Brake Fluid for car servicing

Kelpie

Hi there,

1. Going for 50K servicing tomorrow, how much brake fluid do I need for a 1.6L car?

2. Last minute, no choice, may just go petrol station to buy the fluid. I guess it should still be cheaper than distributor one right?

3. Should I use DOT 4 only.

Any advice bros, Thank you very much.

Regards,

1) 1 bottle of 1L should be enough? I changed my steel braided brake line and bled with Mintex DOT5.1, required only 1L.

2) Depending on what brand you get I guess.

3) DOT4 and DOT5.1 should both be fine. Anyway, brake fluid is recommended to changed every 20k.

Correct me if I am wrong [:p]

1. Thank you.

2. Tomorrow morning 8am is the servicing appointment. So I can only go petrol shop to get the brake fluid.

3. What is the best DOT 4 that I can get from these petrol stations? I'm looking at Valvoline, which is 261C/172C. Any better one than this at petrol stations?

Regards,

[laugh] Paiseh, by the time I saw your reply, I guess you are already in the workshop.

I am really not sure what brake fluid they offer in petrol station. Actually, if you are changing in the workshop and not the typical Borneo, Kah Motor kind of service center, the brake fluid should not be more expensive than what petrol station can offer. [thumbsup]

Hi Genie,

Is it OK to mix brake fluids?

Last time they flush my system & I saw them use a yellow bottle of Lockheed brake fluid(Fluid was clear like water). Not sure DOT 4 or what?

If I top up next time, can I just use DOT 5.1 or 4 or 3 even without any damage of safety issues?

Thanks cos I need some expert advice here. [nod]

4 and 3 are compatible. Ditto with 5.1 with the rest of them but the problem is that you will not get the maximum performance. In the case of BFs, its their wet and dry boiling points.

DOT 4 for is good enough. If you can get Ate's Super DOT 4, better. It is the best DOT 4 around.

No they don't. DOT 4 is backwards compatible with DOT 3. Both are miscible. If materials are compatible with DOT 3, they will be compatible with DOT 4.

Go to AV spare part shops to buy Ate Super DOT 4 lah. It is really overspec'd to the point it is closer to DOT 5.1 than DOT 4.

1. In the end, I bought the SPC DOT 4 brake fluid on my way to the workshop. I'm under the impression that distributor parts and liquid are always more expensive than outside even for the smae brand and spec. I would rather save a few bucks here and there. In the end, sian, I over bought! bought 3 x 0.5L at $10 each. They only used one bottle. Now left with 2 spares.

2. Thanks, I will get it later. How much is the ATE?

Regards,