Icekitten Clutched April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Please enlighten me, but I dun understand how tyres can get flat spots if the car is parked? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 The rain won't cause the wipers to slam down on the windscreen. However, a tree branch that dropped on the wiper could cause it the slam down. Happened on my previous car before. The spring of the passenger-side wiper was pretty weak, the wiper will slam down even when I drive over a hump. But despite all these slamming, the windscreen didn't crack. mmm .. just curious.. if lift up our wipers.. wont like heavy rain that keep pouring will slam our wipers on our windscreeen and smashed the windscreen ? Always think of that . THat is why i din lift up my wipers.. True ? Will happen ? Hi bro, Always see people lifting their front windscreen wipers when parking their cars under hot sun or rain, heard that this will prevent the wipers rubber from sticking to the windscreen. Does this method really work or is there for other reasons? I need to park in a un-sheltered car park at my work place, so I lift up my windscreen wipers... I think by default the wiper blade may not rest perpendicular to the windscreen, the rubber or silicon blade is slanting to one side due to the wiping motion. Therefore if under the heat and over time, the rubber or silicon may "deform" and thereby causing juddering... By lifting up the wiper it gives the rubber or silicon a chance to resume its 'straight' form, thus maintaining its performance. I think this works cos my current set of wipers is with me for more than 2 years and still working ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 My car wipers were up at my mum's carpark. The "tai tai" simply put the love letter on the black plastic below the windscreen. Luckily I didn't drive fast enough, nor the wind was strong enough to blow it away. Sent a letter to HDB after that. The wipers do not have enough surface area for the pouring rain to cause it to slam down lah. Especially if it's pointing up in the sky, how to catch enough rain water to have the "push down" effect? Anyway, has anyone tried removing away the whole wipers and watch where the Singapore "Tai Tai" put the parking summon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 erm.. what I heard is that if u park too long under the heat & U try to use the wipers if it suddenly rain, they might judder, so its better to lift them up... Its only wat I heard other pple saying hor... Don't know how true it is... But as better to believe it, I always lift up my wipers... Wait you find got people start to ask you for $$ cos they just washed your car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24 Neutral Newbie April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 I meant if a car is SELDOM driven....maybe once very three months....under the heat and weight of the car...the steel cord in the tyre may get 'deformed', especially if the tyre is underinflated. Ok lets get back to the wiper issues. 1) Can glass be so easily 'scratch' by the grit on the wipers? 2) How much longer can the lifespan of a wiper be entended by the lifting action. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tortoise777 Neutral Newbie April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 To avoid......Getting Summon...... Should we remove the wipers when parking to avoid getting summon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esvtec Neutral Newbie April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Tyre flat sometimes not immediate, thus it start to flat when u left the car overnight.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Esvtec Neutral Newbie April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Have you ever seen hand print on the wind screen? I had ever tried, end up summon and hand print on my screen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 I doubt the melting point of tire rubbers n wheels are that low for it to turn soft under the sun. Or else there will be frequent tire changes in races!!! That is definately a myth. As for grit on glass, depends on the type of grit. If u r near sand or grit blasting places, god bless ur windscreen when u turn it on. There will be light scratches. I think the lifespan of the wiper rubber would be 1 yr or so. Depends on useage. U may wana consider changing them every 20k servicing. Had them changed FOC during TCM 2yr free servicing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngaiky83 Clutched April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Wait you find got people start to ask you for $$ cos they just washed your car Won't happen la.. Cos I park at MSCP, so usually won't lift up wipers... the only time I park under the sun is when I'm outside & can't find a sheltered carpark... so no neh can't collect $$ from me la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Then....U forgot to put Back....Rain....U...Swipe....Pay More..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tortoise777 Neutral Newbie April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 tuo hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 bangala just finished washing the car ya, this should be the answer of the thread .. that is why many cars' wipers are lifted up by them after car washed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Lifted 1 Wiper Only...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 Tyre flat sometimes not immediate, thus it start to flat when u left the car overnight.. She means flat spots, not flat tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 I doubt the melting point of tire rubbers n wheels are that low for it to turn soft under the sun. Or else there will be frequent tire changes in races!!! That is definately a myth. Precisely. Tyres are meant to be used under friction, which also means heat. If the sun can melt tyres, what will a long drive do to them? I believe flat spots are probably caused more by a long skid? Where your wheels are locked, thus causing the tyres to wear on that specific area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spherex 1st Gear April 10, 2007 Share April 10, 2007 one way to avoid summons is park head in into a lot with a wall beside. Then park as close as possible to this wall and as in as possible. (i.e. after parking, your right side is beside wall and there's wall in front as well) Then exit from passenger side & just display an expired coupon. Done this way, no way fatimah can examine ur so-called coupon. Unless she climb onto ur bonnet to check. better still, ask your friend to park beside you very close to your car after you have exit from the car. WALL ________________________________ ||-----||------| || YOUR||FRIEND| || CAR || CAR | WALL|| || | ||-----||------| | [0] <-- Fat fatimah cannot squeeze between the wall/cars :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...