got into trouble with a pick-up driver over it. It was a weekday and I just had lunch at Chinatown, going back to my office. I was coming out from a side road onto a main road. The first lane was a bus lane and was empty. The other lanes were occupied with cars. The bus lane's dotted line was ridiculously short. So unless I've understood the rules incorrectly, what I had to do was to wait till it was safe enough, then cut out across the bus lane, and into the second lane. There was this pick-up driven by an impatient rather rough-looking guy behind me, also waiting to exit from the side road. Since the bus lane (first lane) was empty, he must have thought that I was a bloody fool for not cutting out. Honestly, I thought so too. Maybe from his angle, he couldn't see that the first lane was a bus lane, I'm not sure. After a while, Mr. Pick-up driver started getting impatient, making rude gestures with his hands, moving his pick-up closer to my car and started revving his engine real loud. I just ignored him. Finally, I managed to cut into the second lane. Mr. Pick-up decided to cut onto the bus lane (so he was now on my left). When he was beside me, he stared at me and continued with his insults. Thats when I lost it and gestured back to him to come down. I overtook Mr. Pick-up and stopped my car (not illegally) further up front and got out and waited for him. But Mr. Pick-up just drove past, pretending not to see me. As he passed, I saw him looking left and right, macham like doing sightseeing like that. I guess he was used to being the aggressor and didn't expect any strong reactions from his "victims". OK, that was wrong of me to blow my top, but I'm only human and there's only so much abuse I can take before reacting. But fortunately that day, a potentially unpleasant situation was diffused quickly. Have I understood this whole bus lane concept wrongly? What would you have done if you were the first car waiting to exit into the main road? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Medusa Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 What time did this happen? Just for your info, you are not suppose to be in the bus lane from 7.30am to 9.30am and 4.30pm to 7.00pm from Mondays to Fridays. And at 7.30am to 9.30am and 11.30am to 2.00pm on Saturdays. Apart from this hours, its ok to use the bus lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluecollar 1st Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 (edited) Hi Station Please ensure that you know about bus lane timings to avoid misunderstanding. I had the same situation 1 month ago without the impatient pick up driver. Due to the morning peak hour heavy traffic on the centre lane I enter into the bus lane only to be greeted by a Cisco with digital camera. When I entered into the bus lane I was behind a bus and blocked the view of that Cisco chap. Naturally he thought I was in the bus lane all along and gave me a ticket without stopping me. When the summon came, I wrote in to explained my situation that for me to filter into the centre lane safely I have to use the bus lane. The traffic police agree with me and wavied off the fine, but warned me that in future I must drive safely yet must not use a bus lane Therefore I have come to a conclusion is to block lane 1 and stay within the dotted bus lane. Until you can safely filter into centre lane, that way there is no chance you break the rule and yet still safe. TP never say anything about blocking the buses on lane 1. Edited October 1, 2006 by Bluecollar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 it was lunch time? then likely its not bus lane liao hours..... no wonder you kena cursed from behind...... just remember bus lane is only during morning and evening peak hours on weekdays..... BUT in orchard road, the bus lane is for entire day! you can see red thick lines on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 Mr Stationwagon, If I were the pick-up driver, I would have also horned at you (ironic thing is I oso drive a pick-up but I'm definitely not that driver... ). Weekday lunchtime where got bus lane restriction? Juz get out of the lane and move on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stationwagon Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Author Share October 1, 2006 (edited) AIYAH!! So thats why lah...my mistake. Chey....say so earlier lah. Now I post this already so malu. Don't know why stupidly I thought bus lanes were in operation on weekdays morning, lunch time and evening. I must have gotten mixed up with Saturdays. So I was right to feel that I was a bloody fool waiting for an empty lane after all. OK OK....I'm human. Edited October 1, 2006 by Stationwagon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stationwagon Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Author Share October 1, 2006 (edited) Mr. Pick-Up Driver, If you're reading this, sollie ah. Next time we meet at Chinatown again, I buy you kopi. Edited October 1, 2006 by Stationwagon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klchua 1st Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 in additon to the bus lane. I think that there is a red and yellow bus lane that is supposed to be in operation from 0730 to 1800hrs whole day except sat and sunday. this lane are usually in the city area. anyone can verify this?? I also not very sure abt it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stationwagon Neutral Newbie October 1, 2006 Author Share October 1, 2006 Hi, Yes, I think the red ones are out of bounds