Viceroymenthol 6th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 (edited) The E240 V6 is phased out liao... brand new only got the E230 V6 which is 2.5 litres, with the 7 g-tronic gearbox. 204 bhp and 245 Nm of torque. 7.3 sec for 0-100kmh. E200 Kompressor is 1.8 litre supercharged inline 4. 184 bhp, 250 Nm torque. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...kompressor.html E240 was a 2.6 litre normally aspirated V6 putting out 168 bhp and 240 Nm of torque. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_E-Class I suppose if you are comparing E200K and E240 then you must be comparing the 2nd hand (since they don't produce E240 anymore). I have driven the both of the above and while E200 Kompressor feels quicker at lower speeds and during short bursts of overtaking, it doesn't have the pull when it comes to the straight line acceleration of 0-100 kmh. It is a very lively and responsive engine, though. If you are going for the cruising and smoothness, then E240 takes the cake. I think the E240 pips the E200K by a little bit at 0-100 kmh, though. Or maybe it just feels more capable revving to that speed cos of its smoothness. It also feels muscular driving around town cos of the 2.6 litre V6, coupled with the nice 6 cylinder sound. So where did that extra horsepower of the E200K go? Can anyone enlighten? Fuel consumption I think the E240 drinks about 20-30% more than E200k? This is from long term experiences of CLK 240 (2.6 litre NA V6, same engine as E240) and C 200 K (1.8 I4 supercharged, same engine as E200K) as that is the only long term yardstick I have to judge on. The CLK is heavier than C class.. so... estimate lah. Haven't tried the E230 7 gtronic yet. But would love to. The V6 has a lot more horsepower now, but torque remains similar to the E240. I heard it is very quick, cos of the gear ratios are more closely spaced due to the one extra gear. Anyway this is Singapore and we are quibbling over inline 4 and V6 E class. In other countries most people who drive E class buy the V8 one. The relatively small capacity V6, not many people consider. I think the E200K is virtually unheard of outside of Singapore. Edited April 9, 2008 by Viceroymenthol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 (edited) Audi A6 2.0T FSI http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...di_a6_2_0t.html Technical Specification Engine: 4 cylinders in-line, DOHC, Turbocharged 1,984 cc Power: 170bhp @ 4,300rpm Torque: 280Nm @ 4,200rpm Transmission: 7-speed multitronic 0-100km/h: 8.7 seconds Compare this to BMW 523i (9.3 seconds) and the Mercedes-Benz E200 (9.4 seconds). Merc E200K BMW 523i Lexus GS300 Volvo S80 Audi A6 The 523i and GS 300 are the 6 cylinders and have bigger engine capacities. Volvo S80 2.5T is the only 5 cylinder and big cc too. So based on those five cars, it depends on what you are looking for, as the comparison is not really fair to begin with. My humble opinion: 1) Number of cylinders (and hence the "smoothness" of drive) very important to you? - BMW 523i and Lexus GS300 2) Resale value? - BMW 523i, Merc E200K a close second 3) Speed? - Volvo S80, Audi A6, Lexus GS 300 4) Fuel consumption? - Audi A6, Mercedes E200k (provided you don't have a heavy right foot) 5) Prestige? (this is a very sensitive topic, as responses by several forummers have shown) - Audi, BMW, Merc top the list for similar income-earning profile, but it depends on the nature of the crowd you hang with, for example most Ang Moh Pai hate Merc but love Audi/BMW Edited April 9, 2008 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rangie 2nd Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 Yes, you are right, the Kompressor engine does not have the pulling power at the high rev. I used to drive the W124 200E, very very sluggish in town, but once its rev high at 4000 rpm at 3rd gear changing to 4th (auto gear), I could feel the strong power, even its a heavy car with 2.0 litre engine. When I changed to C180 (previous generation), I was happy with the Kompressor engine a low rev, much faster than my W124, but it does not have the pulling power at the high rev which I missed. I driven E240 once and E200K a few times. E240 is certainly very smooth and nicer to drive. But E240 only available in the beginning of this model, may have a lot of bugs in that early version. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otsego Clutched April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 if u are getting Mercedes benz, i suggest u take the new c200 then the c180, both engine are the same CC(road tax) but C200 is more powerful due to ECU+SC. C200 comes with some luxurious item such as memory seats and "i forget"(try to ask C&C) for the C180(which dun have), the option to choose the memory seats cost around 9K!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 i think bigger capacity engines' torque curve flatter, so more torque in the low revs. E200K will have to rev to get the supercharger pulling, so loses a bit of time from pick up, unless you drive like you stole it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Parktronic ($3,100) is the other item. