Watwheels Supersonic November 29, 2006 Share November 29, 2006 Wobbly chassis. Not just found in this Toyota make. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tckrto 2nd Gear November 29, 2006 Share November 29, 2006 other pple views affect your choice wan meh? i'm sure out of the 4 ride, there is oredi 1 which your heart tells you to get it right? Its your own money afterall. So go for something u like and not choose a car pple recommend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged November 29, 2006 Author Share November 29, 2006 Yes, if I can see why people go for a certain make/model of car and they list the reason they chose it (very helpful!) it highlights a strength of the car. I might not realize certain things, and oftentimes, having owning the car for a while, owners can tell you things you can't see just by reading the spec sheet or listening to the SE or a 5 minute test drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hatchet Neutral Newbie November 30, 2006 Share November 30, 2006 Hi, Do you need good boot space? I drive a jazz with friends with colt and suzuki swift, I can safely say, in terms of boot space, as well as the multitude of seating arrangements that can be done. You will be amazed at the things that can be loaded into a jazz, I've tried a 2m shelf, a 4 feet fishtank, as well as act as a moving van :) regards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie November 30, 2006 Share November 30, 2006 nothing beats jazz for FC with average driving. except some vans. i just did 19km/l on a 30km stretch of highway yesterday night. build quality I have no complains. i have no problems at all so far. but it's only been a few months. i can't say the same for thaiyotas which was my previous ride. the power issue is not a problem to me. I think it's the CVT that you need getting used to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2006 Share November 30, 2006 if u compare against yaris den yaris's boot is in a mess Really ? Havent' seen a Yaris thou. Would have bought the Swift Sport as a 2nd car if the boot is slightly bigger. Considering a Jazz now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 2, 2006 Author Share December 2, 2006 Have narrowed it down to the Jazz and the Colt. The Yaris had too many negatives going for it: the centre instrument dials, tippy suspension, Thai origin, plasticky interior, and a small boot when the rear seats are upright. In the end, its not enough to offset the cheerful external looks, and its Toyota badge. The Swift was a bit tougher, because it drives well, and the price helps to dampen the fact it has a small boot too. Build quality was a bit poor for a Japanese car, you can see the break seams in the front passenger airbag in the molded one-piece finish of the dashboard. It would not have been hard to eliminate that during production. The Swift plays on the same price level as the other cars, but its got a woeful $10,000+ OMV against the $13,000-14000 of the other three, which means its got the highest annual depreciation also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lonewolf Neutral Newbie December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 I'm surprised that you missed the Mazda2-SP. In term of BHP, it has one of the highest in its class. 111 bhp. In term of boot space, I think its definitely beats the rest. Yes even the Jazz. Jazz wins handdowns with its ultraseat arrangement, but if you need the back seat, then M2 boot wins hand down. In term of handling, some bros who has tried has said that it was even better than the Suzuki Sports. It has activematic gearbox. FC is ard 12-13km/L Cons? Well the pickup is not great. Power to weight ratio is lower than Yaris. There isn't a lot of aftermarket accessories that you can get. I did consider the Jazz and the Colt last yr and here's my take. The Colt has a lot of nice features but it has a very dull and unexciting exterior. The Jazz looks great and performs great but is expensive for a 1.4L car. So in the end, I took the Mazda 2. So you may consider my comments as biased. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged December 2, 2006 Author Share December 2, 2006 Didn't miss, it was left out, along with the Micra, because I wanted a manual gearbox. The looks of the Mazda 2 does appeal to me though. Found out the 1.5 Mivec Colt manual sprints to 100kph in 9.7 secs on paper. I'm surprised it feels so much more peppy than the rest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 You may want to test out the Fiat Grande Punto & the price is good for a conti car. Been searching for a hatchback till I found a conti hatchback.... Its a very new model from FIAT. Pros: - Its a conti car . - Very chio outlook Cons: - 1.4L = 66 BHP ONLY!?!? Even a Picanto/Kelisa would be much liveler to drive... - Perception that the Italians are notorious for making unreliable cars in the past. Hope they have improved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 yaris tom yam made??my fren bought 1 from borneo and he insisted to me its nippon made!! Nippon made is the Vitz from PIs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 if u compare against yaris den yaris's boot is in a mess Yea, checked out the Yaris's boots also...its the smallest among all the compact hatch on sales now (dun compare with K cars). But well, if one if looking at a compact hatch in the first place, guess boot space ain't a big concern anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 Personally I'd prefer the Colt over the Jazz. Reasons are as follows: - Jazz is a 5 yr old model alrdy (or 6?) - More contemporary interior & exterior sytling - The 1.5L MIVEC engine - Can zhng until very chio, seen lots of them on the roads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 Daihatsu will be selling the Coo (aka Toyota bB, 2nd gen) next month. I don't mind getting one if looking for a small car since STS will be the distributor. Parts and service will be convenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alex31 Neutral Newbie December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 Bro, Check properly, it's a 77 bhp.....The jazz is overprice.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spade Neutral Newbie December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 Colt R Turbo! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 Cons?: - 1.4L = 66 BHP ONLY!?!? Even a Picanto/Kelisa would be much liveler to drive... no bro , that for a 1.2L one... the 1.4L is about 77BHP , somewhat the same as jazz... fc also somewhat there too if not better.. - Perception that the Italians are notorious for making unreliable cars in the past. Hope they have improved.[/reply] i think they did improve pretty much already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie December 2, 2006 Share December 2, 2006 like the colt r but isnt the colt almost the same age as jazz? 1-2 years younger? both jazz and colt models equally common and saw many nice zhng ones on the roads too.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...