the whole day. I think it can only be found at Orchard Road....still in the trial period, I think. As for my unintellectual self, I can never remember the timings, so its safest for me to steer clear of all bus lanes all the time. And it looks like I'm not the only one, judging from the number of drivers who avoid bus lanes even at night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 So u see. If the pick-up driver got out & it ended in a fight, how wud u feel? Sometimes we make mistakes also dont know. But just try to stay cool lah. Just this now I on way to church with wifey & daughter along Boundry Road. Got this big SBS bus cut out of the bus-bay into my lane. I give him a long horn & brake. Then see he also stop just b4 the left turn (Iwas going straight) so I tot he want to "talk". I move closer & my daughter say he wave to say sorry lah. So I just toot my horn & we move on. So sometimes it's just a misunderstanding & we have to keep our cool. Otherwise small problem becomes a big problem. Not worth the trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 i am puzzled also why other drivers steer clear of bus lanes during non bus lane timing when the other lanes are slow moving and the bus lanes are empty with no buses/slow moving/stationary vehicles in sight far ahead. My guess is most are just plain lazy to change lanes cos u r bound to encounter any of the 3 after cruising happily for sometime in that lane. Then u have to switch back to the middle lane again, which sometimes may be hard if the middle lane become jammed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear October 1, 2006 Share October 1, 2006 Just wondering... if we are in your situation and the bus-lane timings are in operation, is it ok to turn into the bus lane and flashing the RIGHT signal. (to indicate that we have the intention to leave the bus lane) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 Agree with you on this. I thought it's bcoz most drivers don't bother to remember the bus lane timings, so they play safe and stay out of the lane altogether. But even if you use the bus lane and meet with some obstacle and switch lanes, it's still faster than chugging along in the jammed middle and right lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 Hi Station Please ensure that you know about bus lane timings to avoid misunderstanding. I had the same situation 1 month ago without the impatient pick up driver. Due to the morning peak hour heavy traffic on the centre lane I enter into the bus lane only to be greeted by a Cisco with digital camera. When I entered into the bus lane I was behind a bus and blocked the view of that Cisco chap. Naturally he thought I was in the bus lane all along and gave me a ticket without stopping me. When the summon came, I wrote in to explained my situation that for me to filter into the centre lane safely I have to use the bus lane. The traffic police agree with me and wavied off the fine, but warned me that in future I must drive safely yet must not use a bus lane Therefore I have come to a conclusion is to block lane 1 and stay within the dotted bus lane. Until you can safely filter into centre lane, that way there is no chance you break the rule and yet still safe. TP never say anything about blocking the buses on lane 1. As much as I must say that what you conclude may not sound logical ... but in the sight of law ..... bo bian liao ... we'll have to block the bus lane. But what if while we block and wait in the dotted bus lane area ... they issue a fine ... causing obstruction to traffic .... then how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 Mr Stationwagon, If I were the pick-up driver, I would have also horned at you (ironic thing is I oso drive a pick-up but I'm definitely not that driver... ). Weekday lunchtime where got bus lane restriction? Juz get out of the lane and move on. Got ... but from what I know ... it's the "red line" bus lane along Orchard road. I'm not sure is there such rules in China town area. Can anybody confirms? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 AIYAH!! So thats why lah...my mistake. Chey....say so earlier lah. Now I post this already so malu. Don't know why stupidly I thought bus lanes were in operation on weekdays morning, lunch time and evening. I must have gotten mixed up with Saturdays. So I was right to feel that I was a bloody fool waiting for an empty lane after all. OK OK....I'm human. Wait .... do take note that there is indeed whole day bus lane in Orchard road marked by "red colour" lines and dotted lines. So take note of that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 Hi, Yes, I think the red ones are out of bounds the whole day. I think it can only be found at Orchard Road....still in the trial period, I think. As for my unintellectual self, I can never remember the timings, so its safest for me to steer clear of all bus lanes all the time. And it looks like I'm not the only one, judging from the number of drivers who avoid bus lanes even at night. Bus lane timings are simple ... Weekdays: 7am-9.30am (2hrs 30mins) & 4.30pm-7pm (2hrs 30mins) * So it's 7am + 2hr30mins and 7pm - 2hr30mins. Saturday: 7am-9.30am (Same) & 11.30am-2pm (2hrs 30mins also) Easy to remember liao right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sirbrian Neutral Newbie October 2, 2006 Share October 2, 2006 hey bro, I just got my fine for the same reason too.... Can advise me on how to appeal to TP? Can PM me too... Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...