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leech Clutched April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 I am also looking at these option.Currently driving a C180, the previous generation one. Going to have 2 kids and a maid, so I need something a big bigger at the back. My options are: Merc E200K BMW 523i Lexus GS300 Volvo S80 Audi A6 I eliminated BMW and Lexus as the back are too small. Audi is the longest, got headache doing parallel parking. Down to Merc E200K and Volvo S80 Just test driven both cars back to back last week. My views are: Volvo : more luxurious interior, felt more solid inside, but engine quite rough and noisy, don't like the design in the front. Merc: quite noisy too, but better than Volvo. Actually the Merc E200K is rougher than my C180 because although both are using the same 1.8 litre engine, the E class has the supercharger tuned to produce higher power to move the heavier car and thus nosier. Interior less luxurious than Volvo Price wise, Merc claimed that it has one last unit of E200K Elegance at 168k, after this will be all Avangrade which is 170k+. Volvo S80 is around 140k plus but I suspect can bargain a little bit lower. In the end, I think my ideal car would be the new C180, more solid than my current C180, but I don't think its big enough. Looks like I will settle for the Volvo S80, but not so soon, in case the price would drop. Volvo do have promotion on and off and hope to catch one of their promotion. Fren, you have no spouse ah? How to sit so many even in a S80 or E200? Get a MPV liao lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rangie 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Wife will sit in front. One kid (3 year old) will have a booster seat at the centre. Another baby will have the baby seat at one of the side Maid sit at the other side. Such arrangement would still be possible in my current C180. But when the baby grows older and need a larger child seat, I would have problem squeezing the 2 seats with the maid at the back. MPV is suitable for space, but no fun driving :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 hi eyke, glad u joined sgmerc. I thought a supercharger normally kicks in at the low revs while a turbocharger kicks in at high revs? From experience, the Kompressor engine's supercharger will engage instantaneously even at 1500rpm or even lower - one would only need to step casually on the accelerator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 yes supercharger kicks in at low rev but the real power comes at higher rev when the engine output can be harnessed to compress the air Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pynch 1st Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 This is the current list price Audi A6 1.8 - $226,750 BMW 520i Business - $233,800 Volvo S80 T5 - $185,000 Mercedes E200 - $246,888 Jaguar XF - no price The savings you get from the Volvo seems to be quite a tidy sum although it will be due for replacement next year just like the E200. Not sure when the Audi or the BMW will be replaced though. The new Jaguar XF is also due to arrive next year. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
dounuts97 Neutral Newbie September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Just remember all cars "die" at 10 years, unless you increase their " lifespan" Volvo has best in industry safety while MB provides elegance(I think) Go with whatever your budget is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
dounuts97 Neutral Newbie September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 For cars with the best in-car tech go for Audi Safety wise go for Volvo reliability go for merc? for the drive go for bmw So that sounds about right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Which tech in the Audi makes it the best? For cars with the best in-car tech go for Audi Safety wise go for Volvo reliability go for merc? for the drive go for bmw So that sounds about right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
dounuts97 Neutral Newbie September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Which tech in the Audi makes it the best? The optional map built into the speedo, I could be wrong though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
twizter 1st Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 This is the current list price Audi A6 1.8 - $226,750 BMW 520i Business - $233,800 Volvo S80 T5 - $185,000 Mercedes E200 - $246,888 Jaguar XF - no price The savings you get from the Volvo seems to be quite a tidy sum although it will be due for replacement next year just like the E200. Not sure when the Audi or the BMW will be replaced though. The new Jaguar XF is also due to arrive next year. Infiniti Q50 or Q70? For something different. Listed price are around $180k and $200k, before nego. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 (edited) Which tech in the Audi makes it the best? The auto turn-on software to pass emission tests. Edited September 27, 2015 by Volvobrick 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Comparing the regular Audi controls to Bmw I find the BMW controls much easier to use, as for driver usability and control (ergonomics related) I would also add that the Bmw is more intuitive. For the optional map I don't see how its useful to be honest, it would mean the driver needs to take his eyes off the road which is not practical. I have an option of using my car's HUD for direction or my phone which is also placed at eye level. I think if anyone went for Audi it would be more for the quattro platform, technology wise almost all the car makers are pretty much on par. my personally opinion is that for ergonomics though would be Bmw The optional map built into the speedo, I could be wrong though Sorry I stand corrected! The auto turn-on software to pass emission tests. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...