Front & Rear wheel hit kerb at high speed !

Laser

Dear All,

Was trying to overtake a car, but come too close to the left of the side kerb.

The impact was quite hard,cause both left front & rear wheel quite deep scratch,

and the steering have gone out of alignment.

Will be senting to workshop for inspection tomorrow.

Any idea what could be further damage besides the wheel alignment.

Thanks.

Laser

think might affect the suspensions too..seems quite serious to cause steering wheel out of alignment. [shakehead]

sidetracking this reminds me of my time as L-plater.

was in a daze (hangover?). somehow I couldn't keep the car straight.

'buar' the side against kerb for quite some distance at about 50km/h. [lipsrsealed]

heng not my car. [laugh]

for the fronts, if need wheel alignment, it is okay, u just pay to align

for the rear, if yours is on torsion beam, the beam may be out of alignment and that cannot be fixed by wheel alignment, you'd need a new torsion beam system which would be costly.

i know, cost 5 years ago, i had to replace that after ramming the rear as i was making a u-turn and didn't see a little island on the road...

shootz, was doing a rite turn at orchard and rite rear tyre kena the low kerb. din scratch the rim. rubber scarred. now i let the car roll in mscp like got bumpiness after every few metres. could be my head, the uneven mscp floor or me being paranoid. hmmm....it was low speed rite turn. wat kinda check should i tell the mech? going for my 1k servicing...haiz...heartache

Edited by Peqasus

the right turn after teh istana in front of PS .. turning right to park mall that side?

i kena there once on my rear wheel when a jag beside me came a bit too close for comfort ... [dead][dizzy]

u r lucky ur lumber is not up yet.

if u r using light rims, they may b gone.

steering outta alignment but ask them check steering assy to make sure it did not dislodge fr firewall

Check also if your suspension system got kena from the impact [nod][nod][nod]

Last 2 weeks back, i kena i big road debic on my driver side's rim [:(] The impact was freaking hard & dented my rim. I was travelling at 70km/hr then [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Alignment went out, rims dented with tyre punctured [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

Send in to workshop and right side suspension's mounting, bellow plus linkage kapo on top of the charges for a new set of rims plus tyres with alignment [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

There goes my 13th month bonus [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

any good recommendations to check for wheel balancing and rotation and alignment??

Mine was a low speed turn so not sure how bad it is.any advice on which one i should be chekcing for? agar agar price how much leh??

Komoco Alexander servicng centre can check or not. bestest if free le. Booked my 1K servicing this fri.

Edited by Peqasus

the right turn after teh istana in front of PS .. turning right to park mall that side?

i kena there once on my rear wheel when a jag beside me came a bit too close for comfort ... [dead][dizzy]

mine was a joke man. Made a right turn into the road exiting from Cineleisure carpark on a sat nite. haiz so many cars so a bit tight lor. jus thinking imagine whole 1.2ton pressing on right rear wheel. heart pain. later wheel check $$$ [angel] more pain. [bigcry]

Guess only consolation it was a low kerb.

Edited by Peqasus

every1 say liver view at AMK autopoint bur hor i saw stamford becos there so packed, where got time to watch for sun to set wor.

stamford is fixed $$ plus 10% discount for member...

Ya Loh .. [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

Driver side's rim totally out of shape .....

Instead of protuding inwards, it protude outwards [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

Tyres was due to change within 2-3 months hence 1 shot pain pain all go ... [dead][dead][dead]

My only console is my ride didn't overturn due to that impact [angel][angel][angel]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

Dear All,

Was trying to overtake a car, but come too close to the left of the side kerb.

The impact was quite hard,cause both left front & rear wheel quite deep scratch,

and the steering have gone out of alignment.

Will be senting to workshop for inspection tomorrow.

Any idea what could be further damage besides the wheel alignment.

Thanks.

Laser

Suspension, bearing, hopefully not the shaft

I hit the kerb outside the juction of courts tampines while doing a u-turn too.

I hear dam loud impact but lucky the alignment is still ok. So I assume nothing is affected, just the front left wheel is affected slightly.