Familymanz 3rd Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 Did any of u guy receive this call? Say its by invitation only & its all abt Marriot groups thingys. Sit thru 90mins (sounds like time share hor) & chose either a $100 taka voucher or $125 marriot dining voucher. Comments? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 It is obviously timeshare, go at your own risk lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 can go..... and leave yr wallet and credit cards at home, and claimed that you just lost yr wallet recently. so got no credit cards u will have to waste 2 hours of yr time, to get the voucher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkl07 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 I attend that... juz waste 90mins, then say consider next time... get the $120 taka voucher and go shopping.... and you can claim your parking at taka.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zonkkie Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 Ii got a call too but didnt go la cos too good to be true for me. I even wrote to Marriots to tell them got this thing, whether true or its a scam and they told me its true. My friend who went said it was pretty good and he almost wanted to sign up but decided to think about it. No high pressure sales and he got the taka vouchers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 liddat quite worth it hor. can consider.... i also called Marriot.... obviously they only target certain grp of ppl.... most significantly.... above 30yo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 confirm not timeshare liao.... its my ex-colleague who attended, referred me. he also take the $120 for shopping & never sign up anything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkl07 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 Yup, no pressure, I'm referred by my friend. If you are free, just go and waste 90mins and get the vouchers... no harm in my opinion.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkl07 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 They gave out voucher according to your annual income... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 care to elaborate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkl07 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 my friend mention must at least put 5k above for annual income inorder to get the $120 voucher... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear January 4, 2007 Author Share January 4, 2007 5K monthly la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkl07 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 opps typo.... whahahahaaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 I went. Can bring your credit cards and whatever along. They do not operate like the fly by night timeshare touts of Orchard Rd. The Marriott employees are paid a salary and not commission. So they don't really pressure you to buy. They do give a good cost analysis of how much it takes to vacation if you like the idea of staying in 2-bedroom villas. The program is not the traditional timeshare which is in 7days block but points based. Very flexible. If you are not interested, just say you heard enough and thank them and go. If you got more questions, ask. BTW, the ownership is not like the fly by night timeshare touts with a lifespan of 2yrs. It is 53yrs! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 Their target is married couples, above 30, at least 10k SGD pm combined income. The Phuket Marriott I went is much more stringent but I made it anyway, it is 10k USD pm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 It is a timeshare but not based on the traditional 7days block. It is points based. Marriott is actually the hotel group that started this timeshare thingy. Hilton and Holiday Inn followed suit. That was many yrs ago. This timeshare thing is new to asians and actually not very flexible because it is in 7days block. We like short breaks and hence the reason why Marriott introduced this points based thingy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 Hehehe......I signed up. Wife very convinced because she likes vacations. For 10k USD, you get 14k points. Depending on which resort and the peak period, can stay between 4-6days. For example, Phuket can stay 4days in peak (Dec-Feb) but can stay 6days in lull (Mar-May). If you wanna know what kind of standard the villa is, see my VT Phuket page on accomodation. Go stay in this kind of vacation homes also must have strategy since the accomodation already paid for. I listed it on my VT page for Phuket. Thing is that you must avoid eating at their restaurants. Even the timeshare marketer told me. Eat in their restaurants confirm burn big hole in vacation pocket. The restaurants are for killing hotel guests. Instead, rent a car and drive to the local hypermart/supermart to stock up on things. Every villa got fridge, washer, dryer, electric stove, coffee maker, kettle, cooking utensils, microwave and even oven! The Phuket one got 3 TVs. Wah! Go there, I watch Discovery, wife watch in the other room Travel and Living, kids watch cartoon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 4, 2007 Share January 4, 2007 (edited) OK I educate you about this timeshare thingy lah. Hopefully you will be prepared to field questions. Traditional timeshare is 7days block. You buy the vacation home depending on when you want to go for the vacation. I use Phuket as example. Gold season is around Mar-Sep. Around xxk USD. Platinum season is Oct-mid Dec. yyk USD. Then the Platinum+ season which is basically mid Dec - Feb at zzk USD. xx That amount buys you 7days of vacation time for that home resort of yours. It means you can stay 7days for that particular season you buy. The lease on the Phuket Marriot is 83yrs, so that means that amount you pay entitles you to vacation for 7days/yr there for up to 83yrs! So you grow old already going to die (touch wood), but this vacation timeshare is really a property you own. What to do? You can will it to your children. Yes. you can will it to your children. It's damn strange but yes, you can pass it down. Depending on the lease left, you can sell the timeshare. This is not w/o costs though. The resort needs to be maintained. Yearly there is a maintenance fee of USDaaa.00 to pay. You can call this membership maintenance fee. What happens if you don't use the vacation time? You got to transfer the 7days into this "holding company" called Interval International (II) which holds this vacation time for you for 2yrs. You can use these "saved days" to exchange for stay at other resorts in the II catalog. BTW, II HQ in Asia is in SG. Got direct phone number. After 2yrs, you still don't have time to vacation to use up this 7days, they will be forfeited but Marriott got way out. You can convert the vacation time of 7days to "Marriott Rewards" which never expire. Can use to stay in any of the hotels in the Marriott group, Hertz car rental, air ticket..... This above is the traditional timeshare. The one held in Ngee Ann Marriott HQ is different. It is in points. Instead of days, you buy into the program with points. A bit more flexible instead of the dead 7days vacation time. Main reason is that Asians like the take short breaks. Another difference is that because it is points, you don't have 1 home resort. You have 5 home resorts. If you interested in the vouchers and also about this, just go and attend. Edited January 4, 2007 by Genie47 